Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Vogue Patterns: 7977 (Capes) - Type:Coat/Jacket    printable version
Viewed 1229 times 2 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 8 people    Very Helpful by 9 people   
Reviewed by:AndSewOn
photo
About AndSewOn
WA USA
Member since: 5/26/04
Reviews written: 6
Sewing skills:Intermediate
patterns reviewed: 6
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:11/9/05 0:56 AM
Last Updated:1/29/06 3:53 PM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
21 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
CarolynGM said...
Great first review. I don't think your cape will ever go out of style. It is lovely. Thanks for the details on the techniques you used. Please keep writing reviews.
11/9/05 5:39 AM
Geri Lynn said...
Very nice looking! I like the way you think as far as things that aren't really the current style. I tend to be the same way, I wear what I like and not what others dictate. You did a great job on the cape and it looks real classy.
11/9/05 5:48 AM
Cornelia said...
I don't know about the brains, but in addition to enthusiasm you certainly do have skill. Your cape is beautiful and your construction does justice to that gorgeous wool. Beautiful cape and a very nice review.
11/9/05 6:07 AM
Lisette said...
Congratulations on your first review, it is well written with lots of info. Your cape is lovely, enjoy it.
11/9/05 7:29 AM
Mary Stiefer said...
A well written review and a great looking cape.
11/9/05 8:04 AM
beangirl said...
well, while capes are actually not my favorite at any time (also ponchos... *shudder*), I absolutely LOVE your attitutde about wearing them. I think everyone should have things in their wardrobe that they can say "so there!" about. This is a lovely cape and looks like it's very well constructed (and nice and warm too). Great idea about making it reversable!
11/9/05 8:39 AM
Jennifer shaw said...
Wow, what a gorgeous cape! I wish it was colder here in SF, because I am a cape wearer too! Thanks for your review.
11/9/05 9:13 AM
PVA said...
Thanks for your review -- the cape is lovely! I agree with your point about making it reversible & I love your plaid lining. I'm looking forward to more of your reviews!
11/9/05 9:32 AM
sew obsessed said...
Wonderful cape and great first review. Michelle
11/9/05 10:39 AM
McKavity said...
I love capes too. Great review and a lovely cape!
11/9/05 10:55 AM
Linuxia said...
Wonderful review! I love capes and have made a few free-hand, but am wondering how to make one with front edges that overlap by about 20cm.
11/9/05 11:36 AM
pterion said...
What a beautiful (and warm-looking) cape! I love this. You did a great job on the cape and on the review.
11/9/05 1:10 PM
MaryLynn in Long Beach said...
BEAUTIFUL cape and work. Great review. Thank you so much. This is the exact style (hood with sleeves) that i've been huntin for a raincoat. LOVE IT>
11/9/05 1:35 PM
Diana M said...
What everyone said! Stunning job, thanks to you this pattern is going on my wish list.
11/9/05 1:56 PM
AndSewOn said...
Linuxia, I measured the cape. With the button closure, it does overlap a little -- about 10 cm. The collar comes right to the front edge. But I don't see why you couldn't extend the front edges a little to create a slightly bigger overlap. I would think this would work because the front facings are separate. Then you would need to redraft the facings along the front edge to take into account the extension.
11/9/05 3:13 PM
PixieCat said...
Your cape is gorgeous and you did such a beautiful job! I've been looking for something poncho-like but more sophisticated to make for my DS for Christmas. Here it is!
11/10/05 4:57 AM
ryan's mom said...
Beautiful cape!
11/10/05 5:26 AM
Danvillegirl said...
Lovely cape. Very helpful information you shared. Your first review was great. Keep on reviewing.
11/13/05 6:23 AM
Laurie Lou said...
Beautiful! Your cape will never go out of style. I was going through my mom's closet yessterday and came across a cape (Norwegian) that she got years (70's?) ago. It was so beautiful...I wore it today and I looked very current. Some fashions can be timeless and your cape is a true Classic!
1/27/06 11:32 PM
BeckyC said...
Beautiful cape!
1/29/06 7:14 PM
ACB said...
This is absolutely beautiful! I love it.
12/19/06 8:04 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Online Sewing Classes
Altering Jackets
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $59.00)
Altering Jackets

Burda 8155 Skirt
photo
Review by talesofawa... on 4/23/11
Read Review

Sewn Square One Upline Jacket Pattern
Sewn Square One Upline Jacket Pattern

Details
Price: $12.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Shapes Nine Lives Vest Pattern
Shapes Nine Lives Vest Pattern

Details
Price: $16.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Elaina Pintuck Party Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -12 years )
Peek-A Boo Elaina Pintuck Party Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -12 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Oxford Cap Digital Pattern ( Size newborn - child )
Peek-A Boo Oxford Cap Digital Pattern ( Size newborn - child )

Details
Price: $4.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue Patterns 1060 MISSES' COAT
photo
Review by Barbara V on 5/8/13
Read Review

Burda 7798 Pattern
Burda 7798 Pattern

Details
Price: $9.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 3575 Pattern ( Size XS-L-XS-XL 2 )
Simplicity 3575 Pattern ( Size XS-L-XS-XL      2 )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us