SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 7365 (Women's Dress)

10 more reviews
Viewed 1723 times 
Reviewed by:kwpanthermom
photo

 
 
About kwpanthermomstarstar
USA
Member since: 11/9/05
Reviews written: 31
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 32 people
patterns reviewed: 25
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:11/21/05 9:56 PM
Last Updated:11/21/05 10:13 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 10 people   
See other patterns in this category: Formalwear    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
18 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
oviedodeb said...
I'm getting ready to make this dress for my daughter's senior prom, and the detail of this review will help greatly!
2/29/08 9:37 PM
PearlGirl said...
Great story...what a fabulous friend you are! And to top it all off, the gown looks amazing. FANTASTIC choice of color! bravo!
1/11/07 6:30 PM
Dmd4106 said...
As my dd would say Divalicous! I see the lauching of a new On-line Fitting class.
11/23/05 1:18 PM
lilhoney57 said...
Just gorgeous!
11/23/05 5:34 AM
Levone said...
Wow, fabulous outcome!
11/22/05 11:06 PM
kwpanthermom said...
I don't think we spent more than 45 minutes fitting the muslin. I think it went so quickly because her mom had taken such precise measurements to start with and she and her daughter both had a good eye to how the gown should fit. We collaborated the following year for another gown, but someone other than her mother measured her that time (and that woman could sew) so my pattern preparation and muslin was WAY off...the woman had noted in her returned measurements, "I added room to grow"...for an evening gown?? and I had to guess a lot on the initial pattern prep. That internet fitting took over three hours. I have the fitting pictures, and if I ever find the finished gown pictures I'll review it because the fabric was incredible and it turned out beautiful. And I learned a lot more about fitting!
11/22/05 10:31 AM
Georgene said...
Oh my, what a wonderful story about the new uses of internet technology. I love the long distance fit session story. About how long do you think you spent online doing that fit session? Great idea, and well done, well done.
11/22/05 8:52 AM
casken said...
Stunning dress. I hope my dd wants me to make her prom dress one day. Excellent job!
11/22/05 8:24 AM
MB at YarnUiPhoneApp said...
maybe you can teach an online class here at Patternreview about sewing on the bias. Great job!
11/22/05 6:48 AM
noreend said...
WOW! THAT'S what friends are for. Superb job!
11/22/05 5:48 AM
ladybegood said...
You're my hero... so brave... so talented.
11/22/05 1:44 AM
Elona said...
Well, you're clear-sighted, goal-oriented, and obviously a genius! The mom ain't no slouch, either. This dress is gorgeous, just lovely. Congratulations to you all on this wonderful, joint effort. And, my, aren't human children beautiful?
11/21/05 11:50 PM
sew obsessed said...
What a special story and a beautiful gown. Such a wonderful fit. I'm sure your friend and her daughter will remember how gorgeous this dress is forever.
11/21/05 10:49 PM
PVA said...
Incredible! This is just the ultimate! Thanks so much for this review -- the dress is drop-dead-in-your-tracks stunningly beautiful! I love the color! Your work is beyond description! I can't imagine what this means to that lovely young girl, but you've earned extra stars on your crown when you get to Heaven!
11/21/05 10:31 PM
Leora said...
Unbelieveable how you can sew long distance and fit everything perfectly. What in inspiration to aspire toward that level of skill. Beautiful dress as usual!
11/21/05 10:28 PM
G_l_e_n_d_a said...
What an incredible story! I am soooo impressed with your talent.
11/21/05 10:16 PM
mlt said...
Oh, my goodness. You did that fitting via digital pictures and chat??? You are a very good friend and seamstress!
11/21/05 10:01 PM
sewlily said...
This is a beautiful dress and a beautiful gesture. I love the ruching or gathering in the back. What a knock out.
11/21/05 9:57 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket

Register

Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Register

Simplicity 2584

photo
by: Jstarr4250

Review
Self Drafted Pattern 224675-1005

photo
by: rmusic1

Review
Petite Plus 501 Pattern

Petite Plus 501 Pattern

Buy Now
J Stern Designs The Tee Paper Pattern

J Stern Designs The Tee Paper Pattern

Buy Now