SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Simplicity> 4698 (Jackets)

31 more reviews
Viewed 1942 times 
Reviewed by:Lori V
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Lori Vstarstarstarstar
Member since: 4/20/02
Reviews written: 342
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 181 people
patterns reviewed: 341
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:11/8/05 11:46 PM
Last Updated:11/11/05 10:54 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 6 people    Very Helpful by 11 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Patterns from the Past


vintage sewing patterns
Deals!

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
36 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
PVA said...
Beautiful result, thanks for the review. I certainly think your DD should just love it! She's a very lucky girl!
11/9/05 0:07 AM
Mary Stiefer said...
Wow - very impressive.
11/9/05 0:09 AM
bunz said...
Love the way you combined the fabrics! Very slimming idea for some of us w a bit o' fluff!
11/9/05 3:19 AM
2BSewing said...
Wow! Love the jacket and the fabric combination. This sounds like a nice pattern to add to my stash...and I like the idea of the different pieces for different size cups. Please post the result of the fitting test. I'd be very interested. Thanks for a wonderful review.
11/9/05 5:19 AM
jlg said...
Very, very pretty.
11/9/05 5:27 AM
CarolynGM said...
Great jacket. I admire your innovations in dealing with a fabric shortage. Sure hope your DD likes it.
11/9/05 5:51 AM
PegL said...
Really pretty jacket! Your additions to the design are great! Your DD should be thrilled!
11/9/05 6:08 AM
Lisette said...
Stunning looking jacket! Your daughter will love it.
11/9/05 7:32 AM
Debbie Cook said...
Lori, Great jacket! I love the constrast accents -- very stylish and unique.
11/9/05 7:42 AM
Stacy Sews said...
Wow, that is a fantastic jacket. I've seen the pattern before but never invisioned something like this! Great job. I might have to look into trying this one out.
11/9/05 8:01 AM
Patti B said...
What a beautiful jacket. Your solution to not enough fabric is perfect and adds a great design element. If your DD doesn't like it, send it to me for my DD! ;-)
11/9/05 8:27 AM
GwenV said...
Lovely jacket, and I really like the way the fringe shows against the contrasting fabric.
11/9/05 9:31 AM
Frogstitcher said...
Very unique, pretty jacket. Much nicer than the pattern envelope picture.
11/9/05 9:44 AM
G_l_e_n_d_a said...
Wow - what can I say - this is just gorgeous. I appreciated the tip about the interfacing as I have some boucle I am hoping to sew.
11/9/05 10:22 AM
sew obsessed said...
Beautiful. I'm sure even the pickyest of DD's would love this. Do post the fit test. I also have this pattern that I bought because of the inclusion of cup sizes. I'm anxious to hear how the dd cup size worked out. Michelle
11/9/05 10:35 AM
AndSewOn said...
The black against the boucle is stunning. Necessity may have been the mother of invention, but what a terrific invention!
11/9/05 10:56 AM
Moxie said...
Very nice jacket. I like how you have used the two fabrics together. DD should be pleased.
11/9/05 11:10 AM
jemgirlca said...
I love this pattern, too and think your fabric combination looks fantastic!
11/9/05 12:53 PM
MaryLynn in Long Beach said...
Very nice!
11/9/05 1:36 PM
SouthernStitch said...
Oh you made this a and interesting jacket! Your DD should love this -- very nice.
11/9/05 2:22 PM
Sew4Fun said...
Gorgeous jacket Lori! I have always liked this pattern but I had no idea it came with separate cup-sizes. I'll have to get it now. Thanks for the review.
11/9/05 5:50 PM
gorgeous said...
Your Dd will love it - mine did! I made it out of a light green linen (in July). I agree, the option of cup sizes was a time saver. I have it cut out/interfaced in a boucle for the colder weather. Your combination of the two fabrics is a great idea.
11/9/05 6:36 PM
PixieCat said...
Lovely jacket! The contrast collar is sharp!
11/10/05 4:49 AM
ryan's mom said...
Awesome-looking jacket and I love that fringe detail. I'm making this jacket too in the SNF class and think those different cup-size fronts are fantastic.
11/10/05 5:24 AM
Michelle T said...
I have avoided Simplicity patterns for years. I did not like the fit, found the sizing for children to be way off and generally was unhappy with the results I got from them. However after seeing your review and learning that they now have bust cup sizing I will pick this one up to try. The jacket you made for your dd is wonderful I am sure she will love it.
11/11/05 9:53 AM
mm said...
This is a cut above usual student wear. Lucky daughter.
11/11/05 10:57 PM
potter said...
What a gem! Your use of both fabrics gives a very attractive result. Great review. TFS!
11/12/05 6:17 AM
Peggy L said...
Judging from all the reviews, this pattern must be a winner. I love your fabric combo - what a great idea. Lucky DD - sounds like it passed the DD test!!! Congratulations!
11/12/05 8:52 AM
Rhoda K said...
Beautiful jacket - will definitely check out Simplicity's patterns that have the bust adjustments. Great job and I know dd will just love it!
11/12/05 1:07 PM
Jennifer shaw said...
Thanks for sharing your version of this incredible and gorgeous jacket! Thank you for a wonderful review. Quick question- did you base the sizing off of the high bust or the full bust? I am hoping for this to become my next project.
11/12/05 2:32 PM
Danvillegirl said...
I really like what you did with this jacket and the fabric. Nice idea for me to copy.I am finishing my second jacket from this pattern. I really like the pattern. I know you will love a jacket for yourself.
11/13/05 6:22 AM
Diane E said...
Lori, this is just beautiful!! Lucky for me I have this pattern, and you have pushed me enough to make it. I am so inspired! Lucky dd!
11/13/05 7:29 PM
yarnivore said...
You did a very stylish job piecing those two fabrics -- I love the result! The bust cup sizing in such a fitted jacket sounds like a great idea.
11/16/05 2:46 PM
GorgeousFabrics said...
I love that pattern and I love your treatment of it! Deborah at Simplicity told us on our tour that they are coming out with more cup-sized patterns in the next catalogues. I can't wait! -Ann
11/16/05 2:55 PM
cboots said...
Just beautiful! Although the shape of the jacket is already really flattering, the two fabrics make it so much more interesting. She must love it.
11/16/05 10:28 PM
patsijean said...
If you had not told us that the two-color styling of the jacket was out of necessity, I would never have guessed. The effect is stylish and looks planned. Don't tell anyone else.
1/25/06 1:15 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

Register

Sewing Basics
Sewing Basics

Register

Vogue Patterns 8593

photo
by: Nan Kay

Review
Christine Jonson Three Tees

Christine Jonson Three Tees

Buy Now
Paradiso Designs Lolita Simple Skirt Formula Pattern

Paradiso Designs Lolita Simple Skirt Formula Pattern

Buy Now
Butterick 5223

photo
by: Courtney O...

Review