SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> Decades of Style> 3201 (1932 Wrap and Cape)

2 more reviews
Viewed 1778 times 
Reviewed by:drsue
photo

 
 
About drsuestarstarstarstar
Member since: 11/11/03
Reviews written: 169
Sewing skills:Beginner
Favored by: 183 people
patterns reviewed: 152
 
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:11/5/05 4:49 PM
Last Updated:11/5/05 4:49 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 7 people    Very Helpful by 7 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
13 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
CarolynGM said...
I think it's very, very attractive -- a great casual look. I can see why you would need to make the sleeve smaller though; it's still pretty roomy. Nice finish on the edges -- I didn't know there was such as thing as serger yarn.
11/5/05 5:09 PM
drsue said...
Well, duh! When I went to put away my pattern tracing I realized that I didn't cut out the front neck part!!! That's why there is too much fabric in the front. I resewed and now it's much better! Will post an upgraded pic later.
11/5/05 6:33 PM
Mufffet said...
WOW...nifty wrap. Hope to see an updated pic! As an "old R.N." I am wondering how you find the time to sew with a doctor's schedule, and I really think you are greatly talented.
11/5/05 7:39 PM
SewTabby said...
Positively smashing! I just ogled this pattern in the new issue of Threads. It's a cool pattern and I hope it keeps you warm and styling. Can't wait to see the new pic...
11/5/05 8:08 PM
G_l_e_n_d_a said...
I always like to hear creative ways other people 'fix' things, since it is an essential skill for me. Ziz-zagging together the slashed fabric was an interesting solution. Bravo!
11/5/05 9:27 PM
Liana said...
Very nice. I was intrigued by the drawing of this, but couldn't quite decide if I liked the sleeve. It looks great on you, though, and I noticed they have a decorative pin holding some folds at the neck in the drawing. That might make some difference too. These are neat patterns, and you're doing quite an advertising job for them! You look great in this.
11/6/05 0:33 AM
GorgeousFabrics said...
I like it! It's very au courant Your fabric is beautiful, and it looks lovely on you. -Ann
11/6/05 6:59 AM
PhyllisC said...
I like it alot! - the proportions are perfect for you. The newset issue of Threads showcases this pattern, and I didn't think it looked that great - but now I've changed my mind after seeing yours. I don't think it looks like a poncho at all - this would look great over a matching jacket.. a version with thin mink trim along the bottom edge would also look really great.
11/6/05 9:13 AM
PVA said...
Sue, this is a real winner! I love the look & I'm certain it would work with many different kinds of fabric. Would even be great sitting & watching TV if the house seems a bit chilly! Thanks for the review.
11/6/05 10:51 AM
hettie-risinger said...
I have made this wrap as well and you cannot make it in something too heavy. I made it in silk velvet and the drape was luxurious. I almost didn't want to take it off even though i was wearing a beautiful gown underneath.
11/6/05 1:37 PM
kellyt said...
Cute! Thanks for your review. I have had my eye on this pattern.
11/6/05 11:36 PM
GwenV said...
Really, really nice! Your fabric with your serged finish gives a contemporary look without losing the glam from the original design.
11/7/05 9:07 AM
Ann Smith said...
I love it. It doesn't look like a poncho to me.
11/9/05 7:30 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Fit the Tee to a T
Fit the Tee to a T

Register

Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

Register

BurdaStyle Downloadable 122a

photo
by: punkmik

Review
Favorite Things Blossoms & Bloomers Pattern

Favorite Things Blossoms & Bloomers Pattern

Buy Now
You Sew Girl Tulip Dress Pattern

You Sew Girl Tulip Dress Pattern

Buy Now