SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 8151 (Today's Fit)

82 more reviews
Viewed 2194 times 
Reviewed by:Lisa Laree
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Lisa Lareestarstarstarstar
AL USA
Member since: 8/24/02
Reviews written: 244
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 87 people
patterns reviewed: 225
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:12/30/05 1:07 AM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized Regular 


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 9 people   
See other patterns in this category: Tops    
Available for sale on PR: $22.50 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $22.50 (See envelope)Click to Buy
 
<< Previous      Next >>
16 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
CarolynGM said...
Your top looks very nice in the picture. However, it's no wonder it was too tight with 1 inch seams. The pattern does not include 1 inch seam allowances although the instructions say that it does. Lucky for me that I didn't read that part of the instructions until after I made the top.
12/30/05 1:55 AM
jlg said...
This looks like it is very becoming on you in the photo. Thanks for the seam allowance warnings.
12/30/05 5:20 AM
MarilynB said...
This top looks great on you, Lisa. In fact, you're looking rather spiffy these days. Have you lost weight?
12/30/05 7:55 AM
Nancy K said...
I have this pattern and I am glad you reviewed it. I will check the ease!
12/30/05 8:11 AM
Motorposus said...
I think it's very flattering on you. All you need now is a pair of capri pants and some ballet flats!
12/30/05 8:11 AM
Leslie in Austin said...
Lisa, that top is *great* on you. The fit is super flattering. Where have you been hiding that darling little figure of yours?!? (Pretty new avatar, too!)
12/30/05 8:15 AM
MaryBeth said...
Lisa, I like the more form fitted look on you quite a bit. You really do look good in this top (what, black again???) Thanks for the review of this pattern (although our shapes are not similar), I hope to get to this one soon.
12/30/05 8:28 AM
Teri said...
Lisa, your top looks great. I like the fit!
12/30/05 9:20 AM
Mary Stiefer said...
I think the fit on this is very flattering for you. I hate basting - but - it looks like this time is paid off. Good job.
12/30/05 9:31 AM
Lori Sews said...
Nice top, I like the fitted look.
12/30/05 9:34 AM
SouthernStitch said...
Very flattering. I sewed the wrap view with regular 5/8" seams, and wound up having to take it 3/4" more, so unlike Irina I do think mine had the 1" SA, although they are not marked special on the pattern. But I'm sewing the DEF sizing, and you guys sew the smaller sizing, so there may have been something wrong with the A-C sizing. Either way, this looks really flattering on you - and yes, you do look like you've lost weight!
12/30/05 9:56 AM
PVA said...
Ditto to all of the above! The top is wonderful on you! You're looking just marvelous!
12/30/05 9:57 AM
Lisa Laree said...
LOL! Lost weight! This is the week after Christmas...I'm afraid to get on the scales! I did lose a little right before the Christmas play...but that was due to stress/no time for eating. I've eaten plenty since and it all came back, I fear. Maybe I should make a boatload of these tops... :P Irina, I'd read your review but I forgot that you said the pattern really didn't include 1" seam allowances. Oops. Sigh, Mary Beth, more black. That's the basic choir color, so I just keep cranking out more. Actually, this is a replacement for a favorite Lands' End black T that, um, got some grease spots on it somehow... I meant to play with the resolution on all these photos to make the details a little clearer, but I forgot.
12/30/05 10:16 AM
Danvillegirl said...
I have this pattern ready to cut out. Glad I read this review and Irina's comments. Top looks good on you.
12/31/05 9:04 AM
sideseams said...
Lisa, I have made this top a few times. It definitely is a closer fit than what I am use to. Your top looks great on you.
12/31/05 4:03 PM
SewFine said...
I think your top looks great! Maybe it's more form-fitting than you're used to, but it's a very flattering fit for you. I wish I could get a T shirt to fit me like that. I'm officially inspired!
1/9/08 2:26 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Register

Altering Pants
Altering Pants

Register

Vogue Patterns 8835

photo
by: RebeccaMar...

Review
Vogue Patterns 1323

photo
by: GoodbyeVal...

Review
Favorite Things Eco Market Tote Pattern

Favorite Things Eco Market Tote Pattern

Buy Now
Petite Plus Patterns Walking Jacket

Petite Plus Patterns Walking Jacket

Buy Now