SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Simplicity> 4480 (Jessica McClintock Bias Dress)

1 more reviews
Viewed 1885 times 
Reviewed by:Mandolin82
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Mandolin82star
WA USA
Member since: 5/8/03
Reviews written: 23
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 1 people
patterns reviewed: 11
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:12/2/05 10:41 PM
Last Updated:12/2/05 10:46 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 8 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
28 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Mary Stiefer said...
Ruching (I think that's what it is called" is very popular now and this color is fabulous. What a great looking formal dress.
12/2/05 11:05 PM
Cathy Loves Fabric said...
Absolutely beautiful!
12/2/05 11:07 PM
G_l_e_n_d_a said...
It is simply stunning - nobody but you and she will ever notice anything with those flounces.
12/2/05 11:10 PM
PVA said...
Absolutely beautiful result! Thanks for the review & all the construction details. I love the color & the flounces look gorgeous! I'm sure she'll enjoy wearing such a lovely gown. Very "in" right now.
12/2/05 11:22 PM
Modiste Madness said...
The picture popped open and I immediately thought, "She did a really great job on that dress." It looks beautifully put together.
12/3/05 1:46 AM
jlg said...
Great job. This dress is very pretty on your daughter.
12/3/05 4:31 AM
smallbod said...
What a beautiful dress - I love those flounces despite the stress they caused. What a lucky daughter :)
12/3/05 6:05 AM
JDpenelope said...
What a beautiful dress, in a great color. I feel your pain about working with slippery, bias fabric and flounces--what a learning experience you have suffered through, but you were well-rewarded for your efforts.
12/3/05 6:12 AM
AnneM said...
One of the nice things about flounces is that they look great in motion, and when in motion no one can tell if they are completely even! And really, they look fine even completely still in the photo.
12/3/05 7:01 AM
Danvillegirl said...
Very pretty dress. Lovely color.
12/3/05 7:11 AM
GuriFB said...
Way to go! I have to say I can't see anything wrong with the flounces!
12/3/05 7:12 AM
SewVeryTall said...
Fabulous dress! The flounces look great...I feel for ya, having to rehem, ugh!
12/3/05 7:15 AM
MB at YarnUiPhoneApp said...
You know the secret to cutting and sewing chiffon? Sullivan's Fabric Stabilizer spray. You spray it on your chiffon and let it dry until it's stiffer than a board. Then cut and sew it. If the fabric gets flimsy and starts misbehaving again, spray it again with Sullivan's. When you're all done, wash it out. Bingo! Chiffon's nice and soft again. Btw, I still think the dress is lovely and I'm going to put in my list of favorites. I can see it in a lovely floral print for a 30s style dress.
12/3/05 7:20 AM
MB at YarnUiPhoneApp said...
You know the secret to cutting and sewing chiffon? Sullivan's Fabric Stabilizer spray. You spray it on your chiffon and let it dry until it's stiffer than a board. Then cut and sew it. If it' get flimsy and starts and starts misbehaving again, spray it again with Sullivan's. When you're all done, wash it out. Bingo! Chiffon's nice and soft again. Btw, I still think the dress is lovely and I'm going to put in my list of favorites. I can it in a lovely floral print for 30s style dress.
12/3/05 7:21 AM
Nickle said...
Your daughters dress is beautiful. Your hard work paid off as that doesn't look like an easy dress to make.
12/3/05 7:28 AM
melgosews said...
This dress is beautiful! I know what you are saying about the flounces. Helped with a ballerina outfit once. It's vital to get the fabric absolutely straight side to side and top to bottom before cutting and only cut one layer at a time. Any bias hemming is still difficult at that.
12/3/05 7:28 AM
Lori Sews said...
Wonderful result, it looks beautiful on her.
12/3/05 8:40 AM
Liana said...
Beautiful dress! It, your daughter, and the flounces all look great.
12/3/05 8:43 AM
casken said...
Very pretty dress. Love the fabric and colour.
12/3/05 8:49 AM
Karla Kizer said...
It could be on the red carpet at the Oscars. Beautiful!
12/3/05 9:57 AM
kwpanthermom said...
Beautiful color for your daughter! The ruching looks great and all those chiffon flounces...yikes, that is a lot of hemming! In the pattern picture, it doesn't look like their flounces are all the same length, either. You did great!
12/3/05 10:36 AM
drsue said...
Just lovely. I'm sure your daughter will be the belle of the ball in it.
12/3/05 10:38 AM
CarrieA said...
Great job Susan! That looks incredible on your daughter. Very stylish and really shows off her cute shape. I LOVE the color! You did an amazing job on those flounces. I would have been very tempted to leave them unhemmed and call it good. Great job...Judy would be proud :-)
12/3/05 11:35 AM
CarolynGM said...
The dress is beautiful on your daughter. The flounces look just perfect despite all the trouble you had managing the bias.
12/3/05 12:49 PM
Pam Z said...
Your daughter's dress is lovely! My favorite part is the flounces & they look better than the pattern photo. I'm sure she'll have fun dancing in this beautiful gown!
12/3/05 3:09 PM
ryan's mom said...
Absolutely gorgeous! Such a pretty color too.
12/3/05 3:35 PM
MaryBeth said...
Whew, that's a beautiful dress! It makes the pain of bias poly flounces worth it.
12/3/05 5:05 PM
candyo said...
Wow, that's pretty! I was going to make this but changed my mind due to the cost of all that chiffon! I really like yours- and that's my favorite color!
12/4/05 10:08 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

Register

Altering Jackets
Altering Jackets

Register

Vogue Patterns 8661

photo
by: lamstu

Review
Jalie 2673

photo
by: newyorklan...

Review
You Sew Girl Day Bag Pattern

You Sew Girl Day Bag Pattern

Buy Now
Christine Jonson Swing Shirt

Christine Jonson Swing Shirt

Buy Now