Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Simplicity: 4698 (Jacket) thumbsup - Type:Coat/Jacket    printable version
Viewed 1517 times 31 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 10 people   
Reviewed by:Patti B
photo
Friend of PR
About Patti Bstarstarstarstar
OR USA
Member since: 9/29/02
Reviews written: 162
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 70 people
patterns reviewed: 135
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:11/14/05 10:06 AM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
23 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
G_l_e_n_d_a said...
Patti, the embellishment is fantastic! What a clever idea. It looks very nice on you.
11/14/05 10:14 AM
bunz said...
Great couching!! reallly adds some zing. Any chance you could just shorten the sleeves?
11/14/05 10:25 AM
MickeyFan said...
This is a great looking jacket. I really like your embellishment.
11/14/05 10:49 AM
Mary Stiefer said...
You just continue to get better and better. The embellishments really making this jacket stand out.
11/14/05 10:49 AM
Frogstitcher said...
Very pretty jacket. Nice detailing.
11/14/05 11:05 AM
sherri2sew said...
Couching & buttons make it special. Hope it fits to suit you over a sweater, it's a nice jacket.
11/14/05 11:09 AM
Lori Sews said...
Patti, beautiful job!
11/14/05 11:10 AM
eleda said...
Patti, great job. Your jacket looks beautiful. I still have to work on mine.
11/14/05 11:14 AM
SouthernStitch said...
This is original and spiffy looking!
11/14/05 12:12 PM
SuzanM said...
Your jacket turned out great! Love the embellishment. Thanks for sharing!
11/14/05 12:13 PM
Peggy L said...
Patti - it looks great. I love the embellishing - makes it a "one of a kind original". The class was fun!
11/14/05 12:17 PM
Shannon Gifford said...
Excellent! YOu look smashing...and the jacket is beautiful:)
11/14/05 2:48 PM
umjudis said...
Your couching and button accents add a unique touch to this jacket. Great job! I was wondering on the fit of this and checked back on a few other reviews of the same pattern. At the Sewing Expo here in Michigan, at the end of September, Simplicity had made this pattern up in all sizes. While the pattern says semi-fitted, I thought it more fitted, almost tight-fitted. The rep from Simplicity said they had taken all the ease out of the pattern and, of course, take that into consideration. Not too many other reviewers mentioned that but only said they liked the adjustment for the cup. Did you just do routine adjustments? I have the pattern but haven't made it up yet.
11/14/05 3:13 PM
Patti B said...
Thanks for all the kind words, sewists! Well, umjudis, I think I put all of the ease and then some into this pattern. It really looks much better in my muslin (at least the fit does). I liked it better with a closer fit. I made no adjustments. Probably could have shifted 1/2 inch to the back shoulder seam from the front but didn't. ;-)
11/14/05 4:20 PM
sprKathleen said...
Patti, your jacket is gorgeous! Thanks for sharing the photo!
11/14/05 4:55 PM
potter said...
WoW! What a beautiful design. Love your fabric and special touches. I've heard so much about this great pattern. I just might have to check it out! TFS
11/14/05 5:40 PM
jlg said...
Great jacket, Patti. Thanks for the close-up of the couching. I love it.
11/14/05 5:50 PM
Jennifer shaw said...
Your jacket is beautiful! The embelishment is really what makes it so special. Thankss for your review.
11/14/05 7:57 PM
ryan's mom said...
Wow! Terrific job, PattiB. (Still working on mine... :( ) Your embellishments on it looks awesome!
11/15/05 5:17 AM
Danvillegirl said...
Wow!, Patti. Your jacket turned out great. I am still working on mine. Time has not been my friend of late. Love the embellishment.
11/15/05 5:34 AM
MaryBeth said...
Too pretty to not like. Hope you do get to wear it, the couching makes it special, Patti, well done!
11/15/05 6:59 AM
PixieCat said...
What a beautiful jacket! The couching is such a nice touch.
11/15/05 5:32 PM
Sherril Miller said...
Patti, we should be having a cold day or two very soon. I hope you can wear this jacket because I'm sure you'll be getting plenty of compliments. It looks great!
11/25/05 12:20 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $49.00)
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

Online Sewing Classes
Altering Pants
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $59.00)
Altering Pants

Burda 9792 Start3: Shirt
photo
Review by U. Chicago on 7/21/07
Read Review

Oliver + S School Bus T-Shirt Digital Pattern (5-12)
Oliver + S School Bus T-Shirt Digital Pattern (5-12)

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Sophia Scallop Skirt Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )
Peek-A Boo Sophia Scallop Skirt Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Self Drafted Pattern 0004 Flounce Skirt
photo
Review by Deepika on 9/2/06
Read Review

JSM-Pant 1
JSM-Pant 1

Details
Price: $20.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Petite Plus 303 Pattern
Petite Plus 303 Pattern

Details
Price: $21.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver + S Croquet Dress Pattern ( Size 6m-4 )
Oliver + S Croquet Dress Pattern ( Size 6m-4 )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCalls 6783 Pattern ( Size 2-3-4-5 )
McCalls 6783 Pattern ( Size 2-3-4-5 )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us