SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Burda> 8292 (Coat)

13 more reviews
Viewed 1407 times 
Reviewed by:smallbod
photo

 
 
About smallbodstar
NA UNITED KINGDOM
Member since: 6/30/05
Reviews written: 16
Sewing skills:Beginner
Favored by: 1 people
patterns reviewed: 13
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:11/7/05 12:35 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people   
See other patterns in this category: Coat/Jacket    
Available for sale on PR: $8.96 $11.95 Pattern Details
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $8.96 $11.95 Pattern Details

Merchants on PR

Patterns from the Past


vintage sewing patterns
Deals!

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Nature's Fabrics


Natural & Organic Fabrics
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
5 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
licarritc said...
Do you have any of the fabric left? I suggest sandwiching the coat, the collar, then the facing on top -all right sides together. You want the wrong side of the facing up. Sew everything together. Flip the facing into its correct position and under stitch to the SA. Then sew the back facing to the front facing. If this is the directions that you have I'm stuck but I find putting in a collar this way almost painless. I didn't make this up it is straight from a Burda WOF pattern that I did and I loved how easy it was!
11/8/05 8:29 AM
kellyt said...
It is too bad about the collar. The coat looks nice so far. I would not trash it. I would take the collar off and finish the neckline without it. Just use the facing for the neckline to clean finish the neck. Hope that makes sense. Thanks for the review. I thought this coat looked very cute.
11/7/05 2:44 PM
sewcrazy52 said...
Does anyone have sewing classes - or special interest courses; like after-hours classes? I find that helps when I am stuck.
11/7/05 2:41 PM
smallbod said...
redhead - i don't know anyone but I can ask around - thanks for the idea.
11/7/05 1:18 PM
redhead said...
Do you have someone, like an experienced sewist at a fabric store, who could consult with you on the neck? It seems a shame to not give it one more try as you really like the coat.
11/7/05 12:41 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Class Details

Online Class
Altering Jackets
Altering Jackets

Class Details

Fehr Trade 000

photo
by: ArtAttack

Review
Christine Jonson Cuff Pant

Christine Jonson Cuff Pant

More Info
Sew Chic Beatrice Pocket Dress Pattern (ln1310)

Sew Chic Beatrice Pocket Dress Pattern (ln1310)

More Info