SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> Sewing Workshop> Nikko Jacket (Nikko Jacket)

6 more reviews
Viewed 1494 times 
Reviewed by:Liana
photo

 
 
About Lianastarstarstarstar
NE USA
Member since: 8/31/03
Reviews written: 94
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 125 people
patterns reviewed: 60
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:12/3/05 1:54 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 22 people   
See other patterns in this category: Quilts    
Available for sale on PR: $22.95 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $22.95 (See envelope)Click to Buy
 
<< Previous      Next >>
32 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
ClaireC said...
Liana, this jacket came out beautifully. I was looking at that fabric and now wish I had snagged some. Your sister will be very happy with her present.
12/3/05 5:26 AM
JDpenelope said...
Outstanding! You have made your first Sewing Workshop pattern your own. I can see why you want one for yourself. Love the "grass" topstitching with variegated thread.
12/3/05 6:33 AM
SuzanM said...
Fabulous jacket and I love all of your details, especially the closure. Can I be your sister?
12/3/05 6:47 AM
Cathy Loves Fabric said...
This is beautiful. My favorite part is how you treated the topstitching and the leaves.
12/3/05 7:03 AM
SewVeryTall said...
Very nice! I like the way you stopped your decorative stitching for the embossed leaves...cool idea!
12/3/05 7:05 AM
Nickle said...
Oh thats pretty, I like the topstitching detail. I bet your sister will love it.
12/3/05 7:19 AM
Mary Stiefer said...
I love your topstitching effect. It really makes a big difference in this pattern. Great looking jacket.
12/3/05 8:16 AM
zeoplum said...
Great job. I'm not extremely familiar with Sewing Workshop patterns but from the looks of the drawings, I don't think I would've been inspired to make this jacket until I saw your example. I bet they'll sell more of this pattern now! Thanks for sharing your creation. With the details you've added to it, plus that great piece of fabric from EOS, it's truly a one-of-a-kind piece of art. :-)
12/3/05 8:20 AM
Mufffet said...
This is gorgeous. The topstitching is an inspiration. Lovely garment and fabric.
12/3/05 9:10 AM
suswiz said...
Excellent review! I loved your ideas (topstitching & closure) and the way they look on this fabric!
12/3/05 9:24 AM
Susan R said...
A beautiful jacket. I especially love the way you did the topstitching.
12/3/05 9:56 AM
MaryBeth said...
Liana: I love your use of the varigated thread. Simple and sweet, but girl, I looked through your photo album (again) and saw the fleece Haiku 2 and love that use of fleece. I'd never thought to use that pattern for fleece!! Did you do a review of that one here? Sorry to redirect your thread here but I'm scamming on my huge fleece stash...:)
12/3/05 10:47 AM
Linda E. said...
Beautiful jacket you did a wonderful job making it your own design.
12/3/05 10:58 AM
Tailypo said...
I really like what you have done with that thread, too. And you are right, this has many more interesting details (I've never seen a hanging patch pocket before -- cool!) than the illustration lets on. Helpful review, thanks.
12/3/05 11:10 AM
G_l_e_n_d_a said...
You are so brave to sew for someone else without fittings! Love your attention to detail, as always.
12/3/05 11:13 AM
Enid E said...
oh, what a beautiful jacket, I love the color!
12/3/05 11:51 AM
CarolynGM said...
Such an original creation. I especially like the topstitching. Your sister is very fortunate to be the recipient of such a beautiful jacket.
12/3/05 12:42 PM
bunz said...
So you're the one who snagged that fabric! :-) Great use of it and love your topstitching.
12/3/05 1:28 PM
CatherineN said...
You do such beautiful, careful work with a creative flair.
12/3/05 1:31 PM
Gilraen Surion said...
This is wonderful. Absolutely adore it.
12/3/05 1:58 PM
hongkongshopper said...
Thanks Liana for a great review. Love the jacket!
12/3/05 4:30 PM
SewLimited said...
Very nice. I've been seeing more of these embossed fabrics - was the embossing hard to sew thru for the regular construction?
12/3/05 8:22 PM
Liana said...
Thank you all for such kind comments! MaryBeth, the fleece HaikuTwo is a "muslin" for the one I'm finishing right now, and I'll review them together soon. Bunz, I've learned you have to snap up what you want at EOS, or it's gone forever. Ask me how I know that! sewsageblue, the embossing was not a problem to sew through for regular construction, although the roller foot probably helped.
12/3/05 8:26 PM
Pecan said...
Thank you very much for this informative review. Like your style of reviewing and very thankful for the pictures, especially close-ups. I think I will add this pattern to my wishlist.
12/3/05 9:53 PM
PixieCat said...
Your jacket is beautiful! I love the fabric and the hanging pocket is an interesting touch. I like it!
12/4/05 4:23 AM
Barbara at Cat Fur Studio said...
Thanks for sharing. Love how you integrated your embroidery to the fabric design. This pattern is so classic. I made a blue linen version years ago, and mine's still going strong.
12/4/05 8:15 AM
touran said...
Your inspired treatment of this jacket is so eye-opening for me. Beautiful work.
12/4/05 10:38 AM
BSYMPLS said...
Liana, Great review and wonderful results. Love your ideas that make this jacket so special. Thanks for sharing the details.
12/4/05 1:21 PM
Oopsy-Daisy! said...
Beautiful jacket, cool topstitching technique!
12/4/05 1:28 PM
Harriet Rogers said...
I'd say you have one lucky sister! This is a beautiful one-of-a-kind jacket. And...welcome to the world of Sewing Workshop patterns: I love their designs, and usually find the instructions to be excellent.
12/4/05 5:46 PM
Danvillegirl said...
This turned out very nice. I like your Haiku Two jacket also.
12/4/05 8:04 PM
Leslie Bonner said...
What a great gift your sister is getting. Love the fabric and the extras. This is my very favorite throw on jacket in black wool crepe. I need to make a new one as it is practically threadbare.
12/23/05 10:00 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Fit the Tee to a T
Fit the Tee to a T

Register

Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Register

Other 0000

photo
by: Sharon1952

Review
Sew Liberated Scoop Neck T shirt

photo
by: Stacie Thi...

Review
Petite Plus 603 Pattern

Petite Plus 603 Pattern

Buy Now
Checkbook Cover

Checkbook Cover

Buy Now