Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Vogue Patterns: 8151 (Today's Fit) thumbsup - Type:Tops    printable version
Viewed 2191 times 79 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 9 people   
Reviewed by:Lisa Laree
photo
Friend of PR
About Lisa Lareestarstarstarstar
AL USA
Member since: 8/24/02
Reviews written: 242
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 86 people
patterns reviewed: 223
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:12/30/05 1:07 AM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized Regular 


See other patterns in this category: Tops    
Available for sale on PR: $22.50 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Buy this pattern for $22.50     Add to Bag Add to Bag
 
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
16 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
CarolynGM said...
Your top looks very nice in the picture. However, it's no wonder it was too tight with 1 inch seams. The pattern does not include 1 inch seam allowances although the instructions say that it does. Lucky for me that I didn't read that part of the instructions until after I made the top.
12/30/05 1:55 AM
jlg said...
This looks like it is very becoming on you in the photo. Thanks for the seam allowance warnings.
12/30/05 5:20 AM
MarilynB said...
This top looks great on you, Lisa. In fact, you're looking rather spiffy these days. Have you lost weight?
12/30/05 7:55 AM
Nancy K said...
I have this pattern and I am glad you reviewed it. I will check the ease!
12/30/05 8:11 AM
Motorposus said...
I think it's very flattering on you. All you need now is a pair of capri pants and some ballet flats!
12/30/05 8:11 AM
Leslie in Austin said...
Lisa, that top is *great* on you. The fit is super flattering. Where have you been hiding that darling little figure of yours?!? (Pretty new avatar, too!)
12/30/05 8:15 AM
MaryBeth said...
Lisa, I like the more form fitted look on you quite a bit. You really do look good in this top (what, black again???) Thanks for the review of this pattern (although our shapes are not similar), I hope to get to this one soon.
12/30/05 8:28 AM
Teri said...
Lisa, your top looks great. I like the fit!
12/30/05 9:20 AM
Mary Stiefer said...
I think the fit on this is very flattering for you. I hate basting - but - it looks like this time is paid off. Good job.
12/30/05 9:31 AM
Lori Sews said...
Nice top, I like the fitted look.
12/30/05 9:34 AM
SouthernStitch said...
Very flattering. I sewed the wrap view with regular 5/8" seams, and wound up having to take it 3/4" more, so unlike Irina I do think mine had the 1" SA, although they are not marked special on the pattern. But I'm sewing the DEF sizing, and you guys sew the smaller sizing, so there may have been something wrong with the A-C sizing. Either way, this looks really flattering on you - and yes, you do look like you've lost weight!
12/30/05 9:56 AM
PVA said...
Ditto to all of the above! The top is wonderful on you! You're looking just marvelous!
12/30/05 9:57 AM
Lisa Laree said...
LOL! Lost weight! This is the week after Christmas...I'm afraid to get on the scales! I did lose a little right before the Christmas play...but that was due to stress/no time for eating. I've eaten plenty since and it all came back, I fear. Maybe I should make a boatload of these tops... :P Irina, I'd read your review but I forgot that you said the pattern really didn't include 1" seam allowances. Oops. Sigh, Mary Beth, more black. That's the basic choir color, so I just keep cranking out more. Actually, this is a replacement for a favorite Lands' End black T that, um, got some grease spots on it somehow... I meant to play with the resolution on all these photos to make the details a little clearer, but I forgot.
12/30/05 10:16 AM
Danvillegirl said...
I have this pattern ready to cut out. Glad I read this review and Irina's comments. Top looks good on you.
12/31/05 9:04 AM
sideseams said...
Lisa, I have made this top a few times. It definitely is a closer fit than what I am use to. Your top looks great on you.
12/31/05 4:03 PM
SewFine said...
I think your top looks great! Maybe it's more form-fitting than you're used to, but it's a very flattering fit for you. I wish I could get a T shirt to fit me like that. I'm officially inspired!
1/9/08 2:26 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
The Contemporary Couture Jacket
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Online Sewing Classes
Sewing Basics
Fee: $14.99
(Regular $14.99)
Sewing Basics

Sewing Workshop Hibiscus Shirt Hibiscus Shirt
photo
Review by Peggy L on 2/19/11
Read Review

Burda 6971 Pattern
Burda 6971 Pattern

Details
Price: $12.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Brussels Skirt
Brussels Skirt

Details
Price: $12.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 2187
photo
Review by norie crea... on 4/21/12
Read Review

Sis Boom Rebecca Dress Digital Pattern
Sis Boom Rebecca Dress Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $10.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Hopscotch Top, Tunic, and Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )
Peek-A Boo Hopscotch Top, Tunic, and Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

TAILORED JACKET - A CD Book by Kenneth King
TAILORED JACKET - A CD Book by Kenneth King

Details
Price: $27.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

J Stern Designs The Hobo Bag Pattern
J Stern Designs The Hobo Bag Pattern

Details
Price: $12.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us