SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
PR Weekend Los Angeles

Pattern Reviews> Butterick> 3906 (Misses Costumes)

8 more reviews
Viewed 1028 times 
Reviewed by:AmSpirit
photo

 
 
About AmSpiritstar
CA USA
Member since: 9/22/05
Reviews written: 4
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 3 people
patterns reviewed: 4
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:12/9/05 11:58 PM
Last Updated:12/10/05 8:53 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people   
See other patterns in this category: Costumes    
Available for sale on PR: $15.95 Pattern Details
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $15.95 Pattern Details
<< Previous      Next >>
9 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
ClaireC said... (12/12/05 5:55 AM) Reply
This costume also looks fabulous. Thank you
JDpenelope said... (12/11/05 7:09 AM) Reply
Definitely maximal and bitchen'. Look forward to more of your reviews.
Seamingly Simple said... (12/10/05 11:59 AM) Reply
I have made parts of this costume and found the same problem with the shoulders slippling off. I pinned in some bra strap holders, and they seem to work. It's a simple fix but I may opt to replace the pins with a few stitches if the safety pins end up being irritating. (Because I haven't sewn the overskirt yet, I haven't tried wearing the costume for any longer than a couple of minutes.)
Mary Stiefer said... (12/10/05 10:35 AM) Reply
Wow and wow - what great looking outfits. You did a wonderful job.
Tiner W said... (12/10/05 9:57 AM) Reply
WOW!
drsue said... (12/10/05 9:37 AM) Reply
You guys look incredible! Great job!
GorgeousFabrics said... (12/10/05 7:10 AM) Reply
Nice save! The old "my dress size should be my pattern size" problem - that's the hardest thing to try to explain to students. Sigh.... Love the maximal piratude! -Ann
kwpanthermom said... (12/10/05 7:04 AM) Reply
Cool! Yeah, I've made a vest like that and it really has to be fitted to the person to get the straps just right, but it looks great on. I used eyelets, too, but I didn't have tape...I sewed regular little round eyes in a row and then sewed embroidered trim over them so just the round part stuck out a little and used ribbon for the lacing tie (this was for a Little Red Riding Hood costume I made). Like your pirate jacket and vest, too!
Cathy Loves Fabric said... (12/10/05 0:41 AM) Reply
Welcome to PR. Your costume looks great? Love the chinese brocade and the metallic lace for the underdress. I'm going to keep that in mind. Great job.
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Put it on the Bias
Put it on the Bias

Class Details

Online Class
Understanding Wool Fabrics
Understanding Wool Fabrics

Class Details

EvaDress T30-1930

photo
by: motorharp

Review
You Sew Girl 90mm Barrel Purse Pattern

You Sew Girl 90mm Barrel Purse Pattern

Pattern Details
Bluegingerdoll The Peggy Skirt Pattern

Bluegingerdoll The Peggy Skirt Pattern

Pattern Details