SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Simplicity 2258
In this video, you learn how to:
  • Use some of the basic tools
  • Choose fabric
  • Use patterns
  • Measure yourself for patterns
  • Trace and cut out the pattern
  • Lay out and cut out the pattern from fabric
  • Stitch together and press your skirt
You'll also learn about sewing machine features and pattern language and symbols.

Let Deepika demystify the process of sewing for you! Take this class!

Complete List of Videos

  1. Introduction and Tools
  2. Fabric Types
  3. What the Information on the Pattern Envelope Means
  4. Types of Patterns and What the Markings Mean
  5. Taking Body Measurements
  6. Tracing the Patterns and Understanding Markings
  7. Preparing the Fabric, Laying Out the Pattern Pieces, and Cutting Out the Fabric
  8. Getting to Know your Sewing Machine
  9. Sewing the Skirt
">Sewing Basics Online Sewing Class

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 2867 (donna karan skirt)

6 more reviews
Viewed 1377 times 
Reviewed by:CarolynGM
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About CarolynGMstarstarstarstar
AR USA
Member since: 3/9/03
Reviews: 122 (patterns: 116)
Favored by: 146 people
more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:12/21/05 7:01 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 8 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    Coat/Jacket    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
15 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Judy Wentz said... (12/25/05 7:52 PM) Reply
I completed a skirt today. The fit is nice, but I am not sure about the cutting layout. I have sewn for over 50 years and I could not be sure of what to do. Think it might be very confusing for a less experienced person. Also, it is quite short, as has been noted previously. I am still wondering if I like it. Will let you know.
MaryBeth said... (12/22/05 10:40 PM) Reply
Exciting review, Irina. This looks lovely on you.
Lee Ann Hawkins said... (12/22/05 10:17 PM) Reply
thanks for reviewing this! Between you and jlg I'm convinced to try it.
xela said... (12/22/05 1:55 PM) Reply
A beauty. I'll have to make this very soon.Thanks for the great review. I'll have to check out jlg. Merry Christmas.
milwaukee_kelly said... (12/22/05 10:55 AM) Reply
Irina the whole outfit is great. I looked at this pattern, but the top that comes with it threw me off. I can't wait to see the long version.
Harriet Rogers said... (12/22/05 9:55 AM) Reply
This looks wonderful on you: I hope you'll post the longer skirt when it's finished: sounds like you've got a real long-time winner here.
AnneM said... (12/22/05 6:55 AM) Reply
Lovely skirt! I have some stretch velvet that would probably work with this style.
jlg said... (12/22/05 5:53 AM) Reply
Irina, sometimes I think that it's a shame that you and I don't live close enough to each other to just share patterns since we seem to like the same things. The skirt looks lovely on you.
SuzanM said... (12/22/05 5:06 AM) Reply
Wonderful skirt! Now I must go buy this pattern. Thanks for the great review.
Ceri590 said... (12/22/05 4:42 AM) Reply
Your whole outfit looks really tailored. Great job!
Patti B said... (12/22/05 0:23 AM) Reply
Ooooh, I have some of that wonderful fabric too and it's destined for a skirt as well. Love the swing to this skirt.
KarmenG said... (12/21/05 9:44 PM) Reply
OK Irina! You've inspired me!! I have a piece of nice black knit I bought in LA so now I know what pattern I'll try. Your skirt looks really nice on you - be sure to post a photo of the longer version.
Lori Sews said... (12/21/05 7:58 PM) Reply
Gorgeous skirt, gorgeous outfit.
Lisette said... (12/21/05 7:25 PM) Reply
I would love to make up an elastic waist skirt with a smooth finish. I'm going to have to try this pattern. Yours looks great, thanks for the review.
drsue said... (12/21/05 7:10 PM) Reply
This is a great style on you! I'm sure you'll make this up quite a bit.
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Create a Jacket Muslin
Create a Jacket Muslin

Class Details

Online Class
Leather 101
Leather 101

Class Details

Butterick 5855

photo
by: marec

Review
Simplicity 1932

photo
by: schmammy

Review
Paradiso Designs Tiny Handbag Pattern

Paradiso Designs Tiny Handbag Pattern

Pattern Details
PerfectFuse Light White

PerfectFuse Light White

Pattern Details