Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
New Look: 6827 thumbsup - Type:Dresses    printable version
Viewed 1617 times 5 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 4 people   
Reviewed by:Dale C
photo
Friend of PR
About Dale Cstarstarstar
HI USA
Member since: 8/24/02
Reviews written: 164
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 50 people
patterns reviewed: 137
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:9/16/02 9:17 AM


See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
12 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
said...
That fabric is great fun! Thanks for the review.
9/16/02 9:54 AM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Well, it may have been a pain, but it sure is cute! Thanks for sharing!
9/16/02 11:20 AM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
I think it looks great! Sometimes when I have a bad experience, I back at the pattern enevelope. In this one, the model is sort of leaning a bit but the dress isn't. I'm thinking she has some double-sided tape in there or something. Good thing you had the sewing knowhow to fix the top! Thanks for the tips!
9/16/02 1:20 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Hey, Dale, I agree with Rustybobn, it is a very cute dress.
9/16/02 2:14 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Dale, what are you not happy with? The fit appears to look pretty good in the phtot.
9/17/02 2:27 AM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Dale, what are you not happy with? The fit appears to look pretty good in the photo!
9/17/02 2:27 AM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Thanks all. I know most of us who sew our own clothes are somewhat perfectionist. That's me. It's probably because I know all the little things that went wrong with this darn pattern and can still see the areas that aren't perfect. I'm glad no one else notices the imperfections.
9/17/02 3:52 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
I agree that the dress in its final form looks good. May I suggest transfering all the alteration (plus notes such as stay tape to the original pattern and then retracing to a new perfect pattern that you can use again with confidence? That way, when more suitable great fabric is available, you can use the new pattern and sew a great dress much more quickly. And remember, you are the sewist, if you have to vear from the pattern directions to get a good final product, it is perfectly OK!
11/13/02 11:23 AM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
Linda Duffy said...
Dale, this is one of the first patterns I bought when I took up sewing again a year ago. I've wanted to try it, so your comments are *really* helpful. Thank you! Would you please explain to me what "stay tape" is? I am a "B/C cup" and am not sure if I would have a gaping problem, but I'd like to be ready just in case;) Also, when you say you took the shoulders and armhole in 1/2", do you mean vertically? (I'm also "petite"--not tiny, just a short medium-sized mom:)
3/17/03 2:40 AM
Dale C said...
Linda, you can purchase stay tape on the notions rack at any sewing store. It keeps seams from stretching out of shape. It comes in handy for these low vee-necklines that would normally fall open and show all. I did take in the shoulders and armholes vertically, as well as doing a petite adjustment. I think if you remember to check the measurements of the pattern to your body measurements, you won't have the same problems. I just followed the envelope so it was a mess. You'll probably end up sewing a size or two smaller with this pattern. Good luck.
3/17/03 7:32 PM
Lou. said...
Dale, where did you get this fabric? I love it....I spied it first on your son's shirt? It's great!
3/22/03 11:32 AM
valerie sews said...
I have sewn this pattern and also had to correct the way it is drafted at the bust. I think it it designed for someone with a narrow rib cage and big boobs...thanks for the review.
10/31/03 3:48 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Online Sewing Classes
Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

BurdaStyle Magazine 04-2007-107 107 Top
photo
Review by Seaspur on 5/2/07
Read Review

Sewing Workshop Sandra Betzina Vest & Skirt Pattern
Sewing Workshop Sandra Betzina Vest & Skirt Pattern

Details
Price: $22.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Suzi Purse Insert
Suzi Purse Insert

Details
Price: $9.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver S School Days Jacket & Coat Digital Pattern( Size 4-8 )
Oliver   S School Days Jacket & Coat Digital Pattern( Size 4-8 )

Details
Price: $13.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simple Things Cozy Cap Digital Pattern (003)
Simple Things Cozy Cap Digital Pattern (003)

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Colette Patterns 1021 Hazel
photo
Review by laurenc0re on 8/7/12
Read Review

Simplicity 3750 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14-16 )
Simplicity 3750 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14-16 )

Details
Price: $14.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCalls 6105 Pattern ( Size )
McCalls 6105 Pattern ( Size  )

Details
Price: $13.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us