Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Kwik Sew: 2500 (Swimsuit with skirt) thumbsup - Type:Swimwear    printable version
Viewed 2009 times 4 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 14 people   
Reviewed by:Barbara R
photo
Friend of PR
About Barbara Rstar
CA USA
Member since: 8/24/02
Reviews written: 13
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 4 people
patterns reviewed: 5
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:12/31/05 0:37 AM
Last Updated:1/2/06 10:38 PM


See other patterns in this category: Swimwear    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
28 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
jr said...
ooh- pretty fabric! Looks like you got a good fit too.
12/31/05 1:03 AM
valerie sews said...
What a pretty suit. I'll definitely have to take another look at this pattern.
12/31/05 1:16 AM
Vonnevo said...
Beautiful ! The style and colours are lovely. Can you please post a pic of your purple swimsuit when finished :)
12/31/05 2:38 AM
Patzee said...
Looks great! What did you use for a lining?
12/31/05 3:53 AM
rhoda bicycle said...
The suit looks great! Instead of doing the next one with size xl in the bottom at the back, try slashing the size large from the back seam to the seam allowance at the sides (on top of the leg opening) and rotating downward 1/2" to 3/4". It will give you extra fabric over the butt without making the leg opening too big. If you need a little more width, you could add it at the back seam.
12/31/05 4:57 AM
Nickle said...
Pretty swimsuit- looks good on you. Looking forward to your purple one.
12/31/05 7:38 AM
PhyllisC said...
Great suit!
12/31/05 7:42 AM
Motorposus said...
I love the tie-dyed look of that fabric, and the way you chose to orient the stripes. I can't see the CB seam at all!
12/31/05 7:50 AM
slanden99 said...
This pattern is on my wish list now. What a great, flattering style
12/31/05 9:46 AM
Frogstitcher said...
Nice job. This suit is very flattering on you.
12/31/05 9:53 AM
QuickFade said...
You did a really nice job, and the print looks very nice made up in this pattern, very nicely placed in the back to create an interesting look.
12/31/05 11:00 AM
Annika said...
Gorgeous job - you've inspired me to try to make one.
12/31/05 12:03 PM
Barbara R said...
Thanks for the comments! For lining I just used a very lightweight knit that I also got from Spandex House. Click here. rhoda bicycle - I'm not sure I understand your suggestion. You mean pivot at the side to make the CB longer? Or...? BTW, I couldn't make the purple suit today because our power was out for several hours. Maybe tomorrow!
12/31/05 9:06 PM
kremmer said...
Looks great on you! Very impressed!
1/1/06 2:45 AM
AnneM said...
Nice job! I love the way you used the fabric, with the horizontal run over the bust & the vertical for most of the torso.
1/1/06 8:20 AM
Danvillegirl said...
Very flattering swimsuit. You did a great job and your review was very helpful.
1/1/06 8:46 AM
rhoda bicycle said...
Barbara: yes, this alteration makes the center back longer, which puts more fabric over the curve of the body - sort of like the full bust adjustment does. I have a large "caboose" and this alteration gives me a good fit - finally - in the tush area. When I tried to go large all over, the leg elastic was a sloppy fit, because the leg opening was too big. Of course, you have to make sure that you are only stretching the elastic on the back of the leg when you sew it - not the fabric itself.
1/1/06 1:58 PM
Lou05 said...
Thank you for the thorough review and the photo. You did a great job and what beautiful fabric and fit. Seeing it made up makes me think I can try it and I'm opposite you - big bust, smaller bottom. I think it can work because I can picture it. Thanks.
1/1/06 5:32 PM
Vonnevo said...
The purple swimsuit is equally beautiful. No wonder you made two. They are fabulous !
1/2/06 11:29 PM
Nickle said...
Love the purple suit too. Boy you sewed that up fast.
1/3/06 6:51 AM
Dixielynn said...
Great suits...the purple is my choice ...very classy and striking!
1/3/06 2:54 PM
Lori Sews said...
Impressive. Great looking suits!
1/3/06 6:14 PM
Rhoda K said...
Great review - I plan to make my own suit this year so this definitely helps. Looks good on you.
1/3/06 7:01 PM
jemgirlca said...
Both are really nice, pretty suits! I'm impressed.
1/3/06 10:10 PM
Rebecca H said...
Wow, terrific results! I was just looking in the Lands' End catalog, and their suits are so expensive, I thought "how hard can it be to make one of these?" I love your photos, too. It really helps to see what this looks like on a real woman's body. Great job on the suits & the review!
2/12/06 1:35 PM
CSY said...
Great looking swimsuits.
2/21/06 10:54 AM
lornakismet said...
Ah, very sweet and pastel and it reminds me of Esther Williams in those extravaganzas. -LornaKismet (Lorna A.)
6/11/06 3:16 AM
Coastal Connie said...
Thanks for explaining all the alterations, it helps.
9/13/09 11:18 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Altering Pants
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $59.00)
Altering Pants

Online Sewing Classes
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket

The Maker's Journal Bunny Bag Bunny Bag
photo
Review by ajhewing on 8/31/13
Read Review

Blank Slate Ruffled Cardigan Digital Pattern
Blank Slate Ruffled Cardigan Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sis Boom Shannon Dress Digital Pattern
Sis Boom Shannon Dress Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $10.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

New Look 6429
photo
Review by SueV on 2/5/05
Read Review

You Sew Girl Fedora Pattern
You Sew Girl Fedora Pattern

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sewing Workshop Hong Kong Vest Pattern
Sewing Workshop Hong Kong Vest Pattern

Details
Price: $22.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 3750 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14-16 )
Simplicity 3750 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14-16 )

Details
Price: $14.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Burda 7070 Pattern
Burda 7070 Pattern

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us