Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
HotPatterns: Nairobi Bag (Nairobi Bag) thumbsup - Type:Accessories    printable version
Viewed 1605 times 21 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 3 people   
Reviewed by:Lori V
photo
Friend of PR
About Lori Vstarstarstarstar
Member since: 4/20/02
Reviews written: 338
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 178 people
patterns reviewed: 337
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review

Posted on:11/5/05 2:26 PM
Last Updated:11/5/05 2:28 PM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
Sewn Square One
Patterns for Your Style.
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
16 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Linda E. said...
good looking bag. I cut mine out today but have gotten to it yet other projects to do.
11/5/05 3:06 PM
Peggy L said...
Looks great! I think I will size down when I make mine. Love the leather and lining together.
11/5/05 3:36 PM
Mary Reed said...
Lori - Great bag! Good review. If you were to redo it, exactly how much smaller would you make it? Trudy recommends 50% for a smaller, "evening bag." I have two teenage girls who want this bag for Christmas. As drafted, it is too big for them. So, I was wondering what size you would recommend?
11/5/05 3:41 PM
RobynB said...
Your bag looks great, Lori. Love the choice of lining fabric.
11/5/05 4:04 PM
Mary Stiefer said...
Great looking bag. I like your choice in lining.
11/5/05 4:41 PM
LiZ said...
Lovely bag. I have sized my pattern down to 75% but I think that I will make some more adjustments.
11/5/05 4:52 PM
sew obsessed said...
Yet another fabulous Nairobi bag. Yours looks very nice. Love the lining. Michelle
11/5/05 6:13 PM
Gigi Louis said...
Yet another great-looking bag! Love the lining.
11/5/05 6:27 PM
els said...
Nice to see another Nairobibag, love the lining.
11/6/05 5:35 AM
Lori V said...
Mary, I would go down 50% at least for my 2 teenage dds. My girls carry smaller bags and would like the evening bag size for daily use.
11/6/05 6:13 AM
xela said...
Too bad this bag is the only thing being reviewed by this pattern company. Great bag and review. Thank you
11/6/05 8:24 AM
Mary Reed said...
Lori - Thanks for the advice. I will do a 50% for the girls. The next question is, can I use upholstrey velvet and fake fur? Will that make the purse too stiff at 50%?
11/6/05 10:40 AM
Danvillegirl said...
Looks good:) I guess I need to give this whirl.
11/6/05 4:03 PM
sewlily said...
I love your lining. It is a great bag.
11/6/05 7:43 PM
mad4sewing said...
Great bag! I went to download the pattern and it was no longer on the hotpatterns. com site. Anyone know where I can get a downloadable copy?
11/3/06 2:34 PM
mad4sewing said...
Great bag! I went to download the pattern and it was no longer on the site. Anyone know where I can get a downloadable copy?
11/3/06 2:34 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $49.00)
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

Online Sewing Classes
Fit the Tee to a T
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Fit the Tee to a T

Vogue Patterns 8825
photo
Review by MissCelie on 11/6/12
Read Review

Kwik Sew 3897 Pattern
Kwik Sew 3897 Pattern

Details
Price: $11.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

New Look 6073 Pattern ( Size XS-S-M-L-XL )
New Look 6073 Pattern ( Size XS-S-M-L-XL )

Details
Price: $4.49
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Burda 7800
photo
Review by morzel on 5/6/09
Read Review

Peek-A Boo 3 Button Boots Digital Pattern ( Size 0-18 months )
Peek-A Boo 3 Button Boots Digital Pattern ( Size 0-18 months )

Details
Price: $3.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

You Sew Girl Party Purse
You Sew Girl Party Purse

Details
Price: $8.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sew Chic Clara Bow Apron Pattern (ln102)
Sew Chic Clara Bow Apron Pattern (ln102)

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Favorite Things Little Hip Skirts Pattern
Favorite Things Little Hip Skirts Pattern

Details
Price: $14.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us