Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Self Drafted Pattern: 43769-1000 - Type:Formalwear    printable version
Viewed 1873 times
Review rated Very Helpful by 16 people   
Reviewed by:kwpanthermom
photo
About kwpanthermomstarstar
USA
Member since: 11/9/05
Reviews written: 31
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 32 people
patterns reviewed: 25
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:11/21/05 7:19 AM
Last Updated:11/16/05 9:58 PM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
43 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
MaryLynn in Long Beach said...
Stunning gown and great review!
11/16/05 9:47 PM
sew obsessed said...
Tres chic. The dress is gorgeous. Truely a labor of love.
11/16/05 10:07 PM
sue77 said...
Very hollywood glamour, gorgous unique design. I could easily see this one an actress on a red carpet.
11/16/05 10:21 PM
Leslie in Austin said...
D-a-a-a-n-g. That's amazing. Where do I place my order?
11/16/05 10:49 PM
Mary Stiefer said...
This is something we all strive for - a unique design all our own. Stunning.
11/16/05 10:53 PM
Eli said...
Jeez.... That IS STUNNING! I love the retro look and the cups and the back strapping is just what I would have wished for if I had someone to make my prom gown 12 years ago.
11/17/05 0:00 AM
PVA said...
This is just drop-dead-gorgeous! What a beautiful work of art! Your DD is a very lucky girl, thank you so much for sharing such a wonderful adventure with her & thanks for the incredible review!
11/17/05 0:03 AM
Mlle Laura said...
Absolutely beautiful!
11/17/05 0:09 AM
sewing girl said...
This dress should be in a fashion magazine! Elegant, unique - just beautiful. Excellent job - you both should be proud.
11/17/05 0:17 AM
Liana said...
Great dress! What a lucky daughter, and how nice that you can work together and come up with something so perfect. Love the color, too.
11/17/05 0:52 AM
goodworks1 said...
Wow! That's a great dress! The interesting thing about charmeuse is that it is SO drapey by itself (straight grain) that it positively slithers when it's on bias. I learned the hard way with a bias-cut blouse for a full-busted friend about 30 years ago. Yikes! :D
11/17/05 1:05 AM
ladybegood said...
I am in awe... Thank you for the detailed review. I didn't understand half of what I was reading (my ignorance; not your writing), but I was enthralled all the same. I can't wait until next prom!
11/17/05 1:17 AM
nibs'n'needles said...
Gorgeous and inspiring!
11/17/05 2:03 AM
Maychi said...
Stunning! Very glamurous!
11/17/05 3:06 AM
smallbod said...
beautiful dress - truly a labour of love. thank you for sharing your design journey - fascinating.
11/17/05 3:08 AM
pharmercoon said...
WOW-Beautiful...and oh to have my high school body again! Kay
11/17/05 3:37 AM
Mel.J said...
Gorgeous! You & your daughter should collaborate & send in some designs to Burda mag :)
11/17/05 3:41 AM
KathleenS said...
That is gorgeous! Thanks for all the details too.
11/17/05 4:27 AM
noreend said...
Spectacular design and exectuion!
11/17/05 4:57 AM
Nickle said...
Absolutely gorgeous. Love the fabric.
11/17/05 5:31 AM
Danvillegirl said...
Truly gorgeous creation!
11/17/05 5:38 AM
ClaireC said...
Wos! Leary of working in bias after making a close-fitting silk charmeuse dress? Honey, you have made it to the land of advanced sewing and beyond. Stunning dress and thank you for the detailed review.
11/17/05 6:02 AM
JDpenelope said...
What a saga and what a dress. Your daughter looks like a shining Hollywood star.
11/17/05 6:05 AM
Gigi Louis said...
Stunning!
11/17/05 7:07 AM
Kerry O said...
Wow, what a gorgeous dress! Your daughter is very lucky to have such a talented and caring mom. It's beautiful and I am soooo impressed with your review!
11/17/05 7:25 AM
thaiyal said...
Wow! That IS stunning!
11/17/05 7:29 AM
Ceri590 said...
Truly amazing. What an incredibel design saga. Thank you for all the detail!
11/17/05 7:32 AM
mamakooz said...
Beautiful!! You did a wonderful thing for your dd.
11/17/05 7:46 AM
milwaukee_kelly said...
That is one beautiful gown! The results look to be very much worth all the effort.
11/17/05 7:55 AM
debbie.w said...
Gorgeous. Your daughter is a lucky girl and looks very sophisticated in her dress.
11/17/05 8:29 AM
MB at YarnUiPhoneApp said...
You might want to pick Alexandra's brain at evadress.com for more advice about sewing on the bias. She does some stunning 30s-style gowns. Here's an exquisite example:http://www.evadress.com/Bride.html btw, congrats on the gown. You not only made a dress you made memories, which is even more special. I hope you documented your journey!
11/17/05 8:59 AM
PhyllisC said...
Now THIS is a stunning piece of work and a true inspiration! NO ripples on the bias stitching ! - wow wow wow. Masterful, beautiful and drop dead grogeous.
11/17/05 9:16 AM
Mufffet said...
AWESOME job. Lovely gal in a lovely dress. What a Mom you are. It is great that you and your daughter have this relationship. My Mom made my prom dress so many years ago. It is a good memory.
11/17/05 9:17 AM
GorgeousFabrics said...
What a great review! Thanks for all the detail. Your daughter looks lovely, and your work is just breathtaking! -Ann
11/17/05 9:23 AM
GwenV said...
Informative review, stunning results. Thank you for sharing.
11/17/05 10:31 AM
kwpanthermom said...
Thank you all for your kind comments! Babepaley, thank you for your suggestion about evadress.com...I just recently was sent this site by a friend and enjoy looking at it. Yes, lots of memories making this dress...the drawings, the muslins, the frustration and tears...plenty of laughs, too, thank goodness, or we wouldn't be planning this year's Prom dress right now...
11/17/05 1:11 PM
casken said...
Drop dead gorgeous! Lucky girl!
11/17/05 1:38 PM
els said...
Thanks for sharing your adventures how you made this gorgeous prom dress, your daughter looks stunning. I am looking forward to see the next prom dress you are going to make from the “ombre silk”
11/17/05 5:09 PM
Anne Frances said...
Stunning - haute couture oscar winning red carpet stunning! Congratulations
11/18/05 4:12 AM
Valoir said...
Beautiful dress. It reminds me of my wedding gown (modified vogue 7387) I made this year. Working with the slippery fabric and on the bias required 4 muslins - I wish my mom had offered to sew it for me. Your daughter is so lucky.
11/18/05 10:21 AM
kwpanthermom said...
To Valoir: I just found your review for your wedding gown...it's GORGEOUS! I have that pattern in my stash and have wanted to try it. (I have attempted the other view and it was an utter mess.) I think your gown fits you so beautifully. I love the brooches and the back drape and godet...stunning modifications!
11/19/05 8:31 PM
Georgene said...
I am NOT showing this review to my DD! Egads! What if she wanted something similar? You did a great job, *both* of you.
11/19/05 8:52 PM
LorelleD said...
You wrote a terrific review and you made a beautiful gown for your daughter.
11/21/05 4:06 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
The Contemporary Couture Jacket
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Online Sewing Classes
Altering Pants
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $59.00)
Altering Pants

Simplicity 2406 Misses Dresses
photo
Review by BlossomKyl... on 5/29/11
Read Review

Oliver + S Music Class Blouse + Skirt Digital Pattern ( Size 5-12 )
Oliver + S Music Class Blouse + Skirt Digital Pattern ( Size 5-12 )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Classic T-Strap Booties Digital Pattern ( Size 3-18 mos )
Peek-A Boo Classic T-Strap Booties Digital Pattern ( Size 3-18 mos )

Details
Price: $3.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

BurdaStyle Magazine 06-2008-108
photo
Review by Amy-may on 10/6/08
Read Review

You Sew Girl Beret Pattern
You Sew Girl Beret Pattern

Details
Price: $15.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sewn Square One Swing Shift Pattern
Sewn Square One Swing Shift Pattern

Details
Price: $12.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCalls 5017 Pattern( Size ONE SIZE )
McCalls 5017 Pattern( Size ONE SIZE )

Details
Price: $16.25
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Kwik Sew 3513 Pattern
Kwik Sew 3513 Pattern

Details
Price: $11.49
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us