Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
HotPatterns: Nirvana Twinset (Nirvana Twinset) - Type:Coat/Jacket    printable version
Viewed 1866 times 3 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 6 people    Very Helpful by 23 people   
Reviewed by:SewingSkater
photo
About SewingSkaterstarstar
MI USA
Member since: 1/5/05
Reviews written: 57
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 34 people
patterns reviewed: 45
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:11/30/05 8:43 PM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
45 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Mary Reed said...
WOW!!! Fabulous sweater - great fit and details. Your fabric choice was wonderful. Great review.
11/30/05 8:48 PM
jemgirlca said...
Thanks SS, I'm glad I get to be the first to leave a comment!! (darn, Mary beat me...) Anyway, It looks great and I love the leopard ribbons. I'm going to get this pattern on my next order, thanks to you!! :) I can see this being cute in lots of different color combinations and even with prints. So fun!! Good job on being so speedy getting this made up. Now I want to see the next pattern!! lol
11/30/05 8:49 PM
Tailypo said...
Wonderful!
11/30/05 8:52 PM
Vonnevo said...
Hot :))) Totally fabulous. Thanks for a wonderful review.
11/30/05 9:02 PM
touran said...
Very pretty.
11/30/05 9:05 PM
Lori V said...
Great job, very cute.
11/30/05 9:15 PM
Mary Stiefer said...
Well done. I like the leopard ties.
11/30/05 9:31 PM
zeoplum said...
I bet when they re-open for orders, this one will sell out again! You've made it even more appealing than it already was. Thanks for hurrying up and finishing. I saw your post on the mesg board and knew you were working on it so I'm glad to see it. Looks great...and I really love the ribbon ties! Gives it a lot of Vavoom. :-)
11/30/05 9:48 PM
beangirl said...
Brilliant! And I sort of like the single-faced ribbon, gives it a little extra kick.
11/30/05 9:55 PM
Katharine in BXL said...
This is so cool... you're right, the leopard print really sets it off.
11/30/05 10:13 PM
diane s said...
Thank you for the review...I was hoping someone would.... your top is stylish and looks great on you!
11/30/05 10:16 PM
PVA said...
Thanks for this review & ditto to all the above comments. Love it -- this HP is going to be around for a loooooong time!
11/30/05 10:17 PM
drsue said...
Looks fabulous! Great job. Even cuter than the fashion drawing.
11/30/05 10:56 PM
Modiste Madness said...
Wonderful sweater and I love the fun leopard print ties. It is a great design detail. It looks great on you too.
12/1/05 0:35 AM
nibs'n'needles said...
Very cute! Great color choices.
12/1/05 1:12 AM
KathleenS said...
I actually like the single-face ties - it adds another ingredient to the mix. Very stylish boutiquey top.
12/1/05 4:13 AM
jlg said...
This twinset is so adorable. Thanks for the review.
12/1/05 4:51 AM
CarolynGM said...
Very nice sweater - I especially like the contrast. How wonderful that it fit so well without alterations.
12/1/05 5:25 AM
Danvillegirl said...
I am glad to see your review. I wish I had purchased this pattern. I bought the Coco Twinset. I think it will make up okay too. My concern was fabric so glad to read you used a cotton knit. I think the jacket looks good on you and I like your ribbon ties.
12/1/05 5:29 AM
ClaireC said...
This is way too cute. Thanks for taking the challenge to make it up and review it. Yes, I'll be ordering also. The leopard ties look good and I don't like animal prints. ;o) PS. I like your new picture
12/1/05 6:01 AM
Nickle said...
Looks very nice on you. Enjoyed your review.
12/1/05 6:03 AM
Geri Lynn said...
Very sharp looking! Great job.
12/1/05 6:07 AM
Linda E. said...
great review cute sweater... I have this pattern now to get busy sewing it up.
12/1/05 6:42 AM
appleC said...
You look beautiful in that sweater, much much better than the pattern drawing.
12/1/05 6:51 AM
Sew Little Thyme said...
Great job! This turned out very cute! This has been on my "maybe" list but now that I see how cute it is I am going to have to move it to the "must have" list. Thanks SS! By the way the ties are very cute & even with the plain side showing. It looks to match the tan very well!
12/1/05 7:02 AM
Barbara at Cat Fur Studio said...
Wonderful! I think your ties add a perfect finishing touch.
12/1/05 7:24 AM
AnneM said...
Real cute. That looks even better than the pattern drawing.
12/1/05 7:34 AM
kethry said...
I am glad you reviewed this. I am iffy on boxy tops, but this looks great! I love your choice of fabrics and the leopard ties look great! Oo la la....
12/1/05 8:16 AM
Harriet Rogers said...
Fabulous: love the cool ties: you have a great top!
12/1/05 8:20 AM
Leora said...
The lines hit you perfectly everywhere and I love the sleeves with the band finish. It is great to know you didn't make any mods and it fit fine. Another great piece in your ever expanding wardrobe.
12/1/05 8:28 AM
Gigi Louis said...
Leslie, it looks great! This is one of the patterns I ordered last night. I have two gorgeous pieces of wool doubleknit earmarked for it (red and chocolate brown). I was worried it might be too boxy but it has a very nice shape.
12/1/05 8:29 AM
Deb Fox said...
I wasn't going to order any of these patterns for a while, but your twinset just looks fabulous! I have lots of knits I would like to use up and can think of a couple of combinations for this set! I think you did a wonderful job, and the leopard ribbon looks great. It adds a real couture touch to the piece, and makes it even trendier. Keep up the good work. I always enjoy reading your reviews. You do awesome work.
12/1/05 10:15 AM
SewingSkater said...
Thanks everyone for the wonderful comments! You've all made me feel better about the leopard print ribbon! :)
12/1/05 10:41 AM
Georgene said...
Very cute set! You might want to angle the ends of your ribbon so it doesnt fray. I have been eyeing that ribbon at my local independant fabric store. I love the little touch of wild.
12/1/05 10:51 AM
Lorna C. Newman said...
You are such an enabler ... I had resisted this one the first time around, but I may have to give in after Christmas... argh!!!!
12/1/05 11:21 AM
TarheelSewer said...
Very nice and great detailed review! Looks like another one to order!
12/1/05 11:38 AM
SewingSkater said...
Thanks Gorgene for reminding me to mention that... I had thought about angling the ends but then for some reason cut them blunt. I lit a tealight and ran the ends of the ribbon close to the edge of the flame, melting the poly just enough so they didn't fray. I might go back and angle them, though.
12/1/05 11:52 AM
Queendom said...
Too, too cute! I'm going to order it. I've been such a chicken waiting for everyone else to try HP first!
12/1/05 12:37 PM
GorgeousFabrics said...
Very lovely! I'm wondering (I haven't seen the pattern yet) if you could sew the contrast and the facing together, then serge them to the body of the sweater together, rather than stitch in the ditch. That is how it would be done in most RTW. Is that clear as mud? -Ann
12/1/05 2:36 PM
Sherril Miller said...
What a very stylish twin set. I'd love to have it, wonder if it'd work for an apple shaped gal like me?
12/1/05 4:45 PM
SewingSkater said...
Ann - I had thought about that, too. My only concern was what to do at the 90 degree corners. I am sure it would work, I was just too lazy to figure it out! Sherril - I think this would be a great jacket for an "apple". The boxy shape of it will give a longer line to the middle, and the contrast bands will draw the eyes up to the face. I would pair it with a good pair of bootcut pants for the best look. :)
12/1/05 5:47 PM
hongkongshopper said...
Fabulous! Your colour choice and the leopard ribbon are great! And we all love HP reviews!!!
12/1/05 11:58 PM
milwaukee_kelly said...
This is a great set; great job! It looks very Breakfast at Tiffany's glam.
12/2/05 8:29 AM
sew obsessed said...
Very, very cute. The ribbon is a very nice touch. Thanks for your review. Michelle
12/2/05 9:01 AM
ScotSkipper said...
Thanks for the tip on neckline interfacing.
8/21/06 12:45 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Altering Jackets
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $59.00)
Altering Jackets

Online Sewing Classes
Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

Vogue Patterns 1086 MISSES' DRESS
photo
Review by ohsewcraft... on 4/26/09
Read Review

Kwik Sew 2589 Pattern
Kwik Sew 2589 Pattern

Details
Price: $11.49
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue 1004 Pattern ( Size 22 )
Vogue 1004 Pattern ( Size 22 )

Details
Price: $20.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 2608
photo
Review by Steffie on 3/18/11
Read Review

Cool Cowl Tank
Cool Cowl Tank

Details
Price: $9.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

You Sew Girl Zip Away Shopping Bag Digital Pattern
You Sew Girl Zip Away Shopping Bag Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $8.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Favorite Things Little Nightie Night Pattern
Favorite Things Little Nightie Night Pattern

Details
Price: $14.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sew Chic Contance Dress Pattern (ln8404)
Sew Chic Contance Dress Pattern (ln8404)

Details
Price: $16.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us