SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> HotPatterns> dv-sc (Shrunken Cardigan & Cami)

7 more reviews
Viewed 2272 times 
Reviewed by:drsue
photo

 
 
About drsuestarstarstarstar
Member since: 11/11/03
Reviews written: 169
Sewing skills:Beginner
Favored by: 183 people
patterns reviewed: 152
 
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:12/3/05 2:33 PM
Last Updated:12/3/05 3:15 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 22 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Nature's Fabrics


Natural & Organic Fabrics
Deals!

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
24 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Weif said...
Very nice jacket! I purchased this pattern as well and thought I may try it in a boiled wool. Thanks for the tips on the trim.
4/27/11 8:27 PM
cboots said...
Very detailed review. Thanks! I think your solution looks really cool.
12/5/05 12:18 PM
GorgeousFabrics said...
Great review as always Dr. Sue. I first looked at the picture and wondered what was up with the trim. It's very cool in a deconstructionist way. Would a bias piping work on this pattern, do you think? -Ann
12/4/05 7:17 PM
PhyllisC said...
Great jacket - it looks to be 99% tweaked to me! I do the same petite bodice adustments that you do.
12/4/05 12:56 PM
drsue said...
Thank you all for your encouraging comments. I'm glad to see I'm not the only one who had concerns regarding the trim. Eli: It is not very fitted at all, if fact it's rather boxy. I think shrunken in this case just means short.
12/4/05 10:19 AM
ClaireC said...
Very nice jacket. Thank you for the detailed review and instructions. I'm with AnneM, I think I would smooth out the notch to make life easier. When you make the cami, I too would like to see them on you.
12/4/05 5:45 AM
Eli said...
Drsue, I have a question regarding this pattern. "Shrunken" should mean a cardigan that is not only shorter but with really snug fit actually (shrunken throughout). Then, I saw on the hotpatterns site that it has no darts, just sideseam shaping. So, I wonder, what is your impression - is the fit really snug or is it just a short cardigan.
12/3/05 11:25 PM
lmg said...
I, too, have this pattern and was trying to figure out how to do the trim, if at all. Thanks for all the great tips and pictures! Great looking jacket. I bet you will get a lot of wear from it.
12/3/05 9:54 PM
PVA said...
Great jacket, Dr. Sue thanks for the review. I'd love to see it on you. Be sure to review it if/when you make it again!
12/3/05 9:05 PM
SewLimited said...
I also have this pattern but was waiting for reviews as I was a little worried about the trim. Thank you for the help!
12/3/05 8:03 PM
jemgirlca said...
Great jacket, I have this pattern and have been trying to pictures the trim on the collar. I think someone mentioned that they sewed the collar and facing right sides together, turned and then applied trim on the top edge. Maybe that was to solve that problem? Anyway, your solution looks great.
12/3/05 6:38 PM
SansSouci572 said...
It has a retro-feel to it too... It looks great. Thanks for the construction pcs, I have this pattern!
12/3/05 6:19 PM
AnneM said...
Sneaky, very sneaky. Thanks for sharing your clever trim solution. This is one of the patterns I am looking at. I would probably smooth out the collar to make it a shawl collar sans notch. Let us know how the cami comes out as well! Thanks for such a thorough review.
12/3/05 6:16 PM
Nickle said...
Even with the trim problems you encountered, I think the your jacket turned out nice, and I do think the trim gave it the special touch.
12/3/05 6:07 PM
Gigi Louis said...
Really cute! This is on my list.
12/3/05 5:30 PM
Barbara at Cat Fur Studio said...
Looks wonderful! Great job, as always.
12/3/05 5:26 PM
Sew4Fun said...
Thanks for the review. I have eyed this pattern many times. That "optional" dart looks suspiciously like the one that drafts in PMB for this collar. Users have found the collar sits a LOT better if you sew the dart. It's not really optional if you want a professional look. HTH.
12/3/05 4:58 PM
bunz said...
Quite a "muslin"!!
12/3/05 4:43 PM
Modiste Madness said...
Thanks for being one of the sewing pioneers with this line of patterns. You hard work paid off. You have a really cute jacket to wear.
12/3/05 3:41 PM
MaryBeth said...
Oh course, you're a bit spacey right now...you've poured all your creative juices into this jacket! It's darling, I'd love to see it on you, too. Congrats on your outcome and thanks for figuring out the details for us. BTW, for those who haven't encountered one before, that fisheye dart helps the lapel turn and lay better.
12/3/05 3:34 PM
drsue said...
Tailypo: thanks for noticing that wierd error. Obviously, I'm a bit spacey right now.
12/3/05 3:14 PM
CarolynGM said...
Very clever solution to the trim challenge! The jacket looks very stylish and classic at the same time. Thanks for an excellent review.
12/3/05 2:59 PM
joan said...
Thanks, for the very thorough review, especially dealing with a notched collar and the trim. It turned out lovely and is tres chic.
12/3/05 2:50 PM
Tailypo said...
Wow -- I barely even understand the solution you came up with to your trim issues, but it looks terrific! Btw, you wrote: "I probably would not have used the sleeves at all except I thought the jacket was a bit dull without them." Do you mean the pockets? Anyway, nice, trendy alternative to a traditional jacket. Can't wait to see the cami.
12/3/05 2:49 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Understanding Wool Fabrics
Understanding Wool Fabrics

Register

Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Register

Violette Field Threads Chloe

photo
by: guineveres...

Review
Ottobre Design Magazine 03-2011-19

photo
by: sunnysewin...

Review
Christine Jonson Keyhole Top & Pants for Wovens

Christine Jonson Keyhole Top & Pants for Wovens

Buy Now
Favorite Things Blossoms & Bloomers Pattern

Favorite Things Blossoms & Bloomers Pattern

Buy Now