Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Kwik Sew: 2015 (Misses' Jeans) thumbsup - Type:Pants    printable version
Viewed 1589 times 4 more reviews
Reviewed by:Rennie Ashby
photo
About Rennie Ashbystarstarstar
NC USA
Member since: 4/8/02
UnVerified member
Reviews written: 108
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 62 people
patterns reviewed: 84
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:9/15/02 7:11 PM
Last Updated:9/27/02 2:49 AM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
20 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
said...
Rennie - you are SO welcome. These look better than store-bought! I would go down a size if I were you - you can always add a little "in-case" at the side-seams for fine-tuning but that will give you a snugger fit through the derriere and legs. You have a great figure, show it off!
9/15/02 7:18 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Jeepers, Rennie, are you sure you haven't been moonlighting at Levi Strauss? Your jeans look so professional! I definitely think you should go for the leather!
9/15/02 8:25 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Rennie - beautiful job! You are a wonderful seamstress!! I really enjoy seeing all your creations.
9/15/02 8:54 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Rennie, those are the best looking custom made jeans I've ever seen! You did a great job - right down to the studs. Love the pic with the cowboy hat!
9/15/02 10:15 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Rennie, great jeans, you are a wonderful seamstress.
9/16/02 11:15 AM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Oooh, I love the fuchsia topstitching! You did a great job.
9/27/02 9:10 AM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Rennie - Your jeans looks great and also very professional.
9/27/02 10:10 AM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Rennie, Jeans look SO professional, and I love your sense of humor! :D
9/27/02 10:16 AM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
The fuschia topstiching is great!
9/27/02 12:28 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Rennie, I think the fuchsia looks cool.
9/27/02 1:51 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Beautiful jeans. The top stitching is very professional. Two thumbs up.
9/27/02 3:40 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Wow, Rennie! They look great on you and I also love the fuschia stitching!
9/27/02 6:29 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Rennie, those jeans fit you so well!!!
9/27/02 7:51 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Rennie, i looked at all 14 pics. and your good ! now thats how good i want to be at sewing some day! what kind of machine do you use ? especially for the jeans ? i would probably break my poor 'ole machine if i ever tried to sew jeans. all your items look very professional to me, very nice job.
9/28/02 2:01 AM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Wow, looks like the fushia TS was a hit. I new I liked it. Maria, the truth is I have a little army of machines in my sewing room. For the Jeans I've been using my semi-industrial (Bernina 950) and my Pfaff 7570 for TS. Actually I've been doing some TS with my coverstitch on my Evolve. You cando this on home machines. Just go slow and use a 16 denim needle. A wad of fabric or a hump jumper is helpful behind the presser foot when going over a thick seam. I like the tex 30 thread for TS. A little heavier than regular sewing thread. I get mine from Zipperstop on Ebay. Jeans are surprisingly easy to sew!
9/28/02 10:16 AM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Rennie, both pairs of jeans look great, although I'm especially intrigued by the fuschia topstitching. A very nice twist on the usual look--and since you seem to be able to whip out jeans at an admirable rate, you don't have to have them be as all-purpose as I usually aim for! Great work, and a really good, helpful review. Hooray for Kwik Sew!
9/28/02 2:23 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Rennie - how do you get the hardware to line up so perfectly? I have the hardest time with hardware such as snaps, grommets and studs. You do it so well - what’s your secret?
9/28/02 10:43 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Phyliss, I've got it down to a science. I mark a dot where I want the hardware with a chalk pencil and use an awl to make a hole there. Then, I stick the pointed nail like thing in the hole and the hardware on top and turn the project over so the nail like thing is now on top. Lastly, I put the project on a piece of scrap wood and take my small rubber mallet and give it a good bashing .
9/29/02 7:03 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
Lisette said...
Hi Rennie! I love your jeans! Where did you get the studs? I would like to use them in my jeans but don't know any sources. Thanks!
10/12/03 3:42 PM
Rennie Ashby said...
I got mine at JoAnn's but I believe you can find them at most any hardware store.
10/20/03 3:14 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $49.00)
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

Online Sewing Classes
Create a Jacket Muslin
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Create a Jacket Muslin

Folkwear 258
photo
Review by Annika on 6/28/08
Read Review

Burda 9491 Pattern
Burda 9491 Pattern

Details
Price: $9.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCalls 6084 Pattern ( Size LRG-XLG-XXL )
McCalls 6084 Pattern ( Size LRG-XLG-XXL )

Details
Price: $17.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Self Drafted Pattern 63953-1000 Judy Jetson
photo
Review by Pinkytoo on 10/30/06
Read Review

Sis Boom Marco Shirt for Men Digital Pattern
Sis Boom Marco Shirt for Men Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $10.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Blank Slate Clean Slate Pants/Shorts/Capris
Blank Slate Clean Slate Pants/Shorts/Capris

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

You Sew Girl Tulip Dress Pattern
You Sew Girl Tulip Dress Pattern

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sew Liberated Huck Finn Cap
Sew Liberated Huck Finn Cap

Details
Price: $11.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us