Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
McCall's: 2723 (Sewing Room Accessories (hams)) thumbsup - Type:Home Dec    printable version
Viewed 1027 times 5 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 8 people   
Reviewed by:slanden99
photo
About slanden99starstarstarstar
TX USA
Member since: 9/14/05
Reviews written: 186
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 39 people
patterns reviewed: 162
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:11/17/05 11:03 AM
Last Updated:11/17/05 11:03 AM


See other patterns in this category: Crafts    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
8 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
CyberNewt said...
Great idea- I wondered about the sawdust too. I do know someone who does woodwork and perhaps we should start selling it. My dad used to have a table saw and it had a collection area for sawdust and boy did it collect! Great review and your hams look wonderful!
11/17/05 12:44 PM
Evatgirl73 said...
Thanks for this timely review! This is on my short list as I really need some pressing hams but cannot bring myself to pay $15 for one... I have the sawdust drying as we speak! I had the same conundrum, couldn't figure out where to find sawdust, until I had a bright moment and went and asked one of the chainsaw artists close by... he said I could have as much as I wanted, and more! I only had a reg. plastic shopping bag with me, so that is full, but if I need more I know where to go, LOL!
11/17/05 2:43 PM
smallbod said...
What a great idea & timely too as I've been trying to justify cost of hams (over here much dearer). All I need now is to find some sand ........
11/17/05 4:22 PM
bunz said...
Great fix using the sand! These are so easy, aren't they? congrats
11/17/05 5:40 PM
mamacita said...
Helpful review! For those of you yet planning on making some hams, I made two several years ago and I went to a lumber yard, asked, and with a shovel and paper bag I got as much sawdust as I could haul away...and it smelled so good too! Big lumber yards are happy to have you take it away!!
11/17/05 8:44 PM
ShereeSews said...
I enjoyed your helpful review. Have been wanting to make some hams from wool in my stash. Try asking at Home Depot, where they trim boards for customers, the sawdust gets vacummed into a bag!
11/18/05 9:19 PM
Sherril Miller said...
I wonder if the wood shavings used for hamster cages would work? you could probably break it up with a rolling pin so that it became smaller crumbs, but not quite dust.
11/19/05 4:57 PM
MissMarnie said...
I just got this pattern. I'm looking forward to making myself some hams so I can press like a pro, even if I sew like a newbie :)
5/26/11 11:11 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fee: $39.99
(Regular $39.99)
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

Online Sewing Classes
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket

Self Drafted Pattern 117862-1008 lace skirt
photo
Review by French.Sea... on 9/16/13
Read Review

Pattern Runway Scalloped Hem Shorts Digital Pattern
Pattern Runway Scalloped Hem Shorts Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $9.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Angela Osborn Daisy Top Digital Pattern (SS10-11-104)
Angela Osborn Daisy Top Digital Pattern (SS10-11-104)

Details
Price: $9.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

New Look 6415 Pants
photo
Review by RuthieSews on 4/19/08
Read Review

Favorite Things Hushabye Baby Pattern
Favorite Things Hushabye Baby Pattern

Details
Price: $14.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

You Sew Girl Hobo Pattern
You Sew Girl Hobo Pattern

Details
Price: $22.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue 8822 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12-14 )
Vogue 8822 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12-14 )

Details
Price: $25.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCalls 6270 Pattern ( Size 1-2-3 )
McCalls 6270 Pattern ( Size 1-2-3 )

Details
Price: $13.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us