Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
New Look: 6730 (Misses Knit Tops, Skirts, and) thumbsup - Type:Tops    printable version
  20 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 5 people   
Reviewed by:beangirl
photo
About beangirlstar
TX
Member since: 9/15/05
Reviews written: 26
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 10 people
patterns reviewed: 22
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:11/25/05 4:16 PM
Last Updated:11/26/05 10:00 PM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized 


See other patterns in this category: Coordinates    Loungewear    
Available for sale on PR: $4.49 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Buy this pattern for $4.49     Add to Bag Add to Bag
 
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
Sewn Square One
Patterns for Your Style.
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
8 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
bunz said...
Knit dresses are only flattering if you're a size 4, IMHO.
11/25/05 4:59 PM
G_l_e_n_d_a said...
If you like the fabric, you might convert it into a top and skirt. I have done that with a knit dress I picked up at the thrift store as an experiment. I would never wear the dress, and it was too tight in the abdomen, but it was long enough that I could cut off the bottom half, move it up, attach an elastic waist band, and it's not half bad.
11/25/05 5:44 PM
CatherineN said...
I like the neckline and you got a nice looking fit through the shoulders. The skirt included in the pattern has graceful lines. If you have enough fabric it would make a good matching outfit that would look like a dress.
11/25/05 7:29 PM
Katharine in BXL said...
I agree with Bunz. They're hard to wear for most of us. But nice try anyway! Glenda has a good salvage idea. Did you do a FBA? That might give you the proper chest room. Next time baste in the zipper area before sewing one in to check if you need it.
11/25/05 10:51 PM
PVA said...
Thanks for this very well-done review, I think the above comments have some really good ideas for a "save"! The fabric is such a pretty color & I'm certain very comfortable to wear. As a top & skirt it might turn into a real "keeper"!
11/25/05 11:49 PM
Georgene said...
In this type of knit dress, using an A-line skirt shape, rather than a straight skirt is generally more flattering. Then you don't need the walking slits, and the bottom falls in gentle folds. A center back seam can help by giving you the possibility to gently shape the waist in and add a bit extra at the seat if needed.
11/26/05 0:08 AM
beangirl said...
Georgene, thanks for the idea. I wasn't sure about the pegged skirt, so I thought I'd give it a try. I try to avoid a-line skirts generally out of habit because I swim in RTW a-lines and they're not flattering at all. Need to get out of that habit. All the "fix" ideas are good, I'm thinking I'll probably turn them both into shirts and be perfectly happy with them.
11/26/05 7:28 AM
Modiste Madness said...
Thanks for the honest and frank review. Sometimes we ALL learn more from from our attempts to make something work than the ones that everything went well. It is so much easier learning from someone else than having to make all the mistakes ourselves. I would be very happy that you came out of it with a t-shirt that you like and fits you fairly well. Too often we can't salvage anything. Your daughters t-shirt is adorable. I bet she loves it.
11/27/05 5:20 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Break your Serger Out of the Box
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Online Sewing Classes
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fee: $39.99
(Regular $39.99)
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

BurdaStyle Magazine 02-2013-107 Boucle Jacket
photo
Review by Jstarr4250 on 1/20/14
Read Review

Christine Jonson Wrap Dress
Christine Jonson Wrap Dress

Details
Price: $18.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sewing Workshop Verona Jacket & Coat
Sewing Workshop Verona Jacket & Coat

Details
Price: $22.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Oxford Cap Digital Pattern ( Size newborn - child )
Peek-A Boo Oxford Cap Digital Pattern ( Size newborn - child )

Details
Price: $4.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Stella Sun Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )
Peek-A Boo Stella Sun Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCall's 5103 Blouses
photo
Review by Cheryl Ree... on 12/5/06
Read Review

Simplicity 1642 Pattern ( Size 10-12-14-16-18 )
Simplicity 1642 Pattern ( Size 10-12-14-16-18 )

Details
Price: $2.49
Add to Bag Add to Bag

New Look 6939 Pattern( Size 8-10-12-14-16-18 )
New Look 6939 Pattern( Size 8-10-12-14-16-18 )

Details
Price: $4.49
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us