Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Simplicity: 4480 (Jessica McClintock Bias Dress) - Type:Formalwear    printable version
Viewed 1884 times 1 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 8 people   
Reviewed by:Mandolin82
photo
Friend of PR
About Mandolin82star
WA USA
Member since: 5/8/03
Reviews written: 23
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 1 people
patterns reviewed: 11
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:12/2/05 10:41 PM
Last Updated:12/2/05 10:46 PM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
28 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Mary Stiefer said...
Ruching (I think that's what it is called" is very popular now and this color is fabulous. What a great looking formal dress.
12/2/05 11:05 PM
Cathy Loves Fabric said...
Absolutely beautiful!
12/2/05 11:07 PM
G_l_e_n_d_a said...
It is simply stunning - nobody but you and she will ever notice anything with those flounces.
12/2/05 11:10 PM
PVA said...
Absolutely beautiful result! Thanks for the review & all the construction details. I love the color & the flounces look gorgeous! I'm sure she'll enjoy wearing such a lovely gown. Very "in" right now.
12/2/05 11:22 PM
Modiste Madness said...
The picture popped open and I immediately thought, "She did a really great job on that dress." It looks beautifully put together.
12/3/05 1:46 AM
jlg said...
Great job. This dress is very pretty on your daughter.
12/3/05 4:31 AM
smallbod said...
What a beautiful dress - I love those flounces despite the stress they caused. What a lucky daughter :)
12/3/05 6:05 AM
JDpenelope said...
What a beautiful dress, in a great color. I feel your pain about working with slippery, bias fabric and flounces--what a learning experience you have suffered through, but you were well-rewarded for your efforts.
12/3/05 6:12 AM
AnneM said...
One of the nice things about flounces is that they look great in motion, and when in motion no one can tell if they are completely even! And really, they look fine even completely still in the photo.
12/3/05 7:01 AM
Danvillegirl said...
Very pretty dress. Lovely color.
12/3/05 7:11 AM
GuriFB said...
Way to go! I have to say I can't see anything wrong with the flounces!
12/3/05 7:12 AM
SewVeryTall said...
Fabulous dress! The flounces look great...I feel for ya, having to rehem, ugh!
12/3/05 7:15 AM
MB at YarnUiPhoneApp said...
You know the secret to cutting and sewing chiffon? Sullivan's Fabric Stabilizer spray. You spray it on your chiffon and let it dry until it's stiffer than a board. Then cut and sew it. If the fabric gets flimsy and starts misbehaving again, spray it again with Sullivan's. When you're all done, wash it out. Bingo! Chiffon's nice and soft again. Btw, I still think the dress is lovely and I'm going to put in my list of favorites. I can see it in a lovely floral print for a 30s style dress.
12/3/05 7:20 AM
MB at YarnUiPhoneApp said...
You know the secret to cutting and sewing chiffon? Sullivan's Fabric Stabilizer spray. You spray it on your chiffon and let it dry until it's stiffer than a board. Then cut and sew it. If it' get flimsy and starts and starts misbehaving again, spray it again with Sullivan's. When you're all done, wash it out. Bingo! Chiffon's nice and soft again. Btw, I still think the dress is lovely and I'm going to put in my list of favorites. I can it in a lovely floral print for 30s style dress.
12/3/05 7:21 AM
Nickle said...
Your daughters dress is beautiful. Your hard work paid off as that doesn't look like an easy dress to make.
12/3/05 7:28 AM
melgosews said...
This dress is beautiful! I know what you are saying about the flounces. Helped with a ballerina outfit once. It's vital to get the fabric absolutely straight side to side and top to bottom before cutting and only cut one layer at a time. Any bias hemming is still difficult at that.
12/3/05 7:28 AM
Lori Sews said...
Wonderful result, it looks beautiful on her.
12/3/05 8:40 AM
Liana said...
Beautiful dress! It, your daughter, and the flounces all look great.
12/3/05 8:43 AM
casken said...
Very pretty dress. Love the fabric and colour.
12/3/05 8:49 AM
Karla Kizer said...
It could be on the red carpet at the Oscars. Beautiful!
12/3/05 9:57 AM
kwpanthermom said...
Beautiful color for your daughter! The ruching looks great and all those chiffon flounces...yikes, that is a lot of hemming! In the pattern picture, it doesn't look like their flounces are all the same length, either. You did great!
12/3/05 10:36 AM
drsue said...
Just lovely. I'm sure your daughter will be the belle of the ball in it.
12/3/05 10:38 AM
CarrieA said...
Great job Susan! That looks incredible on your daughter. Very stylish and really shows off her cute shape. I LOVE the color! You did an amazing job on those flounces. I would have been very tempted to leave them unhemmed and call it good. Great job...Judy would be proud :-)
12/3/05 11:35 AM
CarolynGM said...
The dress is beautiful on your daughter. The flounces look just perfect despite all the trouble you had managing the bias.
12/3/05 12:49 PM
Pam Z said...
Your daughter's dress is lovely! My favorite part is the flounces & they look better than the pattern photo. I'm sure she'll have fun dancing in this beautiful gown!
12/3/05 3:09 PM
ryan's mom said...
Absolutely gorgeous! Such a pretty color too.
12/3/05 3:35 PM
MaryBeth said...
Whew, that's a beautiful dress! It makes the pain of bias poly flounces worth it.
12/3/05 5:05 PM
candyo said...
Wow, that's pretty! I was going to make this but changed my mind due to the cost of all that chiffon! I really like yours- and that's my favorite color!
12/4/05 10:08 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Leather 101
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Leather 101

Online Sewing Classes
Clone Your Favorite Garment
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $49.00)
Clone Your Favorite Garment

Self Drafted Pattern 106177-1002 jeans
photo
Review by geraldine on 10/23/08
Read Review

New Look 6889 Pattern
New Look 6889 Pattern

Details
Price: $4.49
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue 1280 Pattern ( Size 4-6-8-10-12 )
Vogue 1280 Pattern ( Size 4-6-8-10-12 )

Details
Price: $32.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Self Drafted Pattern 130436-1001
photo
Review by NicholeMc on 8/17/08
Read Review

Archer Shirt
Archer Shirt

Details
Price: $10.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Megan Nielsen Cascade Skirt Digital Pattern
Megan Nielsen Cascade Skirt Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $12.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Favorite Things Eco Market Tote Pattern
Favorite Things Eco Market Tote Pattern

Details
Price: $14.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sew Liberated Woodlands Shirt
Sew Liberated Woodlands Shirt

Details
Price: $14.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us