SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Loes Hinse Designs> 5106 (Bolero Jacket)

23 more reviews
Viewed 2006 times 
Reviewed by:SuzanM
photo

 
 
About SuzanMstar
NE USA
Member since: 11/11/04
Reviews written: 12
Sewing skills:Intermediate
patterns reviewed: 10
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:11/22/05 2:08 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 6 people   
See other patterns in this category: Coat/Jacket    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
17 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Cultured Purl said...
Thank you kindly for the details you offered! I am late here but looking up reviews to re update this jacket for myself,,,,why had I NEVER thought to adds in seams ( CB) for shaping, or add darts as one other reviewer did! This is such a classic that many years later I am STILL looking up advice and I bet you are still wearing this jacket,,, it is beautiful!
3/15/12 2:43 AM
SueKing said...
Suzan - beautiful jacket! I am planning on making Textile Studio #1303 (Florence jacket) - it is not lined but I want to make it reversible. What is Shannon Gifford's stitch and flip method? Sue
12/8/06 3:53 PM
blue mooney said...
Very refined version of the Bolero. It looks like the kind of piece you will wear again and again. Thanks for the details on the alterations you did.
11/24/05 7:20 AM
Peggy L said...
This looks great. I have been wanting to make this variation. Love the buttons.
11/23/05 4:58 PM
MarionP said...
Hi Suzan-Nice Jacket-I'm curious about the felting treatment. What steps did you follow to felt your wool?
11/23/05 1:33 PM
Liana said...
Suzan, Your review is great! I didn't realize what pattern this was when I got to see it IN PERSON tonight. (All others, be very jealous.) It's even prettier in real life, and I have some of those buttons too! I'm sure Sew Creative will be happy to sell over the internet, but they're having trouble getting good photos of the buttons. They're almost like carnival glass in that they change colors with the angle. Very beautiful, and great on your jacket, especially!
11/23/05 0:08 AM
kathi s said...
I really like the way your jacket fits- I think it's a great improvement on the boxy original. How did the sleeves fit? Did you have to alter them?
11/22/05 11:19 PM
SuzanM said...
Thanks for your kind comments. The store is called Sew Creative, web site is www.sewcreative-ne.com. They don't sell over the internet but I will mention this to the owners. They are trying a lot of innovative things to spark interest in their store and sewing. They may be open to selling via the internet. I'll keep you posted.
11/22/05 9:40 PM
Modiste Madness said...
I love the addition of the buttons. They really change its look. I lost my Pendleton fabric source also. I understand from the store manager that only a few outlet stores carry the fabric now.
11/22/05 8:32 PM
Danvillegirl said...
Your jacket looks great! I really love the fabric. It is a shame the source has dried up. Love the adaptation and the use of buttons. Adds a lot more to the look of this jacket.
11/22/05 7:49 PM
Jennifer shaw said...
Thank you for sharing your review. That is one great looking jacket! I was wondering about adding buttonholes to this jacket!
11/22/05 7:13 PM
PVA said...
Lovely result, thanks for the review! I too would be interested if there is a web site for those buttons. To die for!
11/22/05 6:55 PM
kathleenb said...
I love your changes. The jacket is elegant. That CB seam sure makes a difference. Did you have to change the sleeve width at all?
11/22/05 6:34 PM
sidney said...
wonderful buttons--do they have a website?????
11/22/05 6:06 PM
Georgene said...
Looks good, even in the blurry photo. Now that's a tribute to a great jacket!
11/22/05 4:34 PM
Lisa Laree said...
This looks really good, Suzan, in spite of the camera ;) Was the only shaping you added at the CB? It really looks like it made a huge difference!
11/22/05 4:24 PM
SouthernStitch said...
Thanks for this review, I'm doing up my muslin right now, and I'm loving it.
11/22/05 4:09 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Bust Adjustments
Bust Adjustments

Class Details

Online Class
Break your Serger Out of the Box
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Class Details

Petite Plus 604 Pattern

Petite Plus 604 Pattern

More Info
SewBaby Snappy Wrap Pattern

SewBaby Snappy Wrap Pattern

More Info