SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Bernina
Bernina

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 7977 (Capes)

2 more reviews
Viewed 1229 times 
Reviewed by:AndSewOn
photo

 
 
About AndSewOn
WA USA
Member since: 5/26/04
Reviews: 6 (patterns: 6)
Skill level:Intermediate
more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:11/9/05 0:56 AM
Last Updated:1/29/06 3:53 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 8 people    Very Helpful by 9 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Patterns from the Past


vintage sewing patterns
Deals!

Reconstructing History


Historical Patterns
Web site

Nature's Fabrics


Natural & Organic Fabrics
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
21 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
ACB said... (12/19/06 8:04 PM) Reply
This is absolutely beautiful! I love it.
BeckyC said... (1/29/06 7:14 PM) Reply
Beautiful cape!
Laurie Lou said... (1/27/06 11:32 PM) Reply
Beautiful! Your cape will never go out of style. I was going through my mom's closet yessterday and came across a cape (Norwegian) that she got years (70's?) ago. It was so beautiful...I wore it today and I looked very current. Some fashions can be timeless and your cape is a true Classic!
Danvillegirl said... (11/13/05 6:23 AM) Reply
Lovely cape. Very helpful information you shared. Your first review was great. Keep on reviewing.
ryan's mom said... (11/10/05 5:26 AM) Reply
Beautiful cape!
PixieCat said... (11/10/05 4:57 AM) Reply
Your cape is gorgeous and you did such a beautiful job! I've been looking for something poncho-like but more sophisticated to make for my DS for Christmas. Here it is!
AndSewOn said... (11/9/05 3:13 PM) Reply
Linuxia, I measured the cape. With the button closure, it does overlap a little -- about 10 cm. The collar comes right to the front edge. But I don't see why you couldn't extend the front edges a little to create a slightly bigger overlap. I would think this would work because the front facings are separate. Then you would need to redraft the facings along the front edge to take into account the extension.
Diana M said... (11/9/05 1:56 PM) Reply
What everyone said! Stunning job, thanks to you this pattern is going on my wish list.
MaryLynn in Long Beach said... (11/9/05 1:35 PM) Reply
BEAUTIFUL cape and work. Great review. Thank you so much. This is the exact style (hood with sleeves) that i've been huntin for a raincoat. LOVE IT>
pterion said... (11/9/05 1:10 PM) Reply
What a beautiful (and warm-looking) cape! I love this. You did a great job on the cape and on the review.
Linuxia said... (11/9/05 11:36 AM) Reply
Wonderful review! I love capes and have made a few free-hand, but am wondering how to make one with front edges that overlap by about 20cm.
McKavity said... (11/9/05 10:55 AM) Reply
I love capes too. Great review and a lovely cape!
sew obsessed said... (11/9/05 10:39 AM) Reply
Wonderful cape and great first review. Michelle
PVA said... (11/9/05 9:32 AM) Reply
Thanks for your review -- the cape is lovely! I agree with your point about making it reversible & I love your plaid lining. I'm looking forward to more of your reviews!
Jennifer shaw said... (11/9/05 9:13 AM) Reply
Wow, what a gorgeous cape! I wish it was colder here in SF, because I am a cape wearer too! Thanks for your review.
beangirl said... (11/9/05 8:39 AM) Reply
well, while capes are actually not my favorite at any time (also ponchos... *shudder*), I absolutely LOVE your attitutde about wearing them. I think everyone should have things in their wardrobe that they can say "so there!" about. This is a lovely cape and looks like it's very well constructed (and nice and warm too). Great idea about making it reversable!
Mary Stiefer said... (11/9/05 8:04 AM) Reply
A well written review and a great looking cape.
Lisette said... (11/9/05 7:29 AM) Reply
Congratulations on your first review, it is well written with lots of info. Your cape is lovely, enjoy it.
Cornelia said... (11/9/05 6:07 AM) Reply
I don't know about the brains, but in addition to enthusiasm you certainly do have skill. Your cape is beautiful and your construction does justice to that gorgeous wool. Beautiful cape and a very nice review.
Geri Lynn said... (11/9/05 5:48 AM) Reply
Very nice looking! I like the way you think as far as things that aren't really the current style. I tend to be the same way, I wear what I like and not what others dictate. You did a great job on the cape and it looks real classy.
CarolynGM said... (11/9/05 5:39 AM) Reply
Great first review. I don't think your cape will ever go out of style. It is lovely. Thanks for the details on the techniques you used. Please keep writing reviews.
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

Class Details

Online Class
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Class Details

Simplicity 3726

photo
by: LauraJ

Review
Islander Sewing Systems Irish Coat Pattern Pattern

Islander Sewing Systems Irish Coat Pattern Pattern

Pattern Details
Petite Plus 603 Pattern

Petite Plus 603 Pattern

Pattern Details