SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> New Look> 6379 (Misses' Gowns and Jacket)

1 more reviews
Viewed 1540 times 
Reviewed by:Oziroo
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Oziroostar
NA AUSTRALIA
Member since: 9/7/03
Reviews written: 32
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 6 people
patterns reviewed: 32
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:11/22/05 5:18 AM
Last Updated:11/22/05 5:35 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 7 people   
See other patterns in this category: Coat/Jacket    Formalwear    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Patterns from the Past


vintage sewing patterns
Deals!

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Nature's Fabrics


Natural & Organic Fabrics
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
23 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
FlyNavyMom said...
Oh boy! Thanks for the review!!! I am also a standard size 8P. I looked at the measurements on the pattern and realize that I am also going to cut it out as a size 12 and go from there. Your end product is lovely and I'm going forward with my plans... only on a larger scale.
3/18/07 9:53 PM
SpitfireKate said...
Thank you for your sizing information. I'm planning on doing this for myself for my daughters wedding, and had I not read your warnings, I'd have just cut right in (jump in with both feet - why bother checking for sharks or anything else first, right?). Appreciate the info. You're outfit is lovely!!!!
11/19/06 10:02 PM
LauraTS said...
I am thinking of making the sheer jacket to go over a formal dress, so your review was very helpful - thanks.
9/14/06 8:46 PM
AnneM said...
That is lovely. Great look, wonderful fabric. It sounds like a do-able pattern now that we have your sizing warnings.
11/23/05 4:22 AM
KathleenS said...
Great outfit - it looks like it fits you so well (and the shoes are great as well).
11/23/05 3:09 AM
Schnauzer said...
Absolutely gorgeous! Lovely colour, style and beautifully sewn. Well done oziroo!
11/22/05 7:50 PM
Judy Williment said...
That is one beautiful outfit - you've done so well with such a challenging pattern!
11/22/05 6:19 PM
Vonnevo said...
Beautiful ! Colours and fabric are perfect. Can we put Franke Stuart in Melbourne on our PR weekend shopping tour list ?
11/22/05 6:10 PM
bunz said...
Turned out beautifully!! Enjoy the wedding.
11/22/05 12:29 PM
CatherineN said...
This is so pretty! You got a good fit and the fabric is delightful. Hand sewing gives one lots of control.
11/22/05 10:44 AM
PVA said...
Beautiful result! Thanks so much for the review, the the whole ensemble is just perfect. Very elegant!
11/22/05 10:20 AM
Elona said...
Wow, it came out beautifully! It looks terrific on you--very elegant. I love the colors.
11/22/05 10:13 AM
Lori Sews said...
The sequined fabric is so beautiful. Your ensemble looks gorgeous! You should be so proud.
11/22/05 9:55 AM
Sew it seams said...
Your dress and jacket are just beautiful. Perfect for that special day.
11/22/05 9:21 AM
JDpenelope said...
What a lot of work, but beautiful result. I, too, am learning that hand sewing can actually be a time-saving way to sew better garments.
11/22/05 9:10 AM
Georgene said...
Perfect MOB ensemble. No one will know that you had a heck of a time with it, it looks airy and beautifully effortless.
11/22/05 8:55 AM
Riordan said...
Your dress and jacket are lovely--perfect for the occasion! Wow!!!!!!
11/22/05 8:34 AM
Frogstitcher said...
The dress and jacket are stunning. All your fitting adjustments and careful stitching paid off. You look lovely.
11/22/05 8:27 AM
SewVeryTall said...
This is a beautiful outfit, so feminine...I just love the georgette jacket!
11/22/05 7:53 AM
Cambric Tea said...
The whole outfit is beautiful..And I think I want this jacket even though you've warned against it. (; It's so feminine and floaty!
11/22/05 7:17 AM
GorgeousFabrics said...
Well despite your tribulations, your final jacket turned out beautifully! Lovely job! -Ann
11/22/05 7:09 AM
Geordie Girl said...
It looks fantastic. Looks really great with the dress. It sounds like you had a lot of trouble but it was certainly worth it in the end.
11/22/05 6:35 AM
Ceri590 said...
It looks lovely and all the hard work was worth it. I am sure you would have preferred an easier way, though (-: I don't think I commented on the dress at the original review, but love the style and want to make soemthing like that for my daughter. Have fun at the wedding and congratulations to you and your son!
11/22/05 6:28 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Class Details

Online Class
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Class Details

SewBaby Bath Puppet Pals Pattern

SewBaby Bath Puppet Pals Pattern

More Info
You Sew Girl Kids Beret Pattern

You Sew Girl Kids Beret Pattern

More Info
Contest Pantone Color Contest

photo
by: Clareew

Review