SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> McCall's> 2723 (Sewing Room Accessories (hams))

5 more reviews
Viewed 1028 times 
Reviewed by:slanden99
photo

 
 
About slanden99starstarstarstar
TX USA
Member since: 9/14/05
Reviews written: 186
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 39 people
patterns reviewed: 162
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:11/17/05 11:03 AM
Last Updated:11/17/05 11:03 AM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 8 people   
See other patterns in this category: Crafts    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Nature\\'s Fabrics


Natural & Organic Fabrics
Deals!

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
8 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
MissMarnie said...
I just got this pattern. I'm looking forward to making myself some hams so I can press like a pro, even if I sew like a newbie :)
5/26/11 11:11 PM
Sherril Miller said...
I wonder if the wood shavings used for hamster cages would work? you could probably break it up with a rolling pin so that it became smaller crumbs, but not quite dust.
11/19/05 4:57 PM
ShereeSews said...
I enjoyed your helpful review. Have been wanting to make some hams from wool in my stash. Try asking at Home Depot, where they trim boards for customers, the sawdust gets vacummed into a bag!
11/18/05 9:19 PM
mamacita said...
Helpful review! For those of you yet planning on making some hams, I made two several years ago and I went to a lumber yard, asked, and with a shovel and paper bag I got as much sawdust as I could haul away...and it smelled so good too! Big lumber yards are happy to have you take it away!!
11/17/05 8:44 PM
bunz said...
Great fix using the sand! These are so easy, aren't they? congrats
11/17/05 5:40 PM
smallbod said...
What a great idea & timely too as I've been trying to justify cost of hams (over here much dearer). All I need now is to find some sand ........
11/17/05 4:22 PM
Evatgirl73 said...
Thanks for this timely review! This is on my short list as I really need some pressing hams but cannot bring myself to pay $15 for one... I have the sawdust drying as we speak! I had the same conundrum, couldn't figure out where to find sawdust, until I had a bright moment and went and asked one of the chainsaw artists close by... he said I could have as much as I wanted, and more! I only had a reg. plastic shopping bag with me, so that is full, but if I need more I know where to go, LOL!
11/17/05 2:43 PM
CyberNewt said...
Great idea- I wondered about the sawdust too. I do know someone who does woodwork and perhaps we should start selling it. My dad used to have a table saw and it had a collection area for sawdust and boy did it collect! Great review and your hams look wonderful!
11/17/05 12:44 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Break your Serger Out of the Box
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Class Details

Online Class
Bust Adjustments
Bust Adjustments

Class Details

Sewing Workshop Tamari Apron Pattern

Sewing Workshop Tamari Apron Pattern

More Info
Victory Hazel Paper Pattern

Victory Hazel Paper Pattern

More Info
BurdaStyle Magazine 07-2007-101

photo
by: liliv

Review