Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Loes Hinse Designs: 5110 (Sweater Coat) thumbsup - Type:Activewear    printable version
Viewed 2116 times 6 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 8 people    Very Helpful by 5 people   
Reviewed by:MB at YarnUiPhoneApp
photo
About MB at YarnUiPhoneAppstar
Member since: 8/26/04
Reviews written: 31
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 14 people
patterns reviewed: 31
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:11/21/05 7:12 AM
Last Updated:1/2/06 4:43 PM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized Petite 


See other patterns in this category: Coat/Jacket    
Available for sale on PR: $16.00 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Buy this pattern for $16.00     Add to Bag Add to Bag
 
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
15 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Mini said...
Good job, and thanks for the creative suggestions. Knitting or crocheting to add details to sweater knits is a wonderful idea.
11/18/05 5:12 PM
CarolynGM said...
Your sweater coat looks much better than the pattern pictures. Nice fabric and much nicer collar.
11/18/05 7:01 PM
Georgene said...
Very nice. Fat chance you will get these ladies to stay away from EmmaOneSock, though.
11/18/05 7:20 PM
candyo said...
I thought that fabric looked familiar!!! haha I love your coat! And those chairs....
11/18/05 7:23 PM
Leora said...
I'm stalking the mailman for this pattern's arrival. Now, how did you do the collar exactly? Are you divulging your secrets by chance? I must figure out how to update the look. Great first review...keep 'em comin'!
11/18/05 8:27 PM
Linda E. said...
very very pretty sweater coat... The chairs are very interesting also...???
11/19/05 7:06 AM
lilhoney57 said...
Great review! You have some very creative ideas.
11/19/05 7:14 AM
MB at YarnUiPhoneApp said...
Thanks, all, for your comments. Leora, as for drafting the collar, I simply extended the line on the existing pattern piece about 4-5 inches until I thought it looked 70s enough. I also wanted to add that this sweater coat would look very contemporary with toggle buttons.
11/19/05 7:31 AM
Harriet Rogers said...
This looks super-creative: wonderful job. I have this pattern and a "knitty" type fabric for it, so I really appreciate your creative ideas. Now, to find the time to sew it up! Thanks for review.
11/19/05 10:03 AM
Tiner W said...
I really like it--it looks very artistic.
11/19/05 9:43 PM
AnneM said...
LOL Very cute review. Really nice looking garment. I like your idea on the hood. If you want to consider me a friend, feel free to make me one of these. ;)
11/23/05 3:58 PM
Jennifer shaw said...
It looks great on you!
11/26/05 6:53 PM
Gigi Louis said...
So pretty! How did I miss this review the first time around?
11/27/05 10:15 AM
violinit said...
Wow, absolutely stunning! Great review! I tried this pattern once with a wool jersey knit without much alteration and the result was okay. Now after seeing your works and tips, I canít wait to dig the pattern out again and try it YOUR way! Thanks again for sharing!
11/27/05 2:19 PM
Barbara at Cat Fur Studio said...
Thanks for the inspiration - your changes did take this pattern from ok to 'stunning'! The first sweater coat is Missoni-esque. Would think you'd have spent $1500 for that one at Niemans!
1/2/06 6:05 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Leather 101
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Leather 101

Online Sewing Classes
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket

Ottobre Design Magazine 06-2008-31
photo
Review by Christas on 1/31/09
Read Review

McCalls 6916 Pattern ( Size 2-3-4-5 )
McCalls 6916 Pattern ( Size 2-3-4-5 )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Kwik Sew 3781 Pattern
Kwik Sew 3781 Pattern

Details
Price: $11.49
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 9411
photo
Review by Teenie on 7/2/04
Read Review

Lily Bird Studio Amanda's Dress Digital Pattern
Lily Bird Studio Amanda's Dress Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $9.90
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simple Things Bibs and Booties Digital Pattern
Simple Things Bibs and Booties Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Shapes Three Fold Vest Pattern
Shapes Three Fold Vest Pattern

Details
Price: $16.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

JSM-Pant 1
JSM-Pant 1

Details
Price: $20.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us