SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fabulous Fit
Fabulous Fit

Pattern Reviews> New Look> 6203 (Misses Evening Separates)

7 more reviews
Viewed 1229 times 
Reviewed by:SewScientist
photo

 
 
About SewScientiststar
ON CANADA
Member since: 10/17/05
Reviews: 10 (patterns: 8)
Skill level:Advanced Beginner
Favored by: 1 people
more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:10/31/05 9:01 PM
See other patterns in this category: Tops    Formalwear    
Available for sale on PR: $4.49 Pattern Details
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $4.49 Pattern Details

Merchants on PR

Home Sewing Depot


Home Dec Sewing Supplies
Deals!

Patterns from the Past


vintage sewing patterns
Deals!

Nature's Fabrics


Natural & Organic Fabrics
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
5 Comments      Login to Add a Comment    
SewScientist said... (11/1/05 1:31 PM) Reply
layla, I haven't made one of the shirts yet, I was going to right after I finished a burda skirt I'm working on. However, I just found out that my genetics mid-term is this Friday instead of next as I had originally thought!!!! So sewing has to wait so I can study..... sigh Also, I was thinking that the shirts will cover the bagginess below the back waist if I decide to make another skirt. Or I might look around the website and in some of my sewing books to see if there is an alteration I could do. The skirt would probably be a good piece to start learing how do alterations/fitting on.
layla said... (11/1/05 10:51 AM) Reply
Thanks for the review.. Any pictures of the Top?
Kerry O said... (11/1/05 8:05 AM) Reply
I wish I had your problem of no bum. ;) I bet it looks great on you anyway - I think we're always our worst critics! This is a super nice-looking pattern.
SewScientist said... (10/31/05 9:32 PM) Reply
I sewed the hem using the directions given by the pattern. The hem wasn't the straightest as I had never done a narrow hem before and admitidly didn't put much care into this garment because the skirt was to be used for part of my gypsy costume for Halloween. Maybe that's why I didn't get the waist quite right? Cutting on the bias presented some problems aligning the front and back pieces to sew the side seams, but after some careful manipulation I was able to get the edges even to sew. Give the bias cut a try... maybe use some cheapy slippery fabric like I did to practice on. I'm going to make view F next as I already bought the frog closures and have a great slippery fabric (I think a satin-like fabric) that I would use. I wouldn't know if the mandarin neckline is not flattering to a larger chest as I have a smaller one. Best of luck!
Lori Sews said... (10/31/05 9:07 PM) Reply
Karosel. I have this pattern. I am saving it, because I am afraid to cut slippery fabric on the bias. Did you cut your skirt on the bias? I would love to make the top out of Chinese brocade, and the skirt from charmeuse. I think it would be a gorgeous evening outfit. I am a little leery of making the top though, because I have a full chest. I think this type of top with a mandarin collar suits a flatter chest. It was an impulse buy. I would love to hear if you cut your skirt on the bias, and what kind of hem you used. Thanks.
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Perfectly Fitted Shirt
Perfectly Fitted Shirt

Class Details

Online Class
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket

Class Details

Sewing Workshop Chopin Blouse Pattern

Sewing Workshop Chopin Blouse Pattern

Pattern Details
Jamie Christina Miz Mozelle Dress Paper Pattern

Jamie Christina Miz Mozelle Dress Paper Pattern

Pattern Details
Kitschy Coo Lady Skater Dress

photo
by: LM2HYD

Review