Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Kwik Sew: 3027(closest to) (Misses Shirts OOP(3067)) - Type:Tops    printable version
Viewed 1494 times
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 9 people   
Reviewed by:Carol Wisman
photo
About Carol Wismanstar
WA USA
Member since: 8/9/02
Reviews written: 46
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 10 people
patterns reviewed: 46
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:11/13/05 10:02 PM
Last Updated:2/14/14 8:37 PM
Project Photo:photo3

Pattern Photo:

Pattern Info provided by Carol Wisman

Pattern Rating:Great Wardrobe Builder
  • Tip: Press as you go
  • Current Tags What is a Tag:
    Fabric:Shirting - Cotton  [See other projects in this fabric]
    Related Links  
    Click on to add a link
    Update 2/14/14 Made from a mystery fabric bought for a song in Mexico. I could be a stretch linen. Anyway its more of a winter/fall weight. Made regular cuffs instead of frenchies.

    (Click on the lavender shirt above to see the red one)

    I also finally gave up on the " turn under a 1/4" and topstitch" for the collar band and front tab. Instead I opted to fell stitch these in place, then top stitch. I turns out much better, IMHO. Click here


    Pattern Description: Misses Shirts Designed for light to Med. Weight woven fabrics. 3067 is OOP,. MIsses semi fitted shirts with front panel seams and darts on back. Front tabs, double yoke, collar with collar stand, shaped hemline, and full length sleeves with fold up cuffs. View A has self fabric ruffles on upper front. View B has tucked upper front. View C has upper front trimmed with lace.
    Pattern Sizing:XS toXL, I used M

    Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it?Yes, except for my ommissions.

    Were the instructions easy to follow?Yes, and the drawings are very helpfull also. They also point out which pattern piece to use. i.e "the piece w/o interfacing"

    What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern?Clean finishes, fits great out of the enevelope, nice shaping.

    Fabric Used:Cotton shirting from Gorgeous Fabrics, which I absoulty love. Since its now fall, I'll have to put this in the "resort wear" department until spring.
    Pattern Alterations or any design changes you made: I wanted a classic button up shirt w/ a little flair. My ispiration came from a shop window in downtown Seattle. Then there was an article about the shirt creator in the PI a year or so ago... http://seattlepi.nwsource.com/lifestyle/189945_shirts.html
    (Sorry, can't get it to link, but you can cut and paste)
    The how to fake it part is what caught my eye. Any way, I deleted the front ruffles/pleats, and morphed the 3 front sections into one piece. Added a front waist dart. The closest current pattern in KS also has a bust dart, which would make the shape even nicer.Hemmed AFTER sewing side/arm seam for a clean finish.
    This pattern has great garment design, covered s/a's in the yoke and cuffs. A smaller under collar, collar stand, turn back cuffs,
    Would you sew it again? Would you recommend it to others? Yes! I have made a classis white, black and a light blue wearable muslin.

    ConclusionVery similar in details to 3027, except for ruffles. I will probably wear this with the collar up, (which will remind me to use care in figuring out the inside and outside of the collar when attaching my "Carol Anne" tags. I made a "foe pa" and its on the outside
    thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
    Merchants on PR
    Victoria Jones Collection
    Timeless Hawaiian styles
    Web site
    So Vintage Patterns
    Thank You for Joining!
    Deals!
    Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
    Made In Australia
    Deals!
    << Previous      Next >>
    16 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
    Mufffet said...
    Beautiful! Lovely fabric and color an looks so well made!
    11/13/05 11:03 PM
    Lori Sews said...
    Beautiful! Color, fabric, cuffs, collar--all gorgeous!
    11/13/05 11:16 PM
    eleda said...
    Great review and beautiful blouse.
    11/14/05 7:39 AM
    PVA said...
    This is a beautiful shirt, thanks for the review. I appreciate the "slide show" & am very impressed with the result of your working with this pattern.
    11/14/05 9:59 AM
    Elemenopeo said...
    So pretty.
    11/14/05 1:02 PM
    Levone said...
    Very nice shirt. I like your muslin version also. Did you have your tags custom made or embroider them yourself?
    11/14/05 7:15 PM
    Carol Wisman said...
    Thanks for nice your comments , I ordered the tags, usually you can find an order form at your LIFS :)
    11/14/05 8:31 PM
    Charlene McGill said...
    Nice blouse and beautiful color.
    10/8/08 3:09 PM
    Miss Fairchild said...
    Beautiful shirt. Great choice of fabric. I love how you "faked it".
    10/8/08 3:10 PM
    moushka said...
    Gorgeous! What a professional job you did. Great review.
    10/8/08 3:51 PM
    sewtime said...
    Beautiful top. Love the color and style.
    10/8/08 4:06 PM
    Tiner W said...
    What a beautiful shirt!
    10/8/08 4:09 PM
    Annette1 said...
    BEAUTIFUL blouse! Such a CLASSIC, and a lovely shade of lavender. :o)
    10/8/08 5:41 PM
    Lori V said...
    What a beautiful blouse.
    10/8/08 7:32 PM
    lilyofthevalley said...
    Crisp, pristine, and classic shirt. It looks flawless, indeed. And an excellent review, as always. Thanks for sharing this, Carol. Lovely, Lily
    10/8/08 8:50 PM
    Nana27 said...
    pretty blouse
    2/15/14 7:52 AM
    Login
    Online Sewing Classes
    Fit the Tee to a T
    Fee: $29.00
    (Regular $49.00)
    Fit the Tee to a T

    Online Sewing Classes
    Create a Jacket Muslin
    Fee: $29.00
    (Regular $49.00)
    Create a Jacket Muslin

    Self Drafted Pattern 188474-1000
    photo
    Review by starryfish on 9/16/11
    Read Review

    McCalls 4478 Pattern( Size ONE SIZE )
    McCalls 4478 Pattern( Size ONE SIZE )

    Details
    Price: $14.95
    Add to Bag Add to Bag

    McCalls 6652 Pattern ( Size XSM-SML-MED )
    McCalls 6652 Pattern ( Size XSM-SML-MED )

    Details
    Price: $17.95
    Add to Bag Add to Bag

    Jalie 2791
    photo
    Review by zoezmommy on 5/14/09
    Read Review

    Sis Boom Rosetta Bag Digital Pattern
    Sis Boom Rosetta Bag Digital Pattern

    Details
    Price: $8.00
    Add to Bag Add to Bag

    Sis Boom Shana Tunic Digital Pattern
    Sis Boom Shana Tunic Digital Pattern

    Details
    Price: $10.00
    Add to Bag Add to Bag

    Favorite Things Eco Market Tote Pattern
    Favorite Things Eco Market Tote Pattern

    Details
    Price: $14.00
    Add to Bag Add to Bag

    Favorite Things Little Hip Skirts Pattern
    Favorite Things Little Hip Skirts Pattern

    Details
    Price: $14.00
    Add to Bag Add to Bag


    Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
    Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us