SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Loes Hinse Designs> 5113 (Tuxedo Jacket)

4 more reviews
Viewed 2018 times 
Reviewed by:Peggy L
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Peggy Lstarstarstar
TN USA
Member since: 4/8/02
Reviews written: 109
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 43 people
patterns reviewed: 79
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:11/13/05 12:39 PM
Last Updated:11/13/05 1:08 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 5 people    Very Helpful by 14 people   
See other patterns in this category: Coat/Jacket    
Available for sale on PR: $16.00 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $16.00 (See envelope)Click to Buy
 
<< Previous      Next >>
26 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Lori Sews said...
Peggy, your jacket is beautiful! The fabric and style is so attractive. Congrats for finishing your jacket. I loved the class. My review is soon to come. :)
11/13/05 12:52 PM
CatherineN said...
Pretty jacket. Your choice of fabric makes a cosy looking garment.
11/13/05 1:07 PM
Tiner W said...
It's beautiful!
11/13/05 1:20 PM
bunz said...
Wowza! Terrific jacket. That technique is great, isn't it?
11/13/05 1:33 PM
PVA said...
Thanks for this review, Peggy. Your jacket is beautiful! Like you, I really love the SNF technique for jackets & am planning to make another as soon as I finish the black pants I'm working on. Gotta get those done, need them really bad!
11/13/05 1:41 PM
Nickle said...
Love the style of your jacket and the fabric.
11/13/05 2:13 PM
Patti B said...
Lovely jacket and the inside looks great too. Congrats for the first review from this class -- is there a prize? ;-) Hope to finish my SNF jacket soon!
11/13/05 2:36 PM
CarolynGM said...
Thanks for your review of this jacket, Peggy. Sounds like I really need to find out more about the stitch and flip technique. Your jacket looks wonderful, inside and out.
11/13/05 4:19 PM
ktsews2 said...
Peggy, I made the same jacket in Shannon's class. Your fabric is lovely and the technique is great! I haven'nt mastered the computer-photo thing so I can't post my picture. I need a class in that. LOL
11/13/05 4:37 PM
TarheelSewer said...
Peggy, you did a great job with your jacket. Wasn't the class great? Based on your review, the Tuxedo Jacket is going to be my next snf jacket. Congratulations on a great jacket!
11/13/05 5:12 PM
Danvillegirl said...
I am glad to see your jacket from SNF. I am still working on mine. Your jacket looks great. This jacket is my next planned one and I plan to use the SNF method as you did. Thanks for showing the binding.
11/13/05 5:22 PM
Modiste Madness said...
Simple but elegant jacket. It is going to look great for many different kinds of occasions. I have been considering this one; I may have to give in.
11/13/05 5:48 PM
Peggy L said...
Thanks everyone. Yes, I loved this class. I should have explained SNF - it is a method of lining a jacket as you go rather than inserting a whole separate lining. Lots of us just finished a class Shannon Gifford taught. I'm waiting to see all the other jackets!
11/13/05 6:07 PM
eleda said...
Peggy, your jacket is beautiful. You did a wonderful job. I am still working on mine.
11/13/05 6:36 PM
jlg said...
Great looking jacket. I really like this fabric with it.
11/13/05 7:03 PM
PegL said...
Your jacket is gorgeous! I'm convinced! I have to take Shannon's jacket class....as soon as I complete her muslin fit class! First things first!
11/13/05 8:39 PM
Lalena said...
Peggy: Your jacket looks lovely. I took the snf class too, but have a few more steps to finish. I was planning to use the Tuxedo jacket for my next project, so I enjoyed your review. I too like LH patterns, but hate unlined jackets, so snf is a great solution. When you say you added to the collar, you mean width, right?
11/14/05 7:05 AM
SuzanM said...
Beautiful jacket. I was in the class too and just finished my jacket (review to be posted soon). Just looked at your other reviews - you have some lovely fabrics in your stash.
11/14/05 8:33 AM
Moxie said...
Very nice jacket. I like how you did the lining and bound the edges. It looks very professional.
11/14/05 9:45 AM
Glenda of CO said...
Cute jacket. But what is FBA?
11/14/05 11:10 AM
Peggy L said...
Lalana - I added to the width of the collar. When you get your pattern, you will see the part that folds down behind your neck is very narrow. I used one of the thicker fabrics listed is why I added to it. Glenda - FBA is 'full bust adjustment". This pattern is drafted for a "B" and I am a D. Thanks for the nice comments! This was a fun jacket to make.
11/14/05 12:10 PM
sprKathleen said...
Peggy, congratulations on a beautiful job! I loved the snf class, too. Hope to post my review soon (got to finish sewing first). The beautiful photos make me want to try this pattern with snf.
11/14/05 6:45 PM
Karla Kizer said...
Peggy, I love your jacket - very Chico's (my shorthand for wearable, attractive, practical but elegant.) The fabric is really great.
11/15/05 7:12 PM
Liane M said...
Peggy.. Love the review and your jacket. I bought this fabric yesterday at Textile Fabrics. I have wanted it every since I first read your review. How did you pretreat the fabric? I'm making Louise Cutting's By Popular Demand and hope to wash it.
1/22/06 1:21 PM
AnneM said...
Your picture links are now defunct. I plan to make this shortly, and will keep the collar info in mind.
9/9/07 5:58 PM
AnneM said...
Oooh, I'm glad you fixed the pictures. That is beautiful.
9/10/07 7:59 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Sewing Basics
Sewing Basics

Register

Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

Register

Vogue Patterns 7853

photo
by: JillyBe

Review
Sew Chic The Tia Dress Pattern (ln1312)

Sew Chic The Tia Dress Pattern (ln1312)

Buy Now
Shapes High Five Jacket Pattern

Shapes High Five Jacket Pattern

Buy Now