Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Silhouette Patterns: 250 (Pam's Blouse) - Type:Tops    printable version
Viewed 1148 times 2 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 10 people   
Reviewed by:Esmerelda Twinpalms
photo
About Esmerelda Twinpalms
CA USA
Member since: 9/14/05
Reviews written: 1
Sewing skills:Advanced Beginner
patterns reviewed: 1
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:11/21/05 7:23 AM
Last Updated:11/16/05 7:50 PM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized 
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
9 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Lorna C. Newman said...
This is a very detailed review and thanks for the warnings about the shoulders. I am glad to hear that the neckline draping worked out OK. That is something I have not yet found in another pattern. When you picked your size, did you pick according to your full bust size? Peggy's patterns have a different sizing system. The measurements on the pattern are finished garment measurements not body measurements. You may want to double check your size choice on your second one? I still get confused when looking at her patterns ... I can't wait to see the final results in this one as I have a number of her patterns.
11/16/05 6:24 PM
Esmerelda Twinpalms said...
Lorna, I cut a 7W which, according to the pattern jacket, should have been 48 inches around at the waist in the finished garment -- presumably with the double breasted button arrangement shown on the pattern. That would have given me 4 inches of ease at the waist, and I would have been happy with that. But the finished blouse as sewn up was too tight at the waist to overlap for double breasted buttons and would have been tight even with just one button. You're right, it's a confusing sizing system. But it was perfect through the bust.
11/16/05 7:40 PM
CatherineN said...
Good luck with your reworking the blouse. If you love the fabric, it will be worth the effort. Good, detailed review.
11/16/05 8:15 PM
diane s said...
I had the opposite problem with Nancy's blouse. It's a pullover tunic style and the size that fit was 1" larger than my actual bust.....I sized down 3 times, but finally got a nice fit. I don't know what to think about these patterns.
11/16/05 8:32 PM
Danvillegirl said...
This is a pattern line that many people seem to have great success with and others not. I have made two tops from two different Silhouette patterns, one fit great, the other was way off. It sounds like your project is still salvagable and hopefully reworking will result in something your like better.
11/17/05 5:45 AM
Mini said...
Thanks for a helpful and candid review. It always helps to know what the problems are, especially with expensive independent patterns. When pleats or other design features make flat pattern measurements difficult, sometimes you can pin up the pattern tissue for the pleats (or whatever), and then flat measure the result. A bit of a hassle, but it might help.
11/17/05 8:50 AM
AnneM said...
Sounds like you got a great blouse. I really like this neckline; perhaps when I feel up to it I might try it despite the problems with instructions. Good luck on your re-do of your top.
11/28/05 6:06 PM
lindarkv said...
I had PRECISELY the same problems with this pattern?.
8/20/06 7:11 PM
carol stone said...
I liked all the reviews. I think I'll use a so-so fabric and practice before I use the fabric I had picked out.
12/25/08 7:16 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
The Contemporary Couture Jacket
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Online Sewing Classes
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $49.00)
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

New Look 6370
photo
Review by julesberry on 4/7/07
Read Review

Favorite Things The Boot Slippers Pattern
Favorite Things The Boot Slippers Pattern

Details
Price: $14.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

You Sew Girl Beret Pattern
You Sew Girl Beret Pattern

Details
Price: $15.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Liesl + Co. Everyday skirt Digital Pattern
Liesl + Co. Everyday skirt Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $12.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Cool Cowl Tank
Cool Cowl Tank

Details
Price: $9.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Amy Butler AB042SW
photo
Review by diane s on 8/30/10
Read Review

Vogue 8873 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14-16 )
Vogue 8873 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14-16 )

Details
Price: $27.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCalls 6799 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12-14 )
McCalls 6799 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12-14 )

Details
Price: $17.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us