Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
New Look: 6114 (Misses Dress, Jacket, Top and) - Type:Suits / Separates    printable version
Viewed 1142 times 3 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 4 people   
Reviewed by:Lori Sews
photo
About Lori Sewsstar
FL
Member since: 10/20/05
Reviews written: 12
Sewing skills:Advanced Beginner
Favored by: 4 people
patterns reviewed: 9
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:11/26/05 9:38 PM


See other patterns in this category: Coordinates    Dresses    Coat/Jacket    Suits / Separates    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
9 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
BjP said...
Thanks for a very honest review but don't be so hard on yourself! Sounds like you really gained a lot of experience and a jacket is never the easiest thing to make. I think you should make this up again, making all the adjustments you feel you needed in this one. I agree that the V-neck is a flattering style on you.
11/26/05 9:52 PM
PVA said...
Thanks for this review -- I took Shannon's class last time it was offered & I really like her SNF technique. I'm willing to bet you learned awhole lot more about sewing jackets than you even begin to realize yet! I like this pattern & I thank you for making me aware of it. I'm looking forward to more reviews from you.
11/26/05 10:15 PM
Leora said...
I think you did a great job. You are armed with so much more knowledge than you give yourself credit for. BjP is right in that you should make it again because it is flattering on you and only needs a little tweak here and there to be a perfect fit.
11/26/05 10:49 PM
Nickle said...
Well I think it looks nice on you- the style is tighter little jackets now but their not for everyone. It sounds like this was a good learning experience for you.
11/27/05 3:12 AM
Danvillegirl said...
Even though you are not quite happy with the jacket results. It is apparent that you know now what you need to do to get a better fit and what style you would want to try that is different from this one. Also learning a new technique and sewing a jacket for the first time is commendable. You are well on your way of getting the next one made to perfection.
11/27/05 6:45 AM
JDpenelope said...
Your ambition and determination are admirable in tackling this project. As others have said, armed with all you have learned, it might pay off handsomely if you tried again. I'm still working on fitting a muslin before tackling a jacket with my "good" fabric. You make me want to jump in and get on with it.
11/27/05 7:34 AM
ryan's mom said...
NurseLRT, your jacket looks great! Have your thought abut using one of those patterns that has the B/C/D cup fronts? Jacket patterns do tend to be on the small side these days--I had to pivot from the armhole on mine out an inch at the waist. That was even after using the D-cup front. I'm not used to these tiny jackets, so I think part of the adjustment is getting used to the way it feels. Do you think you will use this pattern for the Muslin class?
11/27/05 8:32 AM
Lori Sews said...
Thank you for the kind and encouraging comments. :) Ryan's Mom--I don't know if I will make this for the muslin class. I think I am going to start off with a very simple top with darts. I need to keep it simple. If I complete that, I think I may try another jacket pattern---maybe the one you used.
11/27/05 9:24 AM
Peggy L said...
Don't be so hard on yourself - it looks great and we all learned so much in that class. My solution for those tops I have that are just a bit tight is to wear them unbuttoned!! Beautiful color and style on you! Like Ryan's Mom said - you might try one with a fuller bust. The shoulders look like they fit really well. If you go up in size, it might be too big. Great review.
11/27/05 8:19 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
The Contemporary Couture Jacket
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Online Sewing Classes
Leather 101
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Leather 101

BurdaStyle Magazine 09-2007-105
photo
Review by Sigrid. on 10/2/07
Read Review

Angela Wolf The Fringe Skirt Digital Pattern (Print at Home)
Angela Wolf The Fringe Skirt Digital Pattern (Print at Home)

Details
Price: $12.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Chelsea Bubble Jumper Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )
Peek-A Boo Chelsea Bubble Jumper Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 2599
photo
Review by BeulahBirt... on 4/30/13
Read Review

Checkbook Cover
Checkbook Cover

Details
Price: $7.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

The City Bag
The City Bag

Details
Price: $8.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 1461 Pattern ( Size 20W-28W )
Simplicity 1461 Pattern ( Size 20W-28W )

Details
Price: $17.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Kwik Sew 4039 Pattern
Kwik Sew 4039 Pattern

Details
Price: $11.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us