SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> New Look> 6730 (Misses Knit Tops, Skirts, and)

20 more reviews
Reviewed by:beangirl
photo

 
 
About beangirlstar
TX
Member since: 9/15/05
Reviews written: 26
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 10 people
patterns reviewed: 22
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:11/25/05 4:16 PM
Last Updated:11/26/05 10:00 PM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized 


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 5 people   
See other patterns in this category: Coordinates    Loungewear    
Available for sale on PR: $4.49 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $4.49 (See envelope)Click to Buy
 
<< Previous      Next >>
8 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
bunz said...
Knit dresses are only flattering if you're a size 4, IMHO.
11/25/05 4:59 PM
G_l_e_n_d_a said...
If you like the fabric, you might convert it into a top and skirt. I have done that with a knit dress I picked up at the thrift store as an experiment. I would never wear the dress, and it was too tight in the abdomen, but it was long enough that I could cut off the bottom half, move it up, attach an elastic waist band, and it's not half bad.
11/25/05 5:44 PM
CatherineN said...
I like the neckline and you got a nice looking fit through the shoulders. The skirt included in the pattern has graceful lines. If you have enough fabric it would make a good matching outfit that would look like a dress.
11/25/05 7:29 PM
Katharine in BXL said...
I agree with Bunz. They're hard to wear for most of us. But nice try anyway! Glenda has a good salvage idea. Did you do a FBA? That might give you the proper chest room. Next time baste in the zipper area before sewing one in to check if you need it.
11/25/05 10:51 PM
PVA said...
Thanks for this very well-done review, I think the above comments have some really good ideas for a "save"! The fabric is such a pretty color & I'm certain very comfortable to wear. As a top & skirt it might turn into a real "keeper"!
11/25/05 11:49 PM
Georgene said...
In this type of knit dress, using an A-line skirt shape, rather than a straight skirt is generally more flattering. Then you don't need the walking slits, and the bottom falls in gentle folds. A center back seam can help by giving you the possibility to gently shape the waist in and add a bit extra at the seat if needed.
11/26/05 0:08 AM
beangirl said...
Georgene, thanks for the idea. I wasn't sure about the pegged skirt, so I thought I'd give it a try. I try to avoid a-line skirts generally out of habit because I swim in RTW a-lines and they're not flattering at all. Need to get out of that habit. All the "fix" ideas are good, I'm thinking I'll probably turn them both into shirts and be perfectly happy with them.
11/26/05 7:28 AM
Modiste Madness said...
Thanks for the honest and frank review. Sometimes we ALL learn more from from our attempts to make something work than the ones that everything went well. It is so much easier learning from someone else than having to make all the mistakes ourselves. I would be very happy that you came out of it with a t-shirt that you like and fits you fairly well. Too often we can't salvage anything. Your daughters t-shirt is adorable. I bet she loves it.
11/27/05 5:20 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

Register

10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Register

Violette Field Threads Chloe

photo
by: guineveres...

Review
Sewing Workshop Inventor Shirt Pattern

Sewing Workshop Inventor Shirt Pattern

Buy Now
Sew Liberated Clara Dress Pattern

Sew Liberated Clara Dress Pattern

Buy Now