SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 7850 (Burda hybrid)

Viewed 1056 times 
Reviewed by:smallbod
photo

 
 
About smallbodstar
NA UNITED KINGDOM
Member since: 6/30/05
Reviews written: 16
Sewing skills:Beginner
Favored by: 1 people
patterns reviewed: 13
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:12/2/05 4:59 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 9 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Patterns from the Past


vintage sewing patterns
Deals!

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
23 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
MaryLynn in Long Beach said...
Love your 'dressform'. It's a great project and a wonderful review. And such a gratifying learning process. WELL DONE!
12/2/05 5:04 PM
Georgene said...
What an odyssey! But I think you got to where you needed to be. I admire your ability to attack any and all problems. Witness your bodice form! That is such a hoot, I almost choked on my tea when I opend that photo up. Love the beads, you look like you had fun in spite (or because) of it all.
12/2/05 5:14 PM
CarolynGM said...
That is the funniest dressform I've ever seen, but how clever of you to come up with it. I loved your review with all the details, often hilarious, about your lengthy journey to success.
12/2/05 5:28 PM
GorgeousFabrics said...
Brava! Wild cheers and applause all over! I had been following your thread with interest, and I think you have come up with an absolute stunner. -Ann
12/2/05 6:05 PM
Kay Y said...
Your emergency dress form is brilliant! Congratulations on having persevered and come out on the other side with a good result!
12/2/05 6:14 PM
G_l_e_n_d_a said...
I am SOOOOOO impressed by your determination and perseverance. As one who gives up much too easily, you are truly an impressive inspiration. Thank you for sharing!
12/2/05 6:26 PM
Liana said...
What a fabulous review, and the dress is great too! You held on until you reached success, and it's beautiful. I loved your comment "I give up and cover the offending area with beads." Brilliant strategy, and exactly what I would think of, too. Your emergency bosom form is brilliant! Three cheers for you!
12/2/05 9:28 PM
kismet007 said...
Hysterical review, reads like Bridget Jones Diary. And is that a bra I saw your pillows wearing??? You are far more tenacious then I am! I would have given up on the first try.
12/2/05 10:14 PM
ClaireC said...
You are my hero! Perseverance pays off. I too would have abandoned the project. Love the dress form and the review.
12/3/05 5:13 AM
JDpenelope said...
You are an adventurous sewist and a great storyteller. I'll be looking for your reviews in the future. This isn't the first time Georgene and others have come up with encouraging tips and brilliant fixes. Nice that you recognized all contributions to this fashion adventure. PS I like the dress, too.
12/3/05 5:57 AM
AnneM said...
Great "dress form". You look lovely, even it it was quite the challenge for you. Your next adventure will be easier.
12/3/05 6:58 AM
Danvillegirl said...
Wow! Well done and your persistence paid off. Great job.
12/3/05 7:03 AM
kwpanthermom said...
A quote on the back of the boys' tshirt from my daughter's co-ed swim team..."Adversity causes some men to break...others to break records." This is a record-breaking gown you've made! Your ability to just keep forging ahead with new ideas and fearless undaunted spirit humbles and inspires me, and I will think of you when I've got a handful of sewing bafflement or nightmare, trying to figure out what to do next. You have to have a sense of humor to sew, and smallbod, you've got that in abundance! Your emergency dress form is priceless, hehe. I loved reading your review and your completed gown is wonderful; that neckline is beautiful on you.
12/3/05 7:42 AM
nheh said...
Very funny review, and a great dress. Props to you for stick-to-itivness:-) You look very happy, and gorgeous, in your photos.
12/3/05 12:08 PM
CatherineN said...
That beaded neckline is wonderful on you. You are a Sewing Hero for your successful efforts.
12/3/05 1:49 PM
sherri2sew said...
What a saga. You told it in such an entertaining way. You have a great attitude. Really enjoyed hearing about your progress on this dress and three cheers for the result!
12/3/05 3:39 PM
Gloria Allender said...
Congratulations. You inspire me to not give up so easily. Loved the dressform!
12/3/05 7:03 PM
Linda E. said...
Congrats on you success of this gown.. I love it. the dress form it cool.. Now you need to find someone (try DH or Dkids) help you make one.
12/3/05 7:21 PM
MaryBeth said...
Such a beautiful dress and such a wonderfully written review. Thanks for sharing.
12/3/05 8:17 PM
SewLimited said...
A hilarious bust form to go with a priceless dress and outing - what more can we ask for!!!
12/3/05 9:04 PM
BjP said...
Your adventures and misadventures were wonderfully entertaining and inspiring! Glad you stuck with it and were able to have a fashionable evening out.
12/3/05 9:58 PM
bunz said...
Congratulations are due on many "fronts"!!
12/4/05 7:10 AM
smallbod said...
<<.... blush>>
12/7/05 7:34 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

Register

Altering Pants
Altering Pants

Register

Sewing Workshop Now & Zen Shirts Pattern

Sewing Workshop Now & Zen Shirts Pattern

Buy Now
Lolita Patterns Spearmint Paper Pattern

Buy Now