SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Burda> 8292 (Coat)

13 more reviews
Viewed 1402 times 
Reviewed by:smallbod
photo

 
 
About smallbodstar
NA UNITED KINGDOM
Member since: 6/30/05
Reviews written: 16
Sewing skills:Beginner
Favored by: 1 people
patterns reviewed: 13
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:11/7/05 12:35 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people   
See other patterns in this category: Coat/Jacket    
Available for sale on PR: $8.96 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $8.96 (See envelope)Click to Buy
 
<< Previous      Next >>
5 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
redhead said...
Do you have someone, like an experienced sewist at a fabric store, who could consult with you on the neck? It seems a shame to not give it one more try as you really like the coat.
11/7/05 12:41 PM
smallbod said...
redhead - i don't know anyone but I can ask around - thanks for the idea.
11/7/05 1:18 PM
sewcrazy52 said...
Does anyone have sewing classes - or special interest courses; like after-hours classes? I find that helps when I am stuck.
11/7/05 2:41 PM
kellyt said...
It is too bad about the collar. The coat looks nice so far. I would not trash it. I would take the collar off and finish the neckline without it. Just use the facing for the neckline to clean finish the neck. Hope that makes sense. Thanks for the review. I thought this coat looked very cute.
11/7/05 2:44 PM
licarritc said...
Do you have any of the fabric left? I suggest sandwiching the coat, the collar, then the facing on top -all right sides together. You want the wrong side of the facing up. Sew everything together. Flip the facing into its correct position and under stitch to the SA. Then sew the back facing to the front facing. If this is the directions that you have I'm stuck but I find putting in a collar this way almost painless. I didn't make this up it is straight from a Burda WOF pattern that I did and I loved how easy it was!
11/8/05 8:29 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Sewing Facings and Developing Facing Patterns
Sewing Facings and Developing Facing Patterns

Register

Break your Serger Out of the Box
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Register

Vogue Patterns 8263

photo
by: wildberrym...

Review
Simplicity 1717

photo
by: Kathhhhhy

Review
Favorite Things The Lunch Bag Pattern

Favorite Things The Lunch Bag Pattern

Buy Now
SewBaby One Piece Reversible Sundress Pattern

SewBaby One Piece Reversible Sundress Pattern

Buy Now