SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Butterick> 5588 (9 Sew Fast & Easy)

2 more reviews
Viewed 1719 times 
Reviewed by:AmSpirit
photo

 
 
About AmSpiritstar
CA USA
Member since: 9/22/05
Reviews written: 4
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 3 people
patterns reviewed: 4
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:12/11/05 11:00 PM
Last Updated:12/11/05 11:08 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 4 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Patterns from the Past


vintage sewing patterns
Deals!

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
21 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Tonya said...
ROFL you rock. And, you've discovered some of the cardinal rules of sewing through this project.
1. It always takes longer than you think it will.
2. Every zipper, especially a long one, will be put in at least twice.
3. Children (Or cats. Or both.) try to help. And they're very trying.

Anyway, great job. Way to stick with it. And I'm jealous that you have such a pretty model to sew for! Makes things look so much better...
12/11/05 11:40 PM
Lori Sews said...
Loved your review! The dress looks fantastic. I admire your perserverance. Your wife looks beautiful. Great job for your first dress!
12/12/05 0:14 AM
Schnauzer said...
Gorgeous dress on a beautiful model!
12/12/05 1:14 AM
Elona said...
Wow, what a review! What a process! Baby barf on the dress--oh, this is good stuff. It's refreshing to read about the serious efforts of a male sewist. And, doggone, the dress is lovely on your wife (and so is she).
12/12/05 1:38 AM
MB at YarnUiPhoneApp said...
'Twas amusing to hear about your sewing journey. Glad you learned some things from this pattern. I look forward to reading more of your reviews - this one was so entertaining.
12/12/05 2:37 AM
Nickle said...
Really enjoyed your review. After all the refitting the dress looks gorgeous on your wife. Size 6 is a long way from size 14, but you made it work.
12/12/05 4:47 AM
jlg said...
Lovely finished product. Your wife looks great in this. Very entertaining review.
12/12/05 4:55 AM
ryan's mom said...
Lovely dress! Would you mind sharing your wife's measurements? Only saying this because although my measurements are a pattern size 14, I wouldn't go any higher than a 12--will be swimming in it above the waist. The pattern measurement for the bust is the high bust, not the full bust--something I didn't know for 25 years :( . And that makes quite a bit of difference in the fit. My bottom half is RTW 6 if that helps any. Your wife looks quite small, so I'd guess a pattern size 8?
12/12/05 6:01 AM
SewVeryTall said...
Great fabric...great fit...great review, baby barf and all, lol!
12/12/05 6:02 AM
ClaireC said...
The end result is fantastic. Your wife has a gorgeous figure and yes the dress needs to be form fitting to be flattering. Congratulations on your perseverance. I probably would have been tempted to set fire to it, especially after the baby incident. I'm glad you didn't. Kudos! ;o)
12/12/05 6:39 AM
kwpanthermom said...
Beautiful woman, beautiful fit, and beautiful dress! But she sure doesn't look a size 14 pattern! Check the "actual measurements" at the bust and hip on the pattern and that will give you an idea how much ease the dress was designed to have. Your wife's figure can handle a snugger fit than maybe what the pattern was designed for, so you could have gone down at least a size. You made it fit like a dream regardless! Baby barf, haha That made the think of the time I was making cream shantung gowns for a platoon-size wedding party. I was staring at the gown I was working on, on the dress form, while taking a break and eating lunch. I lost my mind for a moment when I noticed the portrait collar needed tweaking and I got up and fiddled with it...and left a chocolate brownie smudge smack dab in the middle of the collar. Had to recut another collar, take the dress half apart to replace it... "Never eat chocolate while sewing."
12/12/05 6:51 AM
AnneM said...
Unfortunately, many of the pattern companies seem to think that everything should fit loosely. Great job on the dress. Let's hear it for machine-washable fabric.
12/12/05 7:12 AM
Leslie in Austin said...
Fab results despite the frustration. Great color, sexy fit. I think we've all had an exasperating project like this (or twelve) so know that the empathy you're getting is genuine. Thanks for the implied reminder to flat pattern measure or to compare finished garment dimensions to the size chart--no 6" of ease suprises that way!
12/12/05 7:20 AM
casken said...
I think your wife's dress looks great on her. What a lucky girl to have a hubby who can sew her a beautiful dress. Thanks for your review!
12/12/05 8:09 AM
Mary Stiefer said...
What a stunning dress and so is the woman in it. Your efforts paid off and I'm sure your wife feels lucky to have a man like you that wants to make it perfect for her.
12/12/05 8:22 AM
GorgeousFabrics said...
I am rolling on the floor laughing! Having had baby barf on my WIPs more times than I care to remember, I can totally relate. Great job on a recalcitrant pattern! -Ann
12/12/05 8:36 AM
CarrieA said...
Hilarious review as we've all 'been there, done that'! It's fun to read a man's perspective of fitting, especially a form-fitting princess line dress. I too measure a size 14 pattern (took me a long long time to accept that!) and I always have to alter some areas but not others (I'm a RTW 6-8 on bottom, broad shoulders and fuller bust so larger on top). Keep reviewing for us!
12/12/05 8:57 AM
drsue said...
Really nice dress. Your wife is right about the fit and now you know that most patterns allow for way too much ease.
12/12/05 9:26 AM
Elemenopeo said...
Burda and Kwik Sew fit closer to expected measurements. The finished dress you made is smashing!
12/12/05 3:56 PM
AliceB said...
Utterly charming review... I love your writing style as much as your comments about modifying the dress. I made a similiar princess seamed dress for DD this fall, lined, underlined etc and now she wants to take it in. Side seams here we come. Thanks for your adventersome review. :)
12/12/05 6:23 PM
alviana said...
nice dress! i hope mine as fitted as yours
1/16/09 8:34 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Register

Leather 101
Leather 101

Register

Bluegingerdoll Stella Blouse

Bluegingerdoll Stella Blouse

Buy Now
SewBaby Totpacks Pattern

SewBaby Totpacks Pattern

Buy Now