Online Sewing Class: Understanding Wool Fabrics
SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Green Pepper> 846 (Fingerless Gloves)

1 more reviews
Viewed 1835 times 
Reviewed by:Trinity.
photo

 
 
About Trinity.starstar
MA USA
Member since: 10/9/05
Reviews: 107 (patterns: 93)
Skill level:Intermediate
Favored by: 15 people
more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:12/18/05 1:08 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 6 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
9 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Wytoski said... (11/15/07 12:48 PM) Reply
i'm in the midst of these for xmas presents and i was so lost. thanks! still lost but i have a map!?!
MelC said... (9/16/06 5:37 AM) Reply
I almost bought this pattern yesterday (Sept. 06). I really appreciate your review. I love fingerless gloves for working on the farm. This pattern sounds like a challenge. I'll just hope the RTW pair I already own hang in there. It was great to learn about their sizing. Your review is very helpful!
Hilary said... (12/19/05 5:30 PM) Reply
These look really hard! I tried to make gloves years ago for my dsis and gave up long before i finished! Way too hard! Kudos to you for sticking it out and making it work, even if they are too big for you :oP maybe you could shrink the pattern somehow?
Trinity. said... (12/19/05 3:10 PM) Reply
From a practical standpoint you wouldn't have to hem these. They are a knit and they won't fray. But the fabric does curl and get stretched out since the finger edges are cut on the stretch. Both DH and I thought they looked kinda ragged without being finished. I have since wondered of it wouldn't work to put baby yarn in the loopers of the serger and serge the finger edges in order to finish them. I'll give this a try after Christmas.
Muria said... (12/19/05 12:02 PM) Reply
I've thought about making this pattern for my computer users at home, as their hands are always like ice. Thanks for the review. I was thinking this would be easy with polar fleece because you don't have to hem, so I'm glad you disabused me of my notion that it would be easy. :) Fiddly pieces tend to make me frustrated, so I guess I'll pass on this one after all.
AnneM said... (12/19/05 8:00 AM) Reply
I have basically decided that I am going to pass on sewing gloves. Too much small stuff! Those certainly look good.
Tonya said... (12/18/05 10:52 PM) Reply
A unique pattern - I didn't know this existed. Thanks for reviewing, and for the heads-up on the sizing.
PhyllisC said... (12/18/05 2:27 PM) Reply
!/8 inch seams? Eye yi yi...I give immense credit to you for tackling gloves! A while back Ann (Gorgeous Things) made a pair and her observations were very similar to yours. I've also noticed that Green Pepper unisex sizing is pretty much men's sizing. Good review!
Mandolin82 said... (12/18/05 1:40 PM) Reply
Because it is fleece you don't need to finish the edges if you don't want to. I made some of these recently but in a very rough and fast way. THey didn't turn out nearly as nice as yours.
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

Class Details

Online Class
Put it on the Bias
Put it on the Bias

Class Details

Butterick 4985

photo
by: Sheila457

Review
StyleArc Sailor Sue Palazzo Pant

photo
by: clothingen...

Review
Sewing Workshop Tahoe Pants Pattern

Sewing Workshop Tahoe Pants Pattern

Pattern Details
Katy Bags Paper Pattern

Katy Bags Paper Pattern

Pattern Details