Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Loes Hinse Designs: 5208 (Bianca Sweater) thumbsup - Type:Tops    printable version
Viewed 2123 times 9 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 4 people    Very Helpful by 11 people   
Reviewed by:ChrisK
photo
Friend of PR
About ChrisKstar
NA UNITED KINGDOM
Member since: 2/28/04
Reviews written: 17
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 4 people
patterns reviewed: 16
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:11/7/05 3:20 AM


See other patterns in this category: Tops    
Available for sale on PR: $16.00 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Buy this pattern for $16.00     Add to Bag Add to Bag
 
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Sewn Square One
Patterns for Your Style.
Web site
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
17 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Tiner W said...
I like the idea of the tucks as well, and am sorry that this one didn't work out so well for you.
11/7/05 6:22 AM
Mary Stiefer said...
I'm sorry this didn't work for you, too. Those little tucks in the front are a great detail. I wondering if you changed the neckline on this top would that make it a difference in how you feel about the style. Sometimes that's all that is needed is a small change.
11/7/05 7:48 AM
Patti B said...
I was puzzled when people were excited about this pattern because it seemed so plain. I know that I usually like Loes' patterns because of the subtle shaping she incorporates but this one left me uninspired. Sorry it didn't work for you.
11/7/05 10:23 AM
CatherineN said...
Your fleece is a yummy color!
11/7/05 10:23 AM
mamacita said...
Yikes! for the price of one of these patterns, seems as if there could be some kind of fixon the boxy fit? It is really pretty in your picture. the tuck detailing is really a nice one and the colour is also lovely. Could you try it in a lighter weight knit and contour below the bust to the waist to give it a little shape? Also, you could lower the neck a smidge. Possibly this fleece did not have enough stretch to it. Seems a shame...you obviously have great sewing skils..looks very precise. If you add tucks to another pattern , tuck the fabric first and then cut out otherwise tucks will take up to much fabric and throw the width off...but you knew that!!! Let us know if you make it again. Thanks for the review and the warning!
11/7/05 10:27 AM
Mini said...
Thanks for the warning about this pattern. It is hard to tell much from the pattern photos, which completely hide whatever shape the garment might have. I have found that some of the LH patterns do actually have the "subtle shaping" but others are just too boxy for my taste. The tucks are a nice touch, but it would probably be better to simply add them to a basic pattern that fits well.
11/7/05 11:05 AM
boobunny said...
It seems to me that the picture on the pattern envelope showed a really delicate fabric---it seems like this top needs to be a few layers of sheer instead of heavy fabric.
11/7/05 11:22 AM
Susan R said...
Chris, I think your sweater looks great. I love the tucks, they look so elegant.
11/7/05 11:43 AM
Elona said...
I think the upper part of the sweater is pretty darn nice--good lines at the shoulder and neck. Too bad the neck opening was small. As I recall, that was a problem often reported with the TS Basic Top, also. Re the width at the hem, when you did your flat-pattern measurement, was it already pretty big down there? I wonder if adding the same tucks to the back would bring it in noticeably.
11/7/05 3:03 PM
Danvillegirl said...
I have been debating buying this pattern. I thought perhaps I could replicate this look on another pattern. Thanks for reviewing.
11/9/05 5:30 AM
kathleenb said...
I had a similar experience with this pattern. I made my usual XS and could barely wedge my shoulders into it. The neck was too small and the sleeves pulled across the cap. I also had to add lots of shaping to the sides. I ended up giving my try to a small shouldered friend. Ditto on the plan to transfer the tucks to another pattern. I, too, expected better drafting from a LH pattern.
11/10/05 7:27 AM
EleanorMcCarthy said...
I think that your sweater looks lovely. I really like the tucks. Maybe this is the wrong kind of fabric for this pattern. Would it help to add bust darts? I think that I might try it out, just for educational purposes. Keep up the good work. You are an excellent seamstress.
11/10/05 2:24 PM
fuzzygalore said...
There could definitely be a problem with the fabric rather than the fit.. I have the confess I bought this top already made last year from Loes in her Carmel boutique (a wedding emergency..). Fits great, has the subtle shaping everyone expects from her etc. BUT it's in wool jersey, slightly fulled. In short, there is some drape. Fleece's nice, but doesn't drape one bit, and frankly I've felt the Ikea throw and rejected it even at that price, if feels like it'd pill in a blink if nothing else. Give this pattern a shot in something decent, you'll be surprised.
11/12/05 1:57 AM
Patti in IL said...
Thanks for the review. I was attracted to the tucks, too - but the line drawing did appear shapeless. I like the color of your top though, could you taper the waist? I've had frequent problems with Loes' patterns.
11/14/05 11:21 AM
StitchQueen101 said...
Nice review. I agree with changing the fabric, although, when wearing a broche or a pearl necklace your sweater would look stunning! I love that color by the way. Very nicely done!
11/19/05 4:56 PM
maryfrana said...
I think your top looks great!! I made this pattern with a black cotton/lycra/something blend which had a lot of give and was drapey too and I did it in my usual size. It fits beautifully and has some shaping. I love the tucks which is why I bought the pattern. I wonder if the fabric you used just would not give enough in your real size to make it work?
12/15/05 4:15 PM
j222b said...
I made my top in a slinky with no alterations and I LOVE it.
6/20/10 10:56 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fee: $39.99
(Regular $39.99)
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

Online Sewing Classes
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Fee: $34.00
(Regular $49.00)
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

Butterick 5215
photo
Review by fourkid on 2/27/11
Read Review

SewBaby Travel High Chair Pattern
SewBaby Travel High Chair Pattern

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Jennifer Stern The Perfectly Fitted Shirt by the Cup-Full Pattern ( Size 16-24(Cup B-DD) )
Jennifer Stern The Perfectly Fitted Shirt by the Cup-Full Pattern ( Size 16-24(Cup B-DD) )

Details
Price: $20.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Lily Bird Studio Maddie's Dress Digital Pattern
Lily Bird Studio Maddie's Dress Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $8.90
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Salme Kimono Sleeve Dress Digital Pattern
Salme Kimono Sleeve Dress Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $7.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Butterick 4954
photo
Review by shanntarra on 2/25/10
Read Review

Simplicity 1494 Pattern ( Size S-M-L-XL-XXL-XXXL )
Simplicity 1494 Pattern ( Size S-M-L-XL-XXL-XXXL )

Details
Price: $2.49
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue 8358 Pattern ( Size 4-6-8-10 )
Vogue 8358 Pattern ( Size 4-6-8-10 )

Details
Price: $20.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us