SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> New Look> 6827 

5 more reviews
Viewed 1617 times 
Reviewed by:Dale C
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Dale Cstarstarstar
HI USA
Member since: 8/24/02
Reviews written: 165
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 51 people
patterns reviewed: 138
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:9/16/02 9:17 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 4 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Nature's Fabrics


Natural & Organic Fabrics
Deals!

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
12 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
valerie sews said...
I have sewn this pattern and also had to correct the way it is drafted at the bust. I think it it designed for someone with a narrow rib cage and big boobs...thanks for the review.
10/31/03 3:48 AM
Lou. said...
Dale, where did you get this fabric? I love it....I spied it first on your son's shirt? It's great!
3/22/03 11:32 AM
Dale C said...
Linda, you can purchase stay tape on the notions rack at any sewing store. It keeps seams from stretching out of shape. It comes in handy for these low vee-necklines that would normally fall open and show all. I did take in the shoulders and armholes vertically, as well as doing a petite adjustment. I think if you remember to check the measurements of the pattern to your body measurements, you won't have the same problems. I just followed the envelope so it was a mess. You'll probably end up sewing a size or two smaller with this pattern. Good luck.
3/17/03 7:32 PM
Linda Duffy said...
Dale, this is one of the first patterns I bought when I took up sewing again a year ago. I've wanted to try it, so your comments are *really* helpful. Thank you! Would you please explain to me what "stay tape" is? I am a "B/C cup" and am not sure if I would have a gaping problem, but I'd like to be ready just in case;) Also, when you say you took the shoulders and armhole in 1/2", do you mean vertically? (I'm also "petite"--not tiny, just a short medium-sized mom:)
3/17/03 2:40 AM
said...
I agree that the dress in its final form looks good. May I suggest transfering all the alteration (plus notes such as stay tape to the original pattern and then retracing to a new perfect pattern that you can use again with confidence? That way, when more suitable great fabric is available, you can use the new pattern and sew a great dress much more quickly. And remember, you are the sewist, if you have to vear from the pattern directions to get a good final product, it is perfectly OK!
11/13/02 11:23 AM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Thanks all. I know most of us who sew our own clothes are somewhat perfectionist. That's me. It's probably because I know all the little things that went wrong with this darn pattern and can still see the areas that aren't perfect. I'm glad no one else notices the imperfections.
9/17/02 3:52 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Dale, what are you not happy with? The fit appears to look pretty good in the photo!
9/17/02 2:27 AM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Dale, what are you not happy with? The fit appears to look pretty good in the phtot.
9/17/02 2:27 AM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Hey, Dale, I agree with Rustybobn, it is a very cute dress.
9/16/02 2:14 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
I think it looks great! Sometimes when I have a bad experience, I back at the pattern enevelope. In this one, the model is sort of leaning a bit but the dress isn't. I'm thinking she has some double-sided tape in there or something. Good thing you had the sewing knowhow to fix the top! Thanks for the tips!
9/16/02 1:20 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Well, it may have been a pain, but it sure is cute! Thanks for sharing!
9/16/02 11:20 AM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
That fabric is great fun! Thanks for the review.
9/16/02 9:54 AM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Break your Serger Out of the Box
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Register

Fun with Fitting - PANTS
Fun with Fitting - PANTS

Register

Kwik Sew ks-children

photo
by: HolleyM

Review
HANDBAG CONSTRUCTION - A CD Book By Kenneth King

HANDBAG CONSTRUCTION - A CD Book By Kenneth King

Buy Now
Lolita Patterns Olive Peplum Top Pattern

Lolita Patterns Olive Peplum Top Pattern

Buy Now