SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Simplicity> 4698 (Jacket)

31 more reviews
Viewed 1517 times 
Reviewed by:Patti B
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Patti Bstarstarstarstar
Member since: 9/29/02
Reviews written: 167
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 71 people
patterns reviewed: 139
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:11/14/05 10:06 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 10 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Patterns from the Past


vintage sewing patterns
Deals!

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
23 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Sherril Miller said...
Patti, we should be having a cold day or two very soon. I hope you can wear this jacket because I'm sure you'll be getting plenty of compliments. It looks great!
11/25/05 12:20 PM
PixieCat said...
What a beautiful jacket! The couching is such a nice touch.
11/15/05 5:32 PM
MaryBeth said...
Too pretty to not like. Hope you do get to wear it, the couching makes it special, Patti, well done!
11/15/05 6:59 AM
Danvillegirl said...
Wow!, Patti. Your jacket turned out great. I am still working on mine. Time has not been my friend of late. Love the embellishment.
11/15/05 5:34 AM
ryan's mom said...
Wow! Terrific job, PattiB. (Still working on mine... :( ) Your embellishments on it looks awesome!
11/15/05 5:17 AM
Jennifer shaw said...
Your jacket is beautiful! The embelishment is really what makes it so special. Thankss for your review.
11/14/05 7:57 PM
jlg said...
Great jacket, Patti. Thanks for the close-up of the couching. I love it.
11/14/05 5:50 PM
potter said...
WoW! What a beautiful design. Love your fabric and special touches. I've heard so much about this great pattern. I just might have to check it out! TFS
11/14/05 5:40 PM
sprKathleen said...
Patti, your jacket is gorgeous! Thanks for sharing the photo!
11/14/05 4:55 PM
Patti B said...
Thanks for all the kind words, sewists! Well, umjudis, I think I put all of the ease and then some into this pattern. It really looks much better in my muslin (at least the fit does). I liked it better with a closer fit. I made no adjustments. Probably could have shifted 1/2 inch to the back shoulder seam from the front but didn't. ;-)
11/14/05 4:20 PM
umjudis said...
Your couching and button accents add a unique touch to this jacket. Great job! I was wondering on the fit of this and checked back on a few other reviews of the same pattern. At the Sewing Expo here in Michigan, at the end of September, Simplicity had made this pattern up in all sizes. While the pattern says semi-fitted, I thought it more fitted, almost tight-fitted. The rep from Simplicity said they had taken all the ease out of the pattern and, of course, take that into consideration. Not too many other reviewers mentioned that but only said they liked the adjustment for the cup. Did you just do routine adjustments? I have the pattern but haven't made it up yet.
11/14/05 3:13 PM
Shannon Gifford said...
Excellent! YOu look smashing...and the jacket is beautiful:)
11/14/05 2:48 PM
Peggy L said...
Patti - it looks great. I love the embellishing - makes it a "one of a kind original". The class was fun!
11/14/05 12:17 PM
SuzanM said...
Your jacket turned out great! Love the embellishment. Thanks for sharing!
11/14/05 12:13 PM
SouthernStitch said...
This is original and spiffy looking!
11/14/05 12:12 PM
eleda said...
Patti, great job. Your jacket looks beautiful. I still have to work on mine.
11/14/05 11:14 AM
Lori Sews said...
Patti, beautiful job!
11/14/05 11:10 AM
sherri2sew said...
Couching & buttons make it special. Hope it fits to suit you over a sweater, it's a nice jacket.
11/14/05 11:09 AM
Frogstitcher said...
Very pretty jacket. Nice detailing.
11/14/05 11:05 AM
Mary Stiefer said...
You just continue to get better and better. The embellishments really making this jacket stand out.
11/14/05 10:49 AM
MickeyFan said...
This is a great looking jacket. I really like your embellishment.
11/14/05 10:49 AM
bunz said...
Great couching!! reallly adds some zing. Any chance you could just shorten the sleeves?
11/14/05 10:25 AM
G_l_e_n_d_a said...
Patti, the embellishment is fantastic! What a clever idea. It looks very nice on you.
11/14/05 10:14 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Fit the Tee to a T
Fit the Tee to a T

Class Details

Online Class
Leather 101
Leather 101

Class Details

Vogue Patterns 2948

photo
by: ChristmasH...

Review
Kwik Sew 2257

photo
by: Renren

Review
Jamie Christina Hooded Scarf Pattern (JC307HS)

Jamie Christina Hooded Scarf Pattern (JC307HS)

More Info
You Sew Girl 75mm Purse Frame Purse Pattern

You Sew Girl 75mm Purse Frame Purse Pattern

More Info