Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
New Look: 6203 (Misses Evening Separates) thumbsup - Type:Coordinates    printable version
Viewed 1195 times 7 more reviews
Reviewed by:SewScientist
photo
About SewScientiststar
ON CANADA
Member since: 10/17/05
Reviews written: 10
Sewing skills:Advanced Beginner
Favored by: 1 people
patterns reviewed: 8
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:10/31/05 9:01 PM
See other patterns in this category: Tops    Formalwear    
Available for sale on PR: $4.49 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Buy this pattern for $4.49     Add to Bag Add to Bag
 
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
5 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Lori Sews said...
Karosel. I have this pattern. I am saving it, because I am afraid to cut slippery fabric on the bias. Did you cut your skirt on the bias? I would love to make the top out of Chinese brocade, and the skirt from charmeuse. I think it would be a gorgeous evening outfit. I am a little leery of making the top though, because I have a full chest. I think this type of top with a mandarin collar suits a flatter chest. It was an impulse buy. I would love to hear if you cut your skirt on the bias, and what kind of hem you used. Thanks.
10/31/05 9:07 PM
SewScientist said...
I sewed the hem using the directions given by the pattern. The hem wasn't the straightest as I had never done a narrow hem before and admitidly didn't put much care into this garment because the skirt was to be used for part of my gypsy costume for Halloween. Maybe that's why I didn't get the waist quite right? Cutting on the bias presented some problems aligning the front and back pieces to sew the side seams, but after some careful manipulation I was able to get the edges even to sew. Give the bias cut a try... maybe use some cheapy slippery fabric like I did to practice on. I'm going to make view F next as I already bought the frog closures and have a great slippery fabric (I think a satin-like fabric) that I would use. I wouldn't know if the mandarin neckline is not flattering to a larger chest as I have a smaller one. Best of luck!
10/31/05 9:32 PM
Kerry O said...
I wish I had your problem of no bum. ;) I bet it looks great on you anyway - I think we're always our worst critics! This is a super nice-looking pattern.
11/1/05 8:05 AM
layla said...
Thanks for the review.. Any pictures of the Top?
11/1/05 10:51 AM
SewScientist said...
layla, I haven't made one of the shirts yet, I was going to right after I finished a burda skirt I'm working on. However, I just found out that my genetics mid-term is this Friday instead of next as I had originally thought!!!! So sewing has to wait so I can study..... sigh Also, I was thinking that the shirts will cover the bagginess below the back waist if I decide to make another skirt. Or I might look around the website and in some of my sewing books to see if there is an alteration I could do. The skirt would probably be a good piece to start learing how do alterations/fitting on.
11/1/05 1:31 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Online Sewing Classes
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Self Drafted Pattern 277-1001
photo
Review by Darla in P... on 9/17/04
Read Review

Victoria Jones Collection Men's Classic Hawaiian Businessman's Aloha Shirt
Victoria Jones Collection Men's Classic Hawaiian Businessman's Aloha Shirt

Details
Price: $14.25
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sewing Workshop Ann's Cardigan & Tank
Sewing Workshop Ann's Cardigan & Tank

Details
Price: $22.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver + S Sunday Brunch Jacket + A-Line Skirt Digital Pattern ( Size 6m-3T )
Oliver + S Sunday Brunch Jacket + A-Line Skirt Digital Pattern ( Size 6m-3T )

Details
Price: $13.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sis Boom Angie Dress Digital Pattern
Sis Boom Angie Dress Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $10.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

BurdaStyle Magazine 01-2013-123A Light Cowl Top
photo
Review by vchan38 on 1/1/13
Read Review

Simplicity 1882 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12-14 )
Simplicity 1882 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12-14 )

Details
Price: $16.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 4636 Pattern( Size ONE SIZE )
Simplicity 4636 Pattern( Size ONE SIZE )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us