SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Simplicity> 5386 (Matrix Costume)

8 more reviews
Viewed 1181 times 
Reviewed by:twistedangel
photo

 
 
About twistedangelstarstarstarstar
CA USA
Member since: 7/18/05
Reviews written: 71
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 102 people
patterns reviewed: 63
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:11/21/05 7:00 AM
Last Updated:10/31/05 11:36 AM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 4 people   
See other patterns in this category: Costumes    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Nature's Fabrics


Natural & Organic Fabrics
Deals!

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
12 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
maximus superius said...
I have a medium chest, and a small waist, but i am 6ft. tall. I don't usually use patterns that are pre-made. what do you suppose i should do in measuring?
3/4/09 5:13 PM
Quesie said...
What a great picture. Your brother is going to treasure this forever. I have this pattern too, and now I'm going to use all your time-saving tricks!
11/5/05 4:48 PM
marykuris said...
I made this for my older stepson two years ago from an inexpensive faux suede I found at Joann's. He looked fabulous, and met his current girlfriend that night -- I think the Neo look was a hit.
11/3/05 6:44 PM
twistedangel said...
Lee Ann, I'm actually in LA quite often. DBFs parents live in Century City/Westwood. I've been meaning to get to the fashion district, but don't seem to have any money left over after F&S!!
11/2/05 2:32 PM
Lee Ann Hawkins said...
I made this last year for my DGS, age 6 I found a really cool kind of stretchy fabric that looks like leather at the $1.00 a yard man at the LA fabric district. I don't know what part of CA you live in but with the amount of costumes you have made you owe yourself a trip to the fabric district if you already haven't been! About two months ago I found several more bolts of the stuff, in black, electric blue, yellow, and red. It was easy to sew and looked very much like leather when done. Read your profile, don't worry, I believe you!! Princess dresses draped on My Little Ponies--I understand!!
10/31/05 11:35 PM
Jennifer shaw said...
What a superb costume! Such a lucky brother to have a sis like you.
10/31/05 7:15 PM
Modiste Madness said...
I didn't think of the old Stitch Witchery trick for the hem on my costume. Must be my old Home Ec teachers haunting me. :) You are a costume making wizard (just couldn't resist again). You have very fortunate brothers and make sure you tell them that. Your costumes are all wonderful. All the appropriate dramatic details that make a difference were included.
10/31/05 4:11 PM
casken said...
Love it!
10/31/05 12:20 PM
Mary Stiefer said...
What a great looking costume.
10/31/05 12:11 PM
Annika said...
Another excellent costume! He looks great. I have this pattern in the adult size but alas, noone to make it for...yet...
10/31/05 12:10 PM
Stacy Sews said...
Great Job! I'm sure that the broadcloth was much easier to sew than synthetic leather too! Never thought about the Pinhead costume, but you're right.... Now my husband's going to want one too.
10/31/05 12:10 PM
Lori Sews said...
So cool!! Hope he has fun tonight.
10/31/05 11:38 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Fit the Tee to a T
Fit the Tee to a T

Class Details

Online Class
Put it on the Bias
Put it on the Bias

Class Details

McCall's 5974

photo
by: sarah121ha...

Review
Sew Liberated Simple Skinny Jeans Pattern

Sew Liberated Simple Skinny Jeans Pattern

More Info
Full Bust DVD

Full Bust DVD

More Info