SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 7977 (Capes)

2 more reviews
Viewed 1229 times 
Reviewed by:AndSewOn
photo

 
 
About AndSewOn
WA USA
Member since: 5/26/04
Reviews written: 6
Sewing skills:Intermediate
patterns reviewed: 6
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:11/9/05 0:56 AM
Last Updated:1/29/06 3:53 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 8 people    Very Helpful by 9 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
21 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
ACB said...
This is absolutely beautiful! I love it.
12/19/06 8:04 PM
BeckyC said...
Beautiful cape!
1/29/06 7:14 PM
Laurie Lou said...
Beautiful! Your cape will never go out of style. I was going through my mom's closet yessterday and came across a cape (Norwegian) that she got years (70's?) ago. It was so beautiful...I wore it today and I looked very current. Some fashions can be timeless and your cape is a true Classic!
1/27/06 11:32 PM
Danvillegirl said...
Lovely cape. Very helpful information you shared. Your first review was great. Keep on reviewing.
11/13/05 6:23 AM
ryan's mom said...
Beautiful cape!
11/10/05 5:26 AM
PixieCat said...
Your cape is gorgeous and you did such a beautiful job! I've been looking for something poncho-like but more sophisticated to make for my DS for Christmas. Here it is!
11/10/05 4:57 AM
AndSewOn said...
Linuxia, I measured the cape. With the button closure, it does overlap a little -- about 10 cm. The collar comes right to the front edge. But I don't see why you couldn't extend the front edges a little to create a slightly bigger overlap. I would think this would work because the front facings are separate. Then you would need to redraft the facings along the front edge to take into account the extension.
11/9/05 3:13 PM
Diana M said...
What everyone said! Stunning job, thanks to you this pattern is going on my wish list.
11/9/05 1:56 PM
MaryLynn in Long Beach said...
BEAUTIFUL cape and work. Great review. Thank you so much. This is the exact style (hood with sleeves) that i've been huntin for a raincoat. LOVE IT>
11/9/05 1:35 PM
pterion said...
What a beautiful (and warm-looking) cape! I love this. You did a great job on the cape and on the review.
11/9/05 1:10 PM
Linuxia said...
Wonderful review! I love capes and have made a few free-hand, but am wondering how to make one with front edges that overlap by about 20cm.
11/9/05 11:36 AM
McKavity said...
I love capes too. Great review and a lovely cape!
11/9/05 10:55 AM
sew obsessed said...
Wonderful cape and great first review. Michelle
11/9/05 10:39 AM
PVA said...
Thanks for your review -- the cape is lovely! I agree with your point about making it reversible & I love your plaid lining. I'm looking forward to more of your reviews!
11/9/05 9:32 AM
Jennifer shaw said...
Wow, what a gorgeous cape! I wish it was colder here in SF, because I am a cape wearer too! Thanks for your review.
11/9/05 9:13 AM
beangirl said...
well, while capes are actually not my favorite at any time (also ponchos... *shudder*), I absolutely LOVE your attitutde about wearing them. I think everyone should have things in their wardrobe that they can say "so there!" about. This is a lovely cape and looks like it's very well constructed (and nice and warm too). Great idea about making it reversable!
11/9/05 8:39 AM
Mary Stiefer said...
A well written review and a great looking cape.
11/9/05 8:04 AM
Lisette said...
Congratulations on your first review, it is well written with lots of info. Your cape is lovely, enjoy it.
11/9/05 7:29 AM
Cornelia said...
I don't know about the brains, but in addition to enthusiasm you certainly do have skill. Your cape is beautiful and your construction does justice to that gorgeous wool. Beautiful cape and a very nice review.
11/9/05 6:07 AM
Geri Lynn said...
Very nice looking! I like the way you think as far as things that aren't really the current style. I tend to be the same way, I wear what I like and not what others dictate. You did a great job on the cape and it looks real classy.
11/9/05 5:48 AM
CarolynGM said...
Great first review. I don't think your cape will ever go out of style. It is lovely. Thanks for the details on the techniques you used. Please keep writing reviews.
11/9/05 5:39 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

Class Details

Online Class
Put it on the Bias
Put it on the Bias

Class Details

Victory Lola Paper Pattern

Victory Lola Paper Pattern

More Info
You Sew Girl 100mm Shell Purse Pattern

You Sew Girl 100mm Shell Purse Pattern

More Info
BurdaStyle Magazine 06-2011-104

photo
by: sandramary

Review