Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
HotPatterns: Nairobi Bag (Nairobi Bag) thumbsup - Type:Accessories    printable version
Viewed 2024 times 21 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 15 people   
Reviewed by:Patti B
photo
Friend of PR
About Patti Bstarstarstarstar
OR USA
Member since: 9/29/02
Reviews written: 162
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 70 people
patterns reviewed: 135
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review

Posted on:12/4/05 0:15 AM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
22 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Tailypo said...
What a helpful review! And aren't you resourceful? Your old jeans and dress have recycled beautifully.
12/4/05 0:58 AM
MaryBeth said...
Great little bag!! Love that raku, too. Really neat fabrics when put all together, inspiring. Thanks for an excellent, idea-filled review and photos.
12/4/05 1:10 AM
Frosty772 said...
This bag is awesome !! I love it!! Perfect christmas gift !! Sadly Hotpatterns isnt offering the pattern anymore. Is there anyone who would be willing to share their copy? I want one if these !!
12/4/05 2:14 AM
bunz said...
Turned out beautifully! Thanks for all the details in your review. If you coated the pendant w clear nail polish (or something), would that smooth it?
12/4/05 4:42 AM
2BSewing said...
Your bag is beautiful. Enjoyed your review and your photos were very helpful. You provided some wonderful ideas.
12/4/05 5:33 AM
ClaireC said...
Great purse and informative review.
12/4/05 6:10 AM
JDpenelope said...
Your downsized version is great. I like everything you did. I also tried to download it, but it's now gone. Not sure I'm up to all of the work, so it's ok!
12/4/05 8:29 AM
Gigi Louis said...
Beautiful! You are very resourceful. :-) I, for one, never get tired of seeing another Nairobi review. What a creative bunch we have here.
12/4/05 8:47 AM
Stacy Sews said...
Great fabric choices! I love how you used your stash. Nice job.
12/4/05 9:31 AM
purpleseamstress said...
love the bag! Very professional!
12/4/05 9:47 AM
Linda E. said...
I love you bag you design is really cool. There is so many different versions of the bag here. Maybe Trudy could create a gallery of the different versions.
12/4/05 10:02 AM
touran said...
Great review. I love all the details on your bag. It looks like you have a workshop from all the photos!
12/4/05 10:49 AM
drsue said...
Wow! This if fabulous! I may have to give this a try.
12/4/05 2:03 PM
Lori V said...
Gorgeous purse
12/4/05 8:47 PM
Danvillegirl said...
Patti, your purse looks great! :-) I like the strap and the raku pendant. Very helpful information you provided. I have got to make this purse.
12/5/05 4:22 AM
cboots said...
What a clever twist on this bag to use the pendant and strap! Great purse!
12/5/05 12:26 PM
ktsews2 said...
I love your bag and the Raku touch makes it really unique. I tried to download the pattern but had difficulty and when I tried again, alas it was gone. I hope they make the pattern available via, "Handbag Heaven". All of the bags that have been reviewed are really beautiful. Makes me jealous!
12/5/05 6:53 PM
hongkongshopper said...
One of my favourite of the many great Nairobi bags made!
12/6/05 3:17 PM
Deepika said...
Lovely handbag and thanks for the suggestions. How did you make the bag smaller?
12/18/05 10:46 AM
jazzilady said...
Thank you for the great review. I want to make this bag, but can't find the pattern. I even wrote to hotpatterns.com, and they told me it was no longer available. Update: I got a copy, thanks everyone!
2/21/06 8:55 AM
jazzilady said...
Thank you for the great review. I want to make this bag, but can't find the pattern. I even wrote to hotpatterns.com, and they told me it was no longer available.
2/21/06 2:45 PM
ELLEN said...
Could you tell me where to get this pattern.
10/20/07 10:47 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

Online Sewing Classes
Break your Serger Out of the Box
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Break your Serger Out of the Box

BurdaStyle Downloadable Jason vest Jason Vest
photo
Review by QuiltSewSe... on 6/16/12
Read Review

Peek-A Boo Charlotte Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )
Peek-A Boo Charlotte Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo V-Neck Cardigan Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -12 years )
Peek-A Boo V-Neck Cardigan Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -12 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue Patterns 8155
photo
Review by lynnewill on 7/6/09
Read Review

SewBaby The Hat Shoppe Pattern
SewBaby The Hat Shoppe Pattern

Details
Price: $12.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Islander Sewing Systems Waterfall Pattern Pattern
Islander Sewing Systems Waterfall Pattern Pattern

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCalls 6559 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12-14 )
McCalls 6559 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12-14 )

Details
Price: $17.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Butterick 5722 Pattern ( Size 18W-20W-22W-24W )
Butterick 5722 Pattern ( Size 18W-20W-22W-24W )

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us