SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Fashion Sewing Group> 1945 (Jacket)

14 more reviews
Viewed 2185 times 
Reviewed by:joan
photo

 
 
About joanstar
CA USA
Member since: 1/4/03
Reviews written: 25
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 1 people
patterns reviewed: 24
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:12/11/05 10:39 PM
Last Updated:5/21/06 8:08 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 21 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
28 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
MadeByMeg said...
Hi! Some of us thought it would be fun to get all Bay Area sewists together and plan something fun. I created a meet-up for us to put some events together. If you're interested, join here: http://www.meetup.com/Bay-Area-Sewists/
1/11/12 8:06 PM
wvsher said...
Both jackets look great. I like your version better than the one on the package.
5/22/06 10:31 AM
Patti B said...
I love both of your jackets. The black one looks very handy for California summers.
5/22/06 10:09 AM
ryan's mom said...
What a great review! I've never tried these patterns, but am going to be checking them out now. And I love seeing hip, stylish, and beautiful 60+ year old bodies! Gives us something to look forward to. You sure you got your age right? :)
5/22/06 8:55 AM
regine said...
Very professional, it looks great.
5/22/06 1:42 AM
Rhoda K said...
I'm so glad to see one of Nancy's patterns reviewed here. It looks so good on you and you look good in it! I saw her at a sewing expo in '98 and was immediately hooked by her common sense approach to sewing and style, for any age.
5/21/06 10:00 PM
carolynw said...
Beautiful fitting jacket - had been looking at this pattern and wondering. Will now keep it in mind for future use - the results look so good!!
5/21/06 9:12 PM
Lori V said...
Another great looking jacket.
5/21/06 9:02 PM
Peggy L said...
Another winner. Looks really nice.
5/21/06 8:59 PM
Danvillegirl said...
Lovely jacket. I made this pattern once with fairly good results. Seeing yours reminded me that I still have this pattern and perhaps should try it again. Your jacket fits well and the color is good on you,
12/13/05 4:26 AM
Lori V said...
Gorgeous jacket
12/12/05 9:29 PM
Jennifer shaw said...
Thank you joan for sharing this gorgeous jacket from FSG! Thanks for more inspiration to try this very pretty pattern, that has made me wonder if I could pull it off.
12/12/05 8:10 PM
joan said...
Thanks, all of you for your encouraging and flattering comments. Responding to Martha and Peggy L. I will watch for your garments after your test muslins.....Curlypurl, I do hope you will make the pattern that is in your stash. Just take your time.........Queendom, that is a good idea, I will review the workbook soon..........bes, the skirt pattern in the photo is Simplicity 4787. I did not use any of the flounces or pleats. Since it is so basic, didn't bother to review it. I think the reason that you are attracted to it is, ithe pattern is very slightly pegged.
12/12/05 3:59 PM
bes said...
This is wonderful and fits beautifully. I like the looks and fit of your skirt, too. What pattern did you use for it?
12/12/05 2:34 PM
Queendom said...
Joan, you did a terrific job. Would you consider reviewing Nancy's new book? I've been thinking about purchasing it, but I really hate buying "sight unseen".
12/12/05 11:28 AM
Nickle said...
The outfit is gorgeous and looks fantastic on your young 71 year old bod!!
12/12/05 11:18 AM
CSY said...
Joan very inspiring review and photo.
12/12/05 10:52 AM
Mary Stiefer said...
Holy Moley - did you say 71 year old body - NO WAY. You look fantastic and the outfit you made shows off all your attributes. What a great looking suit and you are right - that shade of blue is perfect for you.
12/12/05 8:25 AM
GorgeousFabrics said...
What a lovely jacket. Your fabric is to die for! -Ann
12/12/05 8:22 AM
MaryBeth said...
Verrry sharp looking, Joan! I'm sure you'll wear it more than you think. The fabric is wonderful. Thanks for a great review of this pattern and your recommendation that it works for the less than advanced sewist.
12/12/05 8:14 AM
Liane M said...
Oh my! Joan your jacket is great, and it looks great on you. I enjoy reading your reviews.
12/12/05 7:15 AM
Peggy L said...
Joan-this looks wonderful on you!! I have just finished my muslin for this and am going to get started after the holidays. Can't wait to see yourr next creation.
12/12/05 7:06 AM
VtMartha said...
What a wonderful coincidence! I am working on this jacket (the original version) in Shannon Gifford's muslin class. My measurements, except for height, are very similar to yours. I'm trying a size 16 with lots of adjustments. I really like the concept of having a pattern that fits that I can modify in the many ways Nancy suggests. I hope my jacket looks as wonderful as yours does.
12/12/05 6:18 AM
jlg said...
Fabulous outfit. Your jacket looks wonderful on you.
12/12/05 4:52 AM
stripquilter said...
I might have to break down and buy some of those FSG patterns and the workbook. Great style for you, great review for the rest of us. Julia in Houston
12/12/05 4:17 AM
carolynD43 said...
Looks really nice. I have this pattern but was hesitant about trying it, given some of the reviews. Maybe I will now. 71? You don't look it at all.
12/12/05 3:08 AM
Lori Sews said...
Joan, this is beautiful! You look great.
12/12/05 0:10 AM
joan said...
The correct pattern link is the one that says provided by joan, not the one that says provided by Fashion Sewing Group
12/11/05 11:16 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

Class Details

Online Class
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

Class Details

Perfect Pouches

Perfect Pouches

More Info
Favorite Things Little Belle Skirts Pattern

Favorite Things Little Belle Skirts Pattern

More Info