SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> Loes Hinse Designs> 5110 (Sweater Coat)

6 more reviews
Viewed 2117 times 
Reviewed by:MB at YarnUiPhoneApp
photo

 
 
About MB at YarnUiPhoneAppstar
Member since: 8/26/04
Reviews written: 31
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 14 people
patterns reviewed: 31
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:11/21/05 7:12 AM
Last Updated:1/2/06 4:43 PM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized Petite 


Review Rating: Helpful by 8 people    Very Helpful by 5 people   
See other patterns in this category: Coat/Jacket    
Available for sale on PR: $16.00 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $16.00 (See envelope)Click to Buy
 

Merchants on PR

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

Gwyn Hug


Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
15 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Mini said...
Good job, and thanks for the creative suggestions. Knitting or crocheting to add details to sweater knits is a wonderful idea.
11/18/05 5:12 PM
CarolynGM said...
Your sweater coat looks much better than the pattern pictures. Nice fabric and much nicer collar.
11/18/05 7:01 PM
Georgene said...
Very nice. Fat chance you will get these ladies to stay away from EmmaOneSock, though.
11/18/05 7:20 PM
candyo said...
I thought that fabric looked familiar!!! haha I love your coat! And those chairs....
11/18/05 7:23 PM
Leora said...
I'm stalking the mailman for this pattern's arrival. Now, how did you do the collar exactly? Are you divulging your secrets by chance? I must figure out how to update the look. Great first review...keep 'em comin'!
11/18/05 8:27 PM
Linda E. said...
very very pretty sweater coat... The chairs are very interesting also...???
11/19/05 7:06 AM
lilhoney57 said...
Great review! You have some very creative ideas.
11/19/05 7:14 AM
MB at YarnUiPhoneApp said...
Thanks, all, for your comments. Leora, as for drafting the collar, I simply extended the line on the existing pattern piece about 4-5 inches until I thought it looked 70s enough. I also wanted to add that this sweater coat would look very contemporary with toggle buttons.
11/19/05 7:31 AM
Harriet Rogers said...
This looks super-creative: wonderful job. I have this pattern and a "knitty" type fabric for it, so I really appreciate your creative ideas. Now, to find the time to sew it up! Thanks for review.
11/19/05 10:03 AM
Tiner W said...
I really like it--it looks very artistic.
11/19/05 9:43 PM
AnneM said...
LOL Very cute review. Really nice looking garment. I like your idea on the hood. If you want to consider me a friend, feel free to make me one of these. ;)
11/23/05 3:58 PM
Jennifer shaw said...
It looks great on you!
11/26/05 6:53 PM
Gigi Louis said...
So pretty! How did I miss this review the first time around?
11/27/05 10:15 AM
violinit said...
Wow, absolutely stunning! Great review! I tried this pattern once with a wool jersey knit without much alteration and the result was okay. Now after seeing your works and tips, I canít wait to dig the pattern out again and try it YOUR way! Thanks again for sharing!
11/27/05 2:19 PM
Barbara at Cat Fur Studio said...
Thanks for the inspiration - your changes did take this pattern from ok to 'stunning'! The first sweater coat is Missoni-esque. Would think you'd have spent $1500 for that one at Niemans!
1/2/06 6:05 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Register

10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Register

Christine Jonson Easy Coat

Christine Jonson Easy Coat

Buy Now
Acrylic Base In 5 Sizes

Acrylic Base In 5 Sizes

Buy Now
Self Drafted Pattern 235056-1008

photo
by: Quickie

Review