SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Simplicity> 7073 (Sewing for Dummies Doll Clothe)

3 more reviews
Viewed 1988 times 
Reviewed by:Sharon M
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Sharon Mstarstarstarstar
MN USA
Member since: 8/3/02
Reviews written: 206
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 105 people
patterns reviewed: 205
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:9/13/02 6:48 PM
Review Rating: Very Helpful by 1 people   
See other patterns in this category: Crafts    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
5 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
fourkid said...
Thanks for the review. I tracked down Simplicity 8457. Am looking forward to some sewing time with the Grands.
11/16/12 12:07 PM
DorrieBelle said...
I had many problems with this pattern, too. Ended up exchanging it with another doll fan for a Barbie-size kimono pattern. Bought the second Dummies for Barbie one at Hancock's Labor Day sale for a buck - here's hoping ! The directions on the second one seem easier. Check out http://embyquinn.tripod.com/dollpats.html for some easy, fun, FREE Barbie patterns ! Not my site, but I've made all but the pants, and they're great !
9/7/03 7:17 PM
Tari Hann said...
I'm working with this pattern right now and had forgotten how the pants went together, but they way it instructs you, it's hard to turn down the waistband and sew it over with both center front and center backs sewn. I just sew the center front seam (for the jeans, shorts and capris), sew fronts to backs, do my serging, turn over and sew down the waist, THEN I do the center back seam. I agree, this isn't the best pattern for a total beginner, but I do like the fact that it has clothes that kids actually wear like flares and capris.
4/18/03 11:10 PM
said...
Many memories here too! I sewed many barbie clothes as a young girl. I don't know if they had patterns back then-- I had no money to buy them anyway. So I made my own by draping paper on the doll ("tissue fit?!"). The one toy I wanted forever was a Barbie sewing machine (which did come with patterns). I never got it but now I am glad because now I have no fear of hand-sewing or pattern drafting. Your nieces are lucky to have you helping them learn sew!! (My aunt taught me too. Aren't aunts great!)
9/14/02 1:31 AM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
wow! when I was young, my grandmother used to sew so many doll clothes for me. You have brought back fond memories. I can't believe a 9 year old could sew these dresses on her own. Thanks for the warning about this pattern.
9/13/02 6:54 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Register

Put it on the Bias
Put it on the Bias

Register

Self Drafted Pattern 78396-1003

photo
by: velosewer

Review
Simplicity 1942

photo
by: carrie1858...

Review
Sewing Workshop Joplin Pullover Pattern

Sewing Workshop Joplin Pullover Pattern

Buy Now
Islander Sewing Systems Waterfall Pattern Pattern

Islander Sewing Systems Waterfall Pattern Pattern

Buy Now