Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Simplicity: OOP 7454 (Long Dress) - Type:Dresses    printable version
Viewed 880 times 1 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 5 people   
Reviewed by:SewVeryTall
photo
About SewVeryTallstarstarstarstar
NE USA
Member since: 3/2/04
Reviews written: 161
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 63 people
patterns reviewed: 80
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:11/13/05 6:51 AM
Last Updated:11/13/05 6:51 AM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
11 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Nickle said...
Very pretty dress- looks comfy. I like the fabric and the front facing stitched to the front side tip.
11/13/05 7:37 AM
Lori Sews said...
Looks very comfortable. I am impressed you kept this pattern for so long. Knowing me it would have been ruined or lost by now! :) I love the fabric.
11/13/05 8:25 AM
Jill Giard said...
I can't believe it! This was one of my favorites for a long time - wore it for high school graduation (1978) and later made it as a maternity dress. My pattern is long gone :( Thanks for the review and the walk down memory lane.
11/13/05 8:35 AM
bunz said...
I still have this one too, Ardis!! You must be very warm-blooded for a long poly-cotton to be sufficient in the winter. (Maybe you've got red long johns on underneath:-) Love the fabric.
11/13/05 9:32 AM
Mary Stiefer said...
You have really made this pattern pay off. What a great looking dress. You've been very busy sewing.
11/13/05 10:17 AM
drsue said...
Loved your review! some designs are classics and this is clearly one of them.
11/13/05 10:20 AM
thaiyal said...
Oh my! You bought this pattern on the same year I was born. It amazes me to see that you've kept it so safe all these years. It is a beautiful dress.
11/13/05 11:37 AM
ryan's mom said...
Lovely dress. Great style, especially with those halter straps crisscrossing in the back. So many of these styles today seem to be knotting at the neck or center back which can be quite a pain when sitting.
11/14/05 5:42 AM
SewVeryTall said...
Thank you all for the nice comments! Jill and Bunz...it's so cool that you remember this pattern [and Bunz still has it!]. Thaiyal...I was actually expecting someone to comment that this pattern was as old, or older than them, lol. I have to add...when I put this pattern back in its envelope, I still fold it up on its original fold lines [maybe that's why it's lasted so long? ...well that AND scotch tape!].
11/14/05 5:46 AM
Oopsy-Daisy! said...
Hey, I still have my prom dress pattern! Butterick Designer Gil Aimbez. It was a 2 piece top/skirt. In fact, it's still in DD's closet. Those 70's patterns are great! And as I knocked the box off the shelf and spilled this pattern and others, I felt like I was meeting long lost "friends"
11/14/05 1:34 PM
PVA said...
Thanks for this review! I love your dress. Oh, how I wish I had saved all those patterns! Alas, they only exist in my memories. (& that's a sometimes-thing, at best!)
12/5/05 10:18 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Create a Jacket Muslin
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Create a Jacket Muslin

Online Sewing Classes
Altering Jackets
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $59.00)
Altering Jackets

Kwik Sew 2767 nightgown
photo
Review by MaryLynn i... on 6/27/06
Read Review

Peek-A Boo Evelyn Dress and Swing Top Digital Pattern ( Size 18 mo -8 years )
Peek-A Boo Evelyn Dress and Swing Top Digital Pattern ( Size 18 mo -8 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sis Boom Marco Shirt for Men Digital Pattern
Sis Boom Marco Shirt for Men Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $10.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Butterick 5283
photo
Review by Amanda S. on 1/2/09
Read Review

Christine Jonson Double Collar Princess Jacket
Christine Jonson Double Collar Princess Jacket

Details
Price: $18.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Paradiso Designs Be Green Market Bag Pattern
Paradiso Designs Be Green Market Bag Pattern

Details
Price: $9.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue 1255 Pattern ( Size 12-14-16-18-20 )
Vogue 1255 Pattern ( Size 12-14-16-18-20 )

Details
Price: $32.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

New Look 6944 Pattern( Size 4-6-8-10-12-14-16 )
New Look 6944 Pattern( Size 4-6-8-10-12-14-16 )

Details
Price: $4.49
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us