Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Kwik Sew: 3085 (Misses' Jackets) thumbsup - Type:Activewear    printable version
Viewed 1420 times 4 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 2 people   
Reviewed by:Diana Lawton
photo
About Diana Lawtonstar
MA USA
Member since: 8/24/02
Reviews written: 12
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 1 people
patterns reviewed: 6
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:9/18/02 0:49 AM
Last Updated:9/18/02 0:55 AM
See other patterns in this category: Vests    Coat/Jacket    Suits / Separates    Skirts    Outerwear    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
9 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
said...
Diana, your jacket is beautiful! I LOVE that color! How helpful of you to make the fabric recommendations as you did.
9/18/02 0:59 AM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Diana--What a nice looking jacket!
9/18/02 1:17 AM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Hi Diana, Great jacket. Did you get that fleece from Joanns? Also what was the problem with the pockets which you are talking about?
9/18/02 4:49 AM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Diana, your jacket came out great! I love the color.
9/18/02 9:03 AM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Looks good to me. I love your suggestion of using stretch cord. [Excuse to go buy more fabric;-)] I've not sewn with fleece much but have 2 suggestions for those pockets. 1-Go around the pocket edges with a decorative thread (like a yarn) in the serger loopers and adjusting tensions to do a blanket stitch, serging the seam allowances off. Then, attach to jacket. 2-Facing the pockets with a thin fabric ,like a broadcloth, then turning.
9/18/02 11:32 AM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Diana, this is a wonderful jacket. What a beautiful color! Thanks for the tips. Rennie, great ideas for the pockets, too!
9/18/02 12:10 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Thanks, everyone, for the nice words. :) Deepika, yes, the fleece came from JoAnn's -- I decided to use a cheaper fleece for my first jacket before cutting into my good stuff from Malden Mills. Rennie, I like the serger idea -- serging makes fleece so much more fun! Unfortunately, I don't have one. And I like that lining idea ... it's also an attractive touch should anyone look into my pockets. ;-)
9/18/02 1:17 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Here are a couple more pocket ideas for fleece.....pinking the edges and topstich to jacket, or binding them and edgestich them to the jacket. Your jacket looks great!
9/18/02 2:38 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Deepika, I talked about my pocket problem on Gigi's expert forum ("Sewing on Fleece"). Pinking then sewing didn't look good with the thin microfleece I was using; this technique worked beautifully on the Polarfleece remnants I had. And the binding idea is great! I wish I'd thought of that because I love the paisley lining. :)
9/18/02 6:32 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

Online Sewing Classes
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

McCall's 6744
photo
Review by nicegirl on 10/18/13
Read Review

Peek-A Boo Santa Monica Sweetheart Tankini Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )
Peek-A Boo Santa Monica Sweetheart Tankini Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Cake Patterns Bonny Knit Sailor Top Digital Pattern
Cake Patterns Bonny Knit Sailor Top Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $8.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 3835
photo
Review by redcleo on 7/16/10
Read Review

Sewn Square One Triple Play Top Pattern
Sewn Square One Triple Play Top Pattern

Details
Price: $12.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Petite Plus V202 VHS
Petite Plus V202 VHS

Details
Price: $40.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCalls 5989 Pattern ( Size 4-6-8-10-12 )
McCalls 5989 Pattern ( Size 4-6-8-10-12 )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCalls 6804 Pattern ( Size )
McCalls 6804 Pattern ( Size  )

Details
Price: $17.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us