Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Burda: 3198 (Skirt) - Type:Skirts    printable version
Viewed 2135 times 2 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 13 people   
Reviewed by:Kay Y
photo
Friend of PR
About Kay Ystarstarstarstar
ON CANADA
Member since: 11/21/04
Reviews written: 183
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 263 people
patterns reviewed: 172
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:11/11/05 12:08 PM
Last Updated:6/5/06 9:27 PM


See other patterns in this category: Skirts    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
19 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Pam Z said...
Thanks for taking the time to review this skirt pattern, Kay. It's a great simple skirt in the knee length version you've made. Looks like you got a great fit too.
11/11/05 12:38 PM
GwenV said...
Good review, with helpful information. The length you chose is really nice on this skirt, and your fit looks fabulous. I can see where you would get a lot of use out of this pattern.
11/11/05 12:43 PM
Gerri sews said...
Wow! Your skirt looks much better than the pattern photo does. You're right, I would never have given this skirt a second glance, but it turned out great. Thanks for the review.
11/11/05 12:53 PM
bunz said...
Looks like you got a great fit. Thanks for bringing this pattern to our attention.
11/11/05 1:12 PM
CarolynGM said...
Great skirt and I never would have noticed this pattern without your review. Are the front darts as close to the side seams as they look in the picture? I used a Burda skirt pattern once that placed the darts much closer to the side seams than I was used to, and it turned out very well.
11/11/05 1:18 PM
Kay Y said...
Yes Irina - the front darts are quite close to the side seams. It looked odd but it works fine.
11/11/05 1:53 PM
Liana said...
Great skirt, and as you say, what a rotten picture they have on it. My favorite Burda pants pattern has the darts quite widely set, but they hit right about at the inner edge of my hip bones, and the fit is great. Maybe that's why. Thanks for the review and the heads up on this pattern. You look great!
11/11/05 2:04 PM
Mary Stiefer said...
Your skirt fits perfectly. What a nice additional to your wardrobe.
11/11/05 4:56 PM
slanden99 said...
Mcalls 4900 is very similar to this skirt. The darts are in normal places and the lengths give are normal. It's one of the 1.99 McCall easy patterns. This is a great looking skirt too.
11/11/05 6:51 PM
KarmenG said...
Nice skirt and good review Kay
11/11/05 10:28 PM
hongkongshopper said...
What a great basic pattern. Perfect for the office. Thanks for letting us know about the instructions.
11/12/05 5:40 PM
Lee Ann Hawkins said...
Nice review! I wear my simplist skirts like this over and over--
11/14/05 7:04 PM
Karla Kizer said...
I wonder if placing the darts close to the side seam helps eliminate the puffiness over the tummy that too many skirts have. V-e-r-y interesting....Your version looks perfect - so much better than the catalog picture that I have rejected numerous times. Burda should use your picture instead.
11/14/05 7:16 PM
Lorna C. Newman said...
Kay, I have signed up for this class in the New Year, he is still using the same pattern, thanks for the review, because I was not happy with the idea of using this pattern due to the length options!
12/12/05 11:26 AM
CarolynGM said...
This pattern will go flying out of the drawers of fabric stores everywhere after your update. Your latest version is sheer perfection in fit and line.
6/5/06 9:45 PM
Levone said...
Your latest version is very cute! I've had this pattern for a while now, but never thought of really using it. Thanks for reviewing it.
6/5/06 10:33 PM
AndreaP said...
What a wonderful skirt! I love the lining concept - can't wait to use it.
6/5/06 11:41 PM
wvsher said...
Lovely skirt. It's so nice to find a pattern that becomes a wardrobe staple.
6/6/06 8:54 AM
KarmenG said...
I agree with Irina - this will fly out the door because of your encouragement and tips. I love this new look. Thanks for all the info!
6/6/06 9:05 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Clone Your Favorite Garment
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $49.00)
Clone Your Favorite Garment

Online Sewing Classes
Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

Simplicity 9779
photo
Review by sunflower2... on 5/13/11
Read Review

Petite Plus 204 Pattern
Petite Plus 204 Pattern

Details
Price: $21.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

You Sew Girl 300mm Square Snap PATTERN ONLY Pattern
You Sew Girl 300mm Square Snap PATTERN ONLY Pattern

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Popover Sundress (FREE!)
Popover Sundress (FREE!)

Details
Price: $0
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Susie Sun Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )
Peek-A Boo Susie Sun Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Jalie 2565 Women's tops
photo
Review by novicesewi... on 2/27/10
Read Review

Simplicity 1391 Pattern ( Size ONE )
Simplicity 1391 Pattern ( Size ONE )

Details
Price: $18.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCalls 6142 Pattern ( Size 38-40 )
McCalls 6142 Pattern ( Size 38-40 )

Details
Price: $13.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us