Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
McCall's: 4304 (Kimono Top) thumbsup - Type:Tops    printable version
Viewed 2278 times 11 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 4 people    Very Helpful by 6 people   
Reviewed by:Barbara at Cat Fur Studio
photo
About Barbara at Cat Fur Studiostarstarstarstar
PA USA
Member since: 4/8/02
Reviews written: 74
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 105 people
patterns reviewed: 73
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:12/5/05 6:31 PM
Last Updated:1/28/07 4:53 PM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
19 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Steffie said...
Very cute! It looks great on you!
12/5/05 6:37 PM
Mary Stiefer said...
Gorgeous and, of course, black is classic.
12/5/05 7:37 PM
Liana said...
This is so cute! Much nicer than the drawing would lead me to believe. Great job!
12/5/05 8:43 PM
sewlily said...
I really like this. You did a great job on it and I think I will have to pick it up. Thanks for the review.
12/5/05 8:55 PM
AnneM said...
Yes, you achieved an elegant look. Very nice. $3.50 per yard for silk lining! I'm going to have to look at Michael's website more often.
12/6/05 4:26 AM
CarolynGM said...
Great looking top. I love the idea of lining wool jersey with silk.
12/6/05 5:14 AM
JDpenelope said...
I guess you'll be lining lots of garments now that you're stocked up! This style looks so nice on your frame. Probably wouldn't work for me (too short, not as slender). Nice job.
12/6/05 6:57 AM
kethry said...
nice. I didn't even give this pattern a second look before I saw your review. Your top is waay better than the mc calls pic. great job!
12/6/05 8:17 AM
SewVeryTall said...
This looks great on you. I was surprised to see that a kimono top could look slim and shapely...must be the ties. Very pretty!
12/6/05 8:22 AM
thaiyal said...
The black top looks wonderful. Added this pattern to my wishlist :) Thanks for the review.
12/6/05 9:36 AM
touran said...
I keep clicking on the picture, because you look so awesome in this kimono top. The proportions are perfect on you. Thanks for the review.
12/6/05 11:30 AM
BeckyW said...
Beautiful!!! I want one. I have to have this pattern now.
12/6/05 8:18 PM
Tiner W said...
Very flattering! I wouldn't have considered this pattern before... .
12/7/05 3:18 PM
Soliel said...
Wow that is so nice looking! I love your comments...I am not sure what you mean about sewing the hems together and turning over...but I want to learn it! This top looks great on you.
1/7/07 11:37 AM
Barbara at Cat Fur Studio said...
Soleil - Thanks! As far as the hems, I think I sewed the lining and fabric together, right sides together, leaving a small hole in the lining side seam for turning the whole thing right side out again.
1/8/07 10:19 AM
sewbehind said...
Love your new version of the kimono top. Beautiful colour on you.
1/28/07 7:17 PM
GorgeousFabrics said...
I saw the new version from TW on your blog. It looks so lovely on you! -Ann
1/28/07 7:24 PM
BeckyC said...
I love this top on you too! The fabric's color and short sleeves gives you another great look of this pattern.
1/29/07 8:12 AM
Sewbe said...
That top looks great on you!
1/29/07 8:10 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

Online Sewing Classes
Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

New Look 6150 Misses Top
photo
Review by Danvillegi... on 8/18/13
Read Review

McCalls 6757 Pattern ( Size 16-18-20-22-24 )
McCalls 6757 Pattern ( Size 16-18-20-22-24 )

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Butterick 5956 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12-14 )
Butterick 5956 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12-14 )

Details
Price: $17.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Megan Nielsen MN1006
photo
Review by White Rabb... on 10/23/12
Read Review

You Sew Girl Fabulous Fifties Bib Digital Pattern
You Sew Girl Fabulous Fifties Bib Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $6.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Rory Double Bubble Skrit Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -4T )
Peek-A Boo Rory Double Bubble Skrit Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -4T )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

You Sew Girl Sling Pattern
You Sew Girl Sling Pattern

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sewing Workshop Tamari Apron Pattern
Sewing Workshop Tamari Apron Pattern

Details
Price: $8.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us