Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Burda: 8198 (Wedding/Evening Dress) - Type:Formalwear    printable version
Viewed 2221 times
Review rated Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 13 people   
Reviewed by:Amy T
photo
Friend of PR
About Amy T
WA USA
Member since: 11/16/04
Reviews written: 2
Sewing skills:Intermediate
patterns reviewed: 2
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:11/8/05 2:51 PM
Last Updated:11/8/05 2:55 PM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized Regular 


See other patterns in this category: Formalwear    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
30 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Steffie said...
I think you look lovely in the dress. It turned out great!
11/8/05 2:53 PM
twistedangel said...
This turned out fabulous! Congratulations!
11/8/05 3:00 PM
beangirl said...
wow! OK, NOW you really must upgrade your level listing. This is very nicely sewn from the looks of it. (And congratulations! First invisible zipper! Yay!) And btw, you do look very nice in your dress. If I had to wear an evening gown, I'd look like a troll doll in drag. What I'll do if I'm invited to the Oscars, I just don't know... :-)
11/8/05 3:06 PM
sewcrazy52 said...
What's so BAD about the outfit? Tell us please!!
11/8/05 3:19 PM
GorgeousFabrics said...
Oh you look lovely! You look like the Countess in Mozart's Marriage of Figaro. Brava! -Ann
11/8/05 3:30 PM
Peggy L said...
Amy - what an achievement! It looks great on you. I have the same philosphy as your sister. Lots of times I have hung something in the closet and gone back a couple of weeks later and decided "this looks pretty good!". I think we just get tired of the garment!!
11/8/05 3:33 PM
Mary Stiefer said...
You look like Cinderella in her ball gown. How beautiful.
11/8/05 3:38 PM
Nickle said...
Your did a beautiful job and it looks lovely on you.
11/8/05 3:49 PM
PegL said...
Your ball gown is beautiful and you look gorgeous in it! I agree with beangirl -- you really must upgrade your level listing!!
11/8/05 4:14 PM
Cathy Loves Fabric said...
You look like a princess and look what you learned. What a beautiful dress! Job well done.
11/8/05 4:15 PM
G_l_e_n_d_a said...
Stunning! What a fantastic accomplishment.
11/8/05 4:25 PM
moushka said...
Amy - You look beautiful in your dress! Don't give a second thought to the fashion status of gathered sleeves - they'll be back in a one of these days. There's a good reason why women have worn fitted bodices, full skirts and full sleeves for centuries - they actually fit our curves ;-) Your dress is a classic. Hope you get invited to another ball!
11/8/05 4:27 PM
els said...
Amy your ball gown dress looks lovely on you.
11/8/05 4:28 PM
Pam Z said...
Gorgeous gown, Amy! LOVE the color and the fit...and marvelous job on the invisible zip. Well done!
11/8/05 4:50 PM
zeoplum said...
I hate to break it to you but that is a drop-dead gorgeous dress and it's extremely flattering on you. I saw the pic before I read your review and thought wow, now I bet she is just tickled pink with how that turned out. I agree with your sister, put it away and give it some time. Eventually you'll see what we see. And if you should decide to sell it, I want it! (hehe...j/k....I couldn't afford it!) Seriously, it's fabulous!!!!
11/8/05 5:13 PM
Kim Winson said...
I agree, beautiful dress! Thanks for the excellent review!
11/8/05 5:45 PM
AliceB said...
Amy, Your dress is absolutely beautiful. The first thing I noticed looking at the picture was NO drag lines in the fitted bodice--that is a work of art!!! Be proud of your accomplishment.
11/8/05 6:13 PM
Kerry O said...
Seriously, what everyone else has said - that is a STUNNING dress, and you look drop-dead gorgeous in it. It shows off your figure and you look so pretty in it! I am in awe of your talent. :)
11/8/05 8:09 PM
Lori V said...
You look beautiful in your gown. You did a marvelous job.
11/8/05 8:10 PM
SewVeryTall said...
I just love that fabric...the dress is beautiful and you look great in it!
11/9/05 4:25 AM
Harriet Rogers said...
Wow! This is fabulous, and I think you look gorgeous in the style and the color. I also think you should take off the "beginner" in your rating: just leave "advanced": this looks like a very accomplished garment: 4 stars.
11/9/05 8:11 AM
Moxie said...
Your dress is beautiful and you look beautiful in it. You are to be commended on staying with this project to the end. Also, all the research you did for both the corset and the dress is inspiring.
11/9/05 11:22 AM
Gigi Louis said...
I think you look absolutely gorgeous in this dress! It really shows off your hourglass figure. You did an excellent job on the sewing and fitting. I never would have attempted anything like this in the early days. I agree you should upgrade your skill level!
11/9/05 11:45 AM
redhead said...
You are amazing in this dress. Great job, and thanks for telling us all about your process. I want to make a fancy gown one day, and I learned a lot from you.
11/9/05 2:26 PM
MarilynB said...
You look marvelous! I agree with your sister about aging the garment. I have had the same experience several times before and those pieces later turned out to be some of my favorite. Thanks for a wonderful review. I will remember this pattern if I need a formal gown.
11/10/05 7:54 AM
sue77 said...
This looks so elegant on you... the fabrics are absolutely beautiful!
11/11/05 10:04 PM
MaryBeth said...
You can't beat the fit on the bodice and neckline: perfect! and a perfect style for you. Congratulations!!!! I think your polyester fabric is not draping in the skirt as perfectly as it could had it been a silk so maybe that's what's making you feel too voluminous. However, I also think this dress was worth the effort: you do look so regal!
11/12/05 7:09 AM
Amy T said...
Wow! I've had a busy and stressful week, and finally made it back to PR today--you guys really made my day with all the positive comments! I may actually wear it to that Christmas party after all, especially since it has 5 more weeks to "age" before then. Maybe I will try it without the "panniers" or the full petticoat and see if it feels less poofy that way, also. Again, many, many thanks for everyone's input!
11/12/05 1:34 PM
thujaplicata said...
I think you did a wonderful job - based on the photo the dress looks quite lovely on you. Very nice choice of color with your hair/complexion. Bravo! ps - also greatly enjoyed reading your corset experience. You are an intrepid and adventurous sewer!
11/3/06 3:36 PM
momkoz said...
wow!! i am a plus woman. if i could only look like you in that dress! awesome, just awesome. :)
12/16/07 12:44 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Altering Pants
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $59.00)
Altering Pants

Online Sewing Classes
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Burda 7696
photo
Review by Renee B on 7/11/09
Read Review

Oliver S Birthday Party Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 4-8 )
Oliver   S Birthday Party Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 4-8 )

Details
Price: $13.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Maria Denmark Just a Tank Top Digital Pattern
Maria Denmark Just a Tank Top Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $5.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCall's 6123
photo
Review by wendlesue on 4/30/13
Read Review

Paradiso Designs Anna Handbag Pattern
Paradiso Designs Anna Handbag Pattern

Details
Price: $13.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sew Chic Cloche Hat Pattern (ln101)
Sew Chic Cloche Hat Pattern (ln101)

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 2491 Pattern( Size XS-S-M-L )
Simplicity 2491 Pattern( Size XS-S-M-L )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

New Look 6641 Pattern
New Look 6641 Pattern

Details
Price: $4.49
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us