SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Kwik Sew> 3085 (Misses' Jackets)

4 more reviews
Viewed 1423 times 
Reviewed by:Diana Lawton
photo

 
 
About Diana Lawtonstar
MA USA
Member since: 8/24/02
Reviews written: 12
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 1 people
patterns reviewed: 6
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:9/18/02 0:49 AM
Last Updated:9/18/02 0:55 AM
Review Rating: Very Helpful by 2 people   
See other patterns in this category: Vests    Coat/Jacket    Suits / Separates    Skirts    Outerwear    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
9 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
said...
Deepika, I talked about my pocket problem on Gigi's expert forum ("Sewing on Fleece"). Pinking then sewing didn't look good with the thin microfleece I was using; this technique worked beautifully on the Polarfleece remnants I had. And the binding idea is great! I wish I'd thought of that because I love the paisley lining. :)
9/18/02 6:32 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Here are a couple more pocket ideas for fleece.....pinking the edges and topstich to jacket, or binding them and edgestich them to the jacket. Your jacket looks great!
9/18/02 2:38 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Thanks, everyone, for the nice words. :) Deepika, yes, the fleece came from JoAnn's -- I decided to use a cheaper fleece for my first jacket before cutting into my good stuff from Malden Mills. Rennie, I like the serger idea -- serging makes fleece so much more fun! Unfortunately, I don't have one. And I like that lining idea ... it's also an attractive touch should anyone look into my pockets. ;-)
9/18/02 1:17 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Diana, this is a wonderful jacket. What a beautiful color! Thanks for the tips. Rennie, great ideas for the pockets, too!
9/18/02 12:10 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Looks good to me. I love your suggestion of using stretch cord. [Excuse to go buy more fabric;-)] I've not sewn with fleece much but have 2 suggestions for those pockets. 1-Go around the pocket edges with a decorative thread (like a yarn) in the serger loopers and adjusting tensions to do a blanket stitch, serging the seam allowances off. Then, attach to jacket. 2-Facing the pockets with a thin fabric ,like a broadcloth, then turning.
9/18/02 11:32 AM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Diana, your jacket came out great! I love the color.
9/18/02 9:03 AM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Hi Diana, Great jacket. Did you get that fleece from Joanns? Also what was the problem with the pockets which you are talking about?
9/18/02 4:49 AM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Diana--What a nice looking jacket!
9/18/02 1:17 AM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Diana, your jacket is beautiful! I LOVE that color! How helpful of you to make the fabric recommendations as you did.
9/18/02 0:59 AM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Fit the Tee to a T
Fit the Tee to a T

Register

Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

Register

Lutterloh Supp 115 #75

photo
by: Daisyd681

Review
Simplicity 2057

photo
by: LM2HYD

Review
You Sew Girl SEWING CLASS 1 - Shopping Bag Pattern

You Sew Girl SEWING CLASS 1 - Shopping Bag Pattern

Buy Now
Wonder Wallet

Wonder Wallet

Buy Now