SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> Silhouette Patterns> 250 (Pam's Blouse)

2 more reviews
Viewed 1157 times 
Reviewed by:Esmerelda Twinpalms
photo

 
 
About Esmerelda Twinpalms
CA USA
Member since: 9/14/05
Reviews written: 2
Sewing skills:Advanced Beginner
patterns reviewed: 2
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:11/21/05 7:23 AM
Last Updated:11/16/05 7:50 PM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized 
Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 10 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
9 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Lorna C. Newman said...
This is a very detailed review and thanks for the warnings about the shoulders. I am glad to hear that the neckline draping worked out OK. That is something I have not yet found in another pattern. When you picked your size, did you pick according to your full bust size? Peggy's patterns have a different sizing system. The measurements on the pattern are finished garment measurements not body measurements. You may want to double check your size choice on your second one? I still get confused when looking at her patterns ... I can't wait to see the final results in this one as I have a number of her patterns.
11/16/05 6:24 PM
Esmerelda Twinpalms said...
Lorna, I cut a 7W which, according to the pattern jacket, should have been 48 inches around at the waist in the finished garment -- presumably with the double breasted button arrangement shown on the pattern. That would have given me 4 inches of ease at the waist, and I would have been happy with that. But the finished blouse as sewn up was too tight at the waist to overlap for double breasted buttons and would have been tight even with just one button. You're right, it's a confusing sizing system. But it was perfect through the bust.
11/16/05 7:40 PM
CatherineN said...
Good luck with your reworking the blouse. If you love the fabric, it will be worth the effort. Good, detailed review.
11/16/05 8:15 PM
diane s said...
I had the opposite problem with Nancy's blouse. It's a pullover tunic style and the size that fit was 1" larger than my actual bust.....I sized down 3 times, but finally got a nice fit. I don't know what to think about these patterns.
11/16/05 8:32 PM
Danvillegirl said...
This is a pattern line that many people seem to have great success with and others not. I have made two tops from two different Silhouette patterns, one fit great, the other was way off. It sounds like your project is still salvagable and hopefully reworking will result in something your like better.
11/17/05 5:45 AM
Mini said...
Thanks for a helpful and candid review. It always helps to know what the problems are, especially with expensive independent patterns. When pleats or other design features make flat pattern measurements difficult, sometimes you can pin up the pattern tissue for the pleats (or whatever), and then flat measure the result. A bit of a hassle, but it might help.
11/17/05 8:50 AM
AnneM said...
Sounds like you got a great blouse. I really like this neckline; perhaps when I feel up to it I might try it despite the problems with instructions. Good luck on your re-do of your top.
11/28/05 6:06 PM
lindarkv said...
I had PRECISELY the same problems with this pattern?.
8/20/06 7:11 PM
carol stone said...
I liked all the reviews. I think I'll use a so-so fabric and practice before I use the fabric I had picked out.
12/25/08 7:16 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Register

Leather 101
Leather 101

Register

Simplicity 9469

photo
by: Trephas200...

Review
You Sew Girl Draped T-Dress Pattern

You Sew Girl Draped T-Dress Pattern

Buy Now
Islander Sewing Systems Double Green Shopping Bag Pattern

Islander Sewing Systems Double Green Shopping Bag Pattern

Buy Now