Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Simplicity: 4698 (Jackets) thumbsup - Type:Coat/Jacket    printable version
Viewed 1942 times 31 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 6 people    Very Helpful by 11 people   
Reviewed by:Lori V
photo
Friend of PR
About Lori Vstarstarstarstar
Member since: 4/20/02
Reviews written: 338
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 178 people
patterns reviewed: 337
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:11/8/05 11:46 PM
Last Updated:11/11/05 10:54 PM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
36 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
PVA said...
Beautiful result, thanks for the review. I certainly think your DD should just love it! She's a very lucky girl!
11/9/05 0:07 AM
Mary Stiefer said...
Wow - very impressive.
11/9/05 0:09 AM
bunz said...
Love the way you combined the fabrics! Very slimming idea for some of us w a bit o' fluff!
11/9/05 3:19 AM
2BSewing said...
Wow! Love the jacket and the fabric combination. This sounds like a nice pattern to add to my stash...and I like the idea of the different pieces for different size cups. Please post the result of the fitting test. I'd be very interested. Thanks for a wonderful review.
11/9/05 5:19 AM
jlg said...
Very, very pretty.
11/9/05 5:27 AM
CarolynGM said...
Great jacket. I admire your innovations in dealing with a fabric shortage. Sure hope your DD likes it.
11/9/05 5:51 AM
PegL said...
Really pretty jacket! Your additions to the design are great! Your DD should be thrilled!
11/9/05 6:08 AM
Lisette said...
Stunning looking jacket! Your daughter will love it.
11/9/05 7:32 AM
Debbie Cook said...
Lori, Great jacket! I love the constrast accents -- very stylish and unique.
11/9/05 7:42 AM
Stacy Sews said...
Wow, that is a fantastic jacket. I've seen the pattern before but never invisioned something like this! Great job. I might have to look into trying this one out.
11/9/05 8:01 AM
Patti B said...
What a beautiful jacket. Your solution to not enough fabric is perfect and adds a great design element. If your DD doesn't like it, send it to me for my DD! ;-)
11/9/05 8:27 AM
GwenV said...
Lovely jacket, and I really like the way the fringe shows against the contrasting fabric.
11/9/05 9:31 AM
Frogstitcher said...
Very unique, pretty jacket. Much nicer than the pattern envelope picture.
11/9/05 9:44 AM
G_l_e_n_d_a said...
Wow - what can I say - this is just gorgeous. I appreciated the tip about the interfacing as I have some boucle I am hoping to sew.
11/9/05 10:22 AM
sew obsessed said...
Beautiful. I'm sure even the pickyest of DD's would love this. Do post the fit test. I also have this pattern that I bought because of the inclusion of cup sizes. I'm anxious to hear how the dd cup size worked out. Michelle
11/9/05 10:35 AM
AndSewOn said...
The black against the boucle is stunning. Necessity may have been the mother of invention, but what a terrific invention!
11/9/05 10:56 AM
Moxie said...
Very nice jacket. I like how you have used the two fabrics together. DD should be pleased.
11/9/05 11:10 AM
jemgirlca said...
I love this pattern, too and think your fabric combination looks fantastic!
11/9/05 12:53 PM
MaryLynn in Long Beach said...
Very nice!
11/9/05 1:36 PM
SouthernStitch said...
Oh you made this a and interesting jacket! Your DD should love this -- very nice.
11/9/05 2:22 PM
Sew4Fun said...
Gorgeous jacket Lori! I have always liked this pattern but I had no idea it came with separate cup-sizes. I'll have to get it now. Thanks for the review.
11/9/05 5:50 PM
gorgeous said...
Your Dd will love it - mine did! I made it out of a light green linen (in July). I agree, the option of cup sizes was a time saver. I have it cut out/interfaced in a boucle for the colder weather. Your combination of the two fabrics is a great idea.
11/9/05 6:36 PM
PixieCat said...
Lovely jacket! The contrast collar is sharp!
11/10/05 4:49 AM
ryan's mom said...
Awesome-looking jacket and I love that fringe detail. I'm making this jacket too in the SNF class and think those different cup-size fronts are fantastic.
11/10/05 5:24 AM
Michelle T said...
I have avoided Simplicity patterns for years. I did not like the fit, found the sizing for children to be way off and generally was unhappy with the results I got from them. However after seeing your review and learning that they now have bust cup sizing I will pick this one up to try. The jacket you made for your dd is wonderful I am sure she will love it.
11/11/05 9:53 AM
mm said...
This is a cut above usual student wear. Lucky daughter.
11/11/05 10:57 PM
potter said...
What a gem! Your use of both fabrics gives a very attractive result. Great review. TFS!
11/12/05 6:17 AM
Peggy L said...
Judging from all the reviews, this pattern must be a winner. I love your fabric combo - what a great idea. Lucky DD - sounds like it passed the DD test!!! Congratulations!
11/12/05 8:52 AM
Rhoda K said...
Beautiful jacket - will definitely check out Simplicity's patterns that have the bust adjustments. Great job and I know dd will just love it!
11/12/05 1:07 PM
Jennifer shaw said...
Thanks for sharing your version of this incredible and gorgeous jacket! Thank you for a wonderful review. Quick question- did you base the sizing off of the high bust or the full bust? I am hoping for this to become my next project.
11/12/05 2:32 PM
Danvillegirl said...
I really like what you did with this jacket and the fabric. Nice idea for me to copy.I am finishing my second jacket from this pattern. I really like the pattern. I know you will love a jacket for yourself.
11/13/05 6:22 AM
Diane E said...
Lori, this is just beautiful!! Lucky for me I have this pattern, and you have pushed me enough to make it. I am so inspired! Lucky dd!
11/13/05 7:29 PM
yarnivore said...
You did a very stylish job piecing those two fabrics -- I love the result! The bust cup sizing in such a fitted jacket sounds like a great idea.
11/16/05 2:46 PM
GorgeousFabrics said...
I love that pattern and I love your treatment of it! Deborah at Simplicity told us on our tour that they are coming out with more cup-sized patterns in the next catalogues. I can't wait! -Ann
11/16/05 2:55 PM
cboots said...
Just beautiful! Although the shape of the jacket is already really flattering, the two fabrics make it so much more interesting. She must love it.
11/16/05 10:28 PM
patsijean said...
If you had not told us that the two-color styling of the jacket was out of necessity, I would never have guessed. The effect is stylish and looks planned. Don't tell anyone else.
1/25/06 1:15 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

Online Sewing Classes
Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

Vogue Patterns 7610
photo
Review by velosewer on 4/11/09
Read Review

SewBaby Blankie Buddies Pattern
SewBaby Blankie Buddies Pattern

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

JSM-Pant 1
JSM-Pant 1

Details
Price: $20.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Bluegingerdoll The Peggy Skirt Digital Pattern
Bluegingerdoll The Peggy Skirt Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $12.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver + S Playtime Dress, Tunic + Leggings Digital Pattern (5-12)
Oliver + S Playtime Dress, Tunic + Leggings Digital Pattern (5-12)

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

HotPatterns 1107
photo
Review by Sue Anfang on 2/19/11
Read Review

Burda 7378 Pattern
Burda 7378 Pattern

Details
Price: $9.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Butterick 5850 Pattern ( Size 16-18-20-22-24 )
Butterick 5850 Pattern ( Size 16-18-20-22-24 )

Details
Price: $18.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us