SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Loes Hinse Designs> 5113 (Tuxedo Jacket)

4 more reviews
Viewed 2023 times 
Reviewed by:Peggy L
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Peggy Lstarstarstar
TN USA
Member since: 4/8/02
Reviews written: 109
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 43 people
patterns reviewed: 79
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:11/13/05 12:39 PM
Last Updated:11/13/05 1:08 PM




Buy Pattern
Review Rating: Helpful by 5 people    Very Helpful by 14 people   
See other patterns in this category: Coat/Jacket    
Available for sale on PR: $16.00 Pattern Details
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $16.00 Pattern Details
<< Previous      Next >>
26 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
AnneM said...
Oooh, I'm glad you fixed the pictures. That is beautiful.
9/10/07 7:59 AM
AnneM said...
Your picture links are now defunct. I plan to make this shortly, and will keep the collar info in mind.
9/9/07 5:58 PM
Liane M said...
Peggy.. Love the review and your jacket. I bought this fabric yesterday at Textile Fabrics. I have wanted it every since I first read your review. How did you pretreat the fabric? I'm making Louise Cutting's By Popular Demand and hope to wash it.
1/22/06 1:21 PM
Karla Kizer said...
Peggy, I love your jacket - very Chico's (my shorthand for wearable, attractive, practical but elegant.) The fabric is really great.
11/15/05 7:12 PM
sprKathleen said...
Peggy, congratulations on a beautiful job! I loved the snf class, too. Hope to post my review soon (got to finish sewing first). The beautiful photos make me want to try this pattern with snf.
11/14/05 6:45 PM
Peggy L said...
Lalana - I added to the width of the collar. When you get your pattern, you will see the part that folds down behind your neck is very narrow. I used one of the thicker fabrics listed is why I added to it. Glenda - FBA is 'full bust adjustment". This pattern is drafted for a "B" and I am a D. Thanks for the nice comments! This was a fun jacket to make.
11/14/05 12:10 PM
Glenda of CO said...
Cute jacket. But what is FBA?
11/14/05 11:10 AM
Moxie said...
Very nice jacket. I like how you did the lining and bound the edges. It looks very professional.
11/14/05 9:45 AM
SuzanM said...
Beautiful jacket. I was in the class too and just finished my jacket (review to be posted soon). Just looked at your other reviews - you have some lovely fabrics in your stash.
11/14/05 8:33 AM
Lalena said...
Peggy: Your jacket looks lovely. I took the snf class too, but have a few more steps to finish. I was planning to use the Tuxedo jacket for my next project, so I enjoyed your review. I too like LH patterns, but hate unlined jackets, so snf is a great solution. When you say you added to the collar, you mean width, right?
11/14/05 7:05 AM
PegL said...
Your jacket is gorgeous! I'm convinced! I have to take Shannon's jacket class....as soon as I complete her muslin fit class! First things first!
11/13/05 8:39 PM
jlg said...
Great looking jacket. I really like this fabric with it.
11/13/05 7:03 PM
eleda said...
Peggy, your jacket is beautiful. You did a wonderful job. I am still working on mine.
11/13/05 6:36 PM
Peggy L said...
Thanks everyone. Yes, I loved this class. I should have explained SNF - it is a method of lining a jacket as you go rather than inserting a whole separate lining. Lots of us just finished a class Shannon Gifford taught. I'm waiting to see all the other jackets!
11/13/05 6:07 PM
Modiste Madness said...
Simple but elegant jacket. It is going to look great for many different kinds of occasions. I have been considering this one; I may have to give in.
11/13/05 5:48 PM
Danvillegirl said...
I am glad to see your jacket from SNF. I am still working on mine. Your jacket looks great. This jacket is my next planned one and I plan to use the SNF method as you did. Thanks for showing the binding.
11/13/05 5:22 PM
TarheelSewer said...
Peggy, you did a great job with your jacket. Wasn't the class great? Based on your review, the Tuxedo Jacket is going to be my next snf jacket. Congratulations on a great jacket!
11/13/05 5:12 PM
ktsews2 said...
Peggy, I made the same jacket in Shannon's class. Your fabric is lovely and the technique is great! I haven'nt mastered the computer-photo thing so I can't post my picture. I need a class in that. LOL
11/13/05 4:37 PM
CarolynGM said...
Thanks for your review of this jacket, Peggy. Sounds like I really need to find out more about the stitch and flip technique. Your jacket looks wonderful, inside and out.
11/13/05 4:19 PM
Patti B said...
Lovely jacket and the inside looks great too. Congrats for the first review from this class -- is there a prize? ;-) Hope to finish my SNF jacket soon!
11/13/05 2:36 PM
Nickle said...
Love the style of your jacket and the fabric.
11/13/05 2:13 PM
PVA said...
Thanks for this review, Peggy. Your jacket is beautiful! Like you, I really love the SNF technique for jackets & am planning to make another as soon as I finish the black pants I'm working on. Gotta get those done, need them really bad!
11/13/05 1:41 PM
bunz said...
Wowza! Terrific jacket. That technique is great, isn't it?
11/13/05 1:33 PM
Tiner W said...
It's beautiful!
11/13/05 1:20 PM
CatherineN said...
Pretty jacket. Your choice of fabric makes a cosy looking garment.
11/13/05 1:07 PM
Lori Sews said...
Peggy, your jacket is beautiful! The fabric and style is so attractive. Congrats for finishing your jacket. I loved the class. My review is soon to come. :)
11/13/05 12:52 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Sewing Facings and Developing Facing Patterns
Sewing Facings and Developing Facing Patterns

Class Details

Online Class
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Class Details

Self Drafted Pattern 268394-1000

photo
by: wingamajig

Review
Petite Plus 605 Pattern

Petite Plus 605 Pattern

More Info
ZIPPERS - A downloadable Book by Shannon Gifford

ZIPPERS - A downloadable Book by Shannon Gifford

More Info
New Look 6205

photo
by: mnitts

Review