SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> McCall's> 4304 (Kimono Top)

11 more reviews
Viewed 2279 times 
Reviewed by:Barbara at Cat Fur Studio
photo

 
 
About Barbara at Cat Fur Studiostarstarstarstar
PA USA
Member since: 4/8/02
Reviews written: 74
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 105 people
patterns reviewed: 73
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:12/5/05 6:31 PM
Last Updated:1/28/07 4:53 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 4 people    Very Helpful by 6 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

Gwyn Hug


Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
19 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Steffie said...
Very cute! It looks great on you!
12/5/05 6:37 PM
Mary Stiefer said...
Gorgeous and, of course, black is classic.
12/5/05 7:37 PM
Liana said...
This is so cute! Much nicer than the drawing would lead me to believe. Great job!
12/5/05 8:43 PM
sewlily said...
I really like this. You did a great job on it and I think I will have to pick it up. Thanks for the review.
12/5/05 8:55 PM
AnneM said...
Yes, you achieved an elegant look. Very nice. $3.50 per yard for silk lining! I'm going to have to look at Michael's website more often.
12/6/05 4:26 AM
CarolynGM said...
Great looking top. I love the idea of lining wool jersey with silk.
12/6/05 5:14 AM
JDpenelope said...
I guess you'll be lining lots of garments now that you're stocked up! This style looks so nice on your frame. Probably wouldn't work for me (too short, not as slender). Nice job.
12/6/05 6:57 AM
kethry said...
nice. I didn't even give this pattern a second look before I saw your review. Your top is waay better than the mc calls pic. great job!
12/6/05 8:17 AM
SewVeryTall said...
This looks great on you. I was surprised to see that a kimono top could look slim and shapely...must be the ties. Very pretty!
12/6/05 8:22 AM
thaiyal said...
The black top looks wonderful. Added this pattern to my wishlist :) Thanks for the review.
12/6/05 9:36 AM
touran said...
I keep clicking on the picture, because you look so awesome in this kimono top. The proportions are perfect on you. Thanks for the review.
12/6/05 11:30 AM
BeckyW said...
Beautiful!!! I want one. I have to have this pattern now.
12/6/05 8:18 PM
Tiner W said...
Very flattering! I wouldn't have considered this pattern before... .
12/7/05 3:18 PM
Soliel said...
Wow that is so nice looking! I love your comments...I am not sure what you mean about sewing the hems together and turning over...but I want to learn it! This top looks great on you.
1/7/07 11:37 AM
Barbara at Cat Fur Studio said...
Soleil - Thanks! As far as the hems, I think I sewed the lining and fabric together, right sides together, leaving a small hole in the lining side seam for turning the whole thing right side out again.
1/8/07 10:19 AM
sewbehind said...
Love your new version of the kimono top. Beautiful colour on you.
1/28/07 7:17 PM
GorgeousFabrics said...
I saw the new version from TW on your blog. It looks so lovely on you! -Ann
1/28/07 7:24 PM
BeckyC said...
I love this top on you too! The fabric's color and short sleeves gives you another great look of this pattern.
1/29/07 8:12 AM
Sewbe said...
That top looks great on you!
1/29/07 8:10 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Altering Jackets
Altering Jackets

Register

The Contemporary Couture Jacket
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Register

BurdaStyle Magazine 07-2011-102

photo
by: sandramary

Review
Studio Cherie Summer Clutch

photo
by: ggf2005

Review
Veronica Pocketbook

Veronica Pocketbook

Buy Now
J Stern Designs Ribbon Skirt Pattern

J Stern Designs Ribbon Skirt Pattern

Buy Now