SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Loes Hinse Designs> 5110 (Sweater Coat)

6 more reviews
Viewed 2117 times 
Reviewed by:MB at YarnUiPhoneApp
photo

 
 
About MB at YarnUiPhoneAppstar
Member since: 8/26/04
Reviews written: 31
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 14 people
patterns reviewed: 31
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:11/21/05 7:12 AM
Last Updated:1/2/06 4:43 PM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized Petite 


Review Rating: Helpful by 8 people    Very Helpful by 5 people   
See other patterns in this category: Coat/Jacket    
Available for sale on PR: $16.00 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $16.00 (See envelope)Click to Buy
 
<< Previous      Next >>
15 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Mini said...
Good job, and thanks for the creative suggestions. Knitting or crocheting to add details to sweater knits is a wonderful idea.
11/18/05 5:12 PM
CarolynGM said...
Your sweater coat looks much better than the pattern pictures. Nice fabric and much nicer collar.
11/18/05 7:01 PM
Georgene said...
Very nice. Fat chance you will get these ladies to stay away from EmmaOneSock, though.
11/18/05 7:20 PM
candyo said...
I thought that fabric looked familiar!!! haha I love your coat! And those chairs....
11/18/05 7:23 PM
Leora said...
I'm stalking the mailman for this pattern's arrival. Now, how did you do the collar exactly? Are you divulging your secrets by chance? I must figure out how to update the look. Great first review...keep 'em comin'!
11/18/05 8:27 PM
Linda E. said...
very very pretty sweater coat... The chairs are very interesting also...???
11/19/05 7:06 AM
lilhoney57 said...
Great review! You have some very creative ideas.
11/19/05 7:14 AM
MB at YarnUiPhoneApp said...
Thanks, all, for your comments. Leora, as for drafting the collar, I simply extended the line on the existing pattern piece about 4-5 inches until I thought it looked 70s enough. I also wanted to add that this sweater coat would look very contemporary with toggle buttons.
11/19/05 7:31 AM
Harriet Rogers said...
This looks super-creative: wonderful job. I have this pattern and a "knitty" type fabric for it, so I really appreciate your creative ideas. Now, to find the time to sew it up! Thanks for review.
11/19/05 10:03 AM
Tiner W said...
I really like it--it looks very artistic.
11/19/05 9:43 PM
AnneM said...
LOL Very cute review. Really nice looking garment. I like your idea on the hood. If you want to consider me a friend, feel free to make me one of these. ;)
11/23/05 3:58 PM
Jennifer shaw said...
It looks great on you!
11/26/05 6:53 PM
Gigi Louis said...
So pretty! How did I miss this review the first time around?
11/27/05 10:15 AM
violinit said...
Wow, absolutely stunning! Great review! I tried this pattern once with a wool jersey knit without much alteration and the result was okay. Now after seeing your works and tips, I canít wait to dig the pattern out again and try it YOUR way! Thanks again for sharing!
11/27/05 2:19 PM
Barbara at Cat Fur Studio said...
Thanks for the inspiration - your changes did take this pattern from ok to 'stunning'! The first sweater coat is Missoni-esque. Would think you'd have spent $1500 for that one at Niemans!
1/2/06 6:05 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Register

Clone Your Favorite Garment
Clone Your Favorite Garment

Register

Islander Sewing Systems Jacket Express Pattern

Islander Sewing Systems Jacket Express Pattern

Buy Now
Pants Fitting DVD

Pants Fitting DVD

Buy Now
brerrabbit.com Bow-Tied Blouse

photo
by: Bex81

Review