Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Decades of Style: 3201 (1932 Wrap and Cape) - Type:Outerwear    printable version
Viewed 1775 times 2 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 7 people    Very Helpful by 7 people   
Reviewed by:drsue
photo
About drsuestarstarstarstar
Member since: 11/11/03
Reviews written: 169
Sewing skills:Beginner
Favored by: 184 people
patterns reviewed: 152
 
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:11/5/05 4:49 PM
Last Updated:11/5/05 4:49 PM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
13 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
CarolynGM said...
I think it's very, very attractive -- a great casual look. I can see why you would need to make the sleeve smaller though; it's still pretty roomy. Nice finish on the edges -- I didn't know there was such as thing as serger yarn.
11/5/05 5:09 PM
drsue said...
Well, duh! When I went to put away my pattern tracing I realized that I didn't cut out the front neck part!!! That's why there is too much fabric in the front. I resewed and now it's much better! Will post an upgraded pic later.
11/5/05 6:33 PM
Mufffet said...
WOW...nifty wrap. Hope to see an updated pic! As an "old R.N." I am wondering how you find the time to sew with a doctor's schedule, and I really think you are greatly talented.
11/5/05 7:39 PM
SewTabby said...
Positively smashing! I just ogled this pattern in the new issue of Threads. It's a cool pattern and I hope it keeps you warm and styling. Can't wait to see the new pic...
11/5/05 8:08 PM
G_l_e_n_d_a said...
I always like to hear creative ways other people 'fix' things, since it is an essential skill for me. Ziz-zagging together the slashed fabric was an interesting solution. Bravo!
11/5/05 9:27 PM
Liana said...
Very nice. I was intrigued by the drawing of this, but couldn't quite decide if I liked the sleeve. It looks great on you, though, and I noticed they have a decorative pin holding some folds at the neck in the drawing. That might make some difference too. These are neat patterns, and you're doing quite an advertising job for them! You look great in this.
11/6/05 0:33 AM
GorgeousFabrics said...
I like it! It's very au courant Your fabric is beautiful, and it looks lovely on you. -Ann
11/6/05 6:59 AM
PhyllisC said...
I like it alot! - the proportions are perfect for you. The newset issue of Threads showcases this pattern, and I didn't think it looked that great - but now I've changed my mind after seeing yours. I don't think it looks like a poncho at all - this would look great over a matching jacket.. a version with thin mink trim along the bottom edge would also look really great.
11/6/05 9:13 AM
PVA said...
Sue, this is a real winner! I love the look & I'm certain it would work with many different kinds of fabric. Would even be great sitting & watching TV if the house seems a bit chilly! Thanks for the review.
11/6/05 10:51 AM
hettie-risinger said...
I have made this wrap as well and you cannot make it in something too heavy. I made it in silk velvet and the drape was luxurious. I almost didn't want to take it off even though i was wearing a beautiful gown underneath.
11/6/05 1:37 PM
kellyt said...
Cute! Thanks for your review. I have had my eye on this pattern.
11/6/05 11:36 PM
GwenV said...
Really, really nice! Your fabric with your serged finish gives a contemporary look without losing the glam from the original design.
11/7/05 9:07 AM
Ann Smith said...
I love it. It doesn't look like a poncho to me.
11/9/05 7:30 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Altering Pants
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $59.00)
Altering Pants

Online Sewing Classes
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket

Burda 7140 Misses Jackets
photo
Review by WinterQuee... on 11/14/13
Read Review

Sewing Workshop Ikina Jacket & Pants Pattern
Sewing Workshop Ikina Jacket & Pants Pattern

Details
Price: $22.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sewing Workshop Zona Jacket Pattern
Sewing Workshop Zona Jacket Pattern

Details
Price: $22.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Close Case Files Bombshell Swimsuit Digital Pattern (Print at a copy shop)
Close Case Files Bombshell Swimsuit Digital Pattern (Print at a copy shop)

Details
Price: $10.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Jackie Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )
Peek-A Boo Jackie Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

New Look 6231
photo
Review by Dellia45 on 1/19/14
Read Review

Vogue 8840 Pattern ( Size 16-18-20-22-24 )
Vogue 8840 Pattern ( Size 16-18-20-22-24 )

Details
Price: $25.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue 8796 Pattern ( Size XSM-SML-MED )
Vogue 8796 Pattern ( Size XSM-SML-MED )

Details
Price: $30.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us