Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Kwik Sew: 2694 (Wrap top) thumbsup - Type:Plus    printable version
Viewed 2016 times 106 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 4 people    Very Helpful by 22 people   
Reviewed by:Kerry O
photo
About Kerry Ostar
Member since: 4/24/05
Reviews written: 10
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 3 people
patterns reviewed: 9
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:12/1/05 1:54 PM
Last Updated:12/1/05 2:00 PM


See other patterns in this category: Tops    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
22 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Amy T said...
It looks very good indeed! I love the fabric. I have this pattern but haven't made it yet, so it is really helpful to see how it looks on another plus size body. Thanks!
12/1/05 2:16 PM
mamamaia said...
Lovely fabric and good review. The pink suits you very well. I really like the front view, so if you add your inches at the hips next time, you have a perfect and very cute top.
12/1/05 3:31 PM
Elemenopeo said...
Great save of the misplaced flower. The top looks good on you with that pretty fabric.
12/1/05 3:42 PM
sherri2sew said...
Thanks for sharing your review with us other fluffy ladies. I like the bright pink color on you.
12/1/05 3:49 PM
marya said...
I really admire the effort and determination that you put into making this work. Thanks for the review.
12/1/05 4:02 PM
Lori Sews said...
Kerry, this is a great top on you. I admire your perseverance to fix it! :) I noticed you lengthened the sleeve, but did you lengthen the bodice, or just leave it as is? If I may ask, how tall are you? I would love to make this up, but it may be a little short on me without lengthening.
12/1/05 4:08 PM
touran said...
Your top looks nicely fitted from the front - it looks really nice on you. You did a great job, a few more tweaks and it'll be perfect on the tushy too.
12/1/05 4:17 PM
Sherril Miller said...
I can see why you don't like this top, but I think it turned out great. Nice job on the FBA! Did you look at my review for this top. I added a ton to mine to give me a more body skimming top instead of one with negative ease. Also, you would benefit from a shaped back seam added to your patterns. I can see from your side view that you cannot effectively wear anything with a straight seam, you're so curvy.
12/1/05 4:33 PM
2BSewing said...
You did a great job on the knit top. It looks great on you. I like the fabric you selected. Nice color. Well done.
12/1/05 4:36 PM
Kerry O said...
You all are so nice - I am blushing! NurseLRT, I am 5'5" and I did not do any length adjustments to the bodice. If you are taller than I am, you may want to lengthen it - it's definitely on the shorter side of things. Sherrill, I did look at your review several times - I love how yours turned out! I am definitely very curvy...I will need to look into this shaped back seam adjustment. I am not sure if I have a "sway back" or not but I've always had this issue even when thin (most pants, for example, gap hugely in the waistband in the back in order to fit my behind....). It would be nice to be able to have pants that fit too after I get the shirts figured out!
12/1/05 4:54 PM
Nickle said...
I like that top on you- and I love the fabric. Very nice.
12/1/05 4:54 PM
Vonnevo said...
WOW..fabulous top. Even after reading your review, it is still WOW. Given all the little problems, you have a beautifully fitted and very stylish top. Congratulations :)
12/1/05 5:16 PM
potter said...
Great top Kerry. I love the style and color. I have this pattern and after reading your review - I'm moving it to the top of my to-do list. Thanks for the great review.
12/1/05 6:23 PM
G_l_e_n_d_a said...
Terrific review. I love it when people share how they recover from challenges. You did, and did it with brilliance. You're right - no one will ever know you did anything out of the ordinary with this. Thank you for sharing so candidly with us! It gives me hope.
12/1/05 7:09 PM
diane s said...
You put alot of work into your top, and it paid off, it looks great on you.
12/1/05 8:19 PM
BSYMPLS said...
Thanks for an excellent review and all the details you shared. Your extra effort paid off and your top looks great. I'm a plus size, too, and I've wondered if I could wear this style. After reading your review I intend to get this pattern and give it a try.
12/1/05 11:59 PM
Patzee said...
Very helpful review. I think you should reconsider your dressing style and make more tops like this. I find this style very flattering on you and the attactive design and fabric color looks terrific.You wear it well.
12/2/05 1:29 AM
fuzzygalore said...
Excellent job Kerry. I second the suggestion to wear more of the same :-). Good color is free, and you should take advantage of it...

You might find that your hems will rip out if you don't do -something- to allow them to stretch. If your machine can't sew a zig-zag without trouble, have you tried a step zigzag? It's got 3 stitches in one direction, 3 back etc, and it does stretch more than a straight stitch. You should also take some scraps and try a double needle. Modern machines have a slight path deviation so you can keep the 2 threads separate, but I've had some success threading both threads exactly together on older machines. If your machine has 2 places to put a spool, most likely it has some way to use a double needle too (and the flat part of the needle must face back, so the needles are perpendicular to you, you can see both clearly from the front). Once you're threaded, you're ready to go. This isn't foolproof (maybe I'm a brutal dresser :-)), but it works best in knits, short of a serger.

And give yourself an extra pat in the back for doing this out of what's really very difficult fabric. If you used a thick cotton knit (lycra blend?), you'd find it much easier to sew...
12/2/05 4:16 AM

AnneM said...
Great recovery on the print placement. The front looks great. The back is a touch tight but certainly wearable. I agree on the color - it's a good one for you.
12/2/05 5:04 AM
Mary Stiefer said...
Your top looks great. I can see that it slides up in the back a bit - but - with a few more adjustments you have something that could be a staple in your wardrobe. Good job.
12/2/05 9:51 AM
lisaquilts said...
Thanks for the great, detailed review. Congratulations on putting this great top together and being so brave about the alterations. You have the right attitude, a confident one, to make sewing work for you. Lovely fabric, btw. I look forward to reading more of your reviews.
12/27/05 8:42 AM
taylormade said...
Kerry, Thanks for the review. You were so right when you said it is best to BASTE when using a slippery fabric. I've been sewing for 40+ years, and it was a good reminder for me. The top fit you very well. You did a great job dealing with all the issues you encountered!
2/14/06 1:21 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Leather 101
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Leather 101

Online Sewing Classes
Bust Adjustments
Fee: $39.99
(Regular $39.99)
Bust Adjustments

HotPatterns 1047
photo
Review by Debra H on 7/27/07
Read Review

Peek-A Boo Oxford Cap Digital Pattern ( Size newborn - child )
Peek-A Boo Oxford Cap Digital Pattern ( Size newborn - child )

Details
Price: $4.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Blank Slate Super Skinny Pants Digital Pattern
Blank Slate Super Skinny Pants Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCall's 2718
photo
Review by lelliebunn... on 7/15/13
Read Review

ZIPPERS - A downloadable Book by Shannon Gifford
ZIPPERS - A downloadable Book by Shannon Gifford

Details
Price: $35.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Favorite Things The Lunch Bag Pattern
Favorite Things The Lunch Bag Pattern

Details
Price: $14.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue 1292 Pattern ( Size )
Vogue 1292 Pattern ( Size  )

Details
Price: $30.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 1427 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )
Simplicity 1427 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )

Details
Price: $17.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us