SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> McCall's> 2723 (Sewing Room Accessories (hams))

5 more reviews
Viewed 1027 times 
Reviewed by:slanden99
photo

 
 
About slanden99starstarstarstar
TX USA
Member since: 9/14/05
Reviews written: 186
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 39 people
patterns reviewed: 162
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:11/17/05 11:03 AM
Last Updated:11/17/05 11:03 AM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 8 people   
See other patterns in this category: Crafts    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
8 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
CyberNewt said...
Great idea- I wondered about the sawdust too. I do know someone who does woodwork and perhaps we should start selling it. My dad used to have a table saw and it had a collection area for sawdust and boy did it collect! Great review and your hams look wonderful!
11/17/05 12:44 PM
Evatgirl73 said...
Thanks for this timely review! This is on my short list as I really need some pressing hams but cannot bring myself to pay $15 for one... I have the sawdust drying as we speak! I had the same conundrum, couldn't figure out where to find sawdust, until I had a bright moment and went and asked one of the chainsaw artists close by... he said I could have as much as I wanted, and more! I only had a reg. plastic shopping bag with me, so that is full, but if I need more I know where to go, LOL!
11/17/05 2:43 PM
smallbod said...
What a great idea & timely too as I've been trying to justify cost of hams (over here much dearer). All I need now is to find some sand ........
11/17/05 4:22 PM
bunz said...
Great fix using the sand! These are so easy, aren't they? congrats
11/17/05 5:40 PM
mamacita said...
Helpful review! For those of you yet planning on making some hams, I made two several years ago and I went to a lumber yard, asked, and with a shovel and paper bag I got as much sawdust as I could haul away...and it smelled so good too! Big lumber yards are happy to have you take it away!!
11/17/05 8:44 PM
ShereeSews said...
I enjoyed your helpful review. Have been wanting to make some hams from wool in my stash. Try asking at Home Depot, where they trim boards for customers, the sawdust gets vacummed into a bag!
11/18/05 9:19 PM
Sherril Miller said...
I wonder if the wood shavings used for hamster cages would work? you could probably break it up with a rolling pin so that it became smaller crumbs, but not quite dust.
11/19/05 4:57 PM
MissMarnie said...
I just got this pattern. I'm looking forward to making myself some hams so I can press like a pro, even if I sew like a newbie :)
5/26/11 11:11 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Altering Jackets
Altering Jackets

Register

Bust Adjustments
Bust Adjustments

Register

Petite Plus 603 Pattern

Petite Plus 603 Pattern

Buy Now
You Sew Girl 75mm Purse Frame Purse Pattern

You Sew Girl 75mm Purse Frame Purse Pattern

Buy Now