SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> HotPatterns> WSJ Maharajah Jacket (WSJ Maharajah Jacket)

4 more reviews
Viewed 1808 times 
Reviewed by:Seaspur
photo

 
 
About Seaspurstarstar
BC CANADA
Member since: 2/24/04
Reviews written: 77
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 24 people
patterns reviewed: 76
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:12/30/05 1:09 PM
Last Updated:12/30/05 1:09 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 9 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
24 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Debbie Lancaster said...
Ooh, that's lovely! I think it looks way nicer made up than on the pattern envelope, which I found uninspiring.
12/30/05 1:19 PM
Kristen said...
Cute!!!
12/30/05 1:19 PM
SewingSkater said...
That is such a cute jacket! How come every hotpatterns review makes me want more of them?
12/30/05 1:24 PM
Sew Little Thyme said...
Great job! I am not sure that I would have thought to use tweed. Even though this is you muslin I think that it is very cute. I think that I am having some of the same fitting issues as you. So I hope that by reading your review again I can work through mine as well. Thanks!
12/30/05 1:30 PM
Georgene said...
The sleeves dont *look* too small on your arms with your mini underarm seams, but the back body has just about zero ease. If you can add in at the cross back you might get a better fit in your entire armhole/ sleeve area. Great jacket though, and deserving of some more time futzing around with it. I'd love to see a longer version as well. It would make a great tunic in dupioni, but I would leave off the novelty pocket entrance.
12/30/05 1:41 PM
Elemenopeo said...
It looks really stylish. Great fabric choice, even if just a muslin.
12/30/05 1:49 PM
jemgirlca said...
I love it! I've been holding off ordering this one, but I'm going to get it in my next order. I'm looking forward to any advice you get on the arm issues, I have similiar problems. So cute!
12/30/05 1:51 PM
Gigi Louis said...
Oh my gosh, this is sooooo cute! Another must-have.
12/30/05 2:13 PM
SewTabby said...
I just ordered this pattern yesterday and will definitely take your experience to heart when I make my muslin. Yours really does look fantastic, and I hope it can be a great wearable muslin for you.
12/30/05 2:16 PM
Tailypo said...
I like your version much more than the pattern envelope. Very cute!
12/30/05 2:30 PM
kismet007 said...
I agree with Georgene, you've got no ease in the upper back but otherwise the fit looks ok. I'm interested to see how these patterns will sew up for me as I have a broad back and very thin arms. I thought the pattern photo looked like the sleeves were slightly 'belled' at the bottom . I could see this as a light weight linen blouse with a camisole under it. I really like it.
12/30/05 2:33 PM
drsue said...
No bad, really. I think I agree with Georgene regarding the back. I found that my sleeves felt tight on the P&S tee due to a small back but when the back was fixed the sleeves were actually a bit loose.
12/30/05 2:38 PM
CarolynGM said...
Very attractive and stylish jacket. I hope you'll be able to fix the back width and sleeves so you can make more of these.
12/30/05 4:15 PM
Melody said...
I love your jacket and I agree with Sewing Skater, every review makes me want more patterns. Thanks for the great review.
12/30/05 5:39 PM
Debbie Cook said...
Wonderful "muslin." In addition to Georgene's comments, I'm noticing that the shoulder lengths appear a bit too long, and if so, that would make the sleeves feel too tight too. Just my 2 cents, that you didn't even ask for. :)
12/30/05 6:18 PM
Motorposus said...
That is super cute! If you've got a problem with tightness across the back, you may want to hold off on scooping out the back armhole. It looks fine (to me anyway). Kathleen Fasanella says that the back armhole needs more fabric to allow you to extend your arm, whereas the front needs to be more scooped to receive the forward movement.
12/30/05 6:37 PM
Tiner W said...
I love your jacket--such a pretty style!
12/30/05 9:22 PM
moushka said...
Thanks for a very informative review. Despite the fit issues, the jacket looks terrific on you. Great job! Can't wait to see the next version :-)
12/31/05 8:37 AM
Danvillegirl said...
Cute jacket.
12/31/05 9:11 AM
Babs said...
So glad to see this made up. It's a wonderful design and I love it in the fabric you chose.
12/31/05 1:58 PM
AnneM said...
I love the buttons around the curve in the front.
12/31/05 2:19 PM
milwaukee_kelly said...
Great jacket! Looks like the overcoming the fitting issues will be worth every minute.
12/31/05 7:35 PM
cboots said...
Thanks for posting your review! It looks really good in that fabric. I appreciate your tips and will keep them in mind as I make mine.
1/1/06 9:39 PM
missmarilyn said...
I just finished working on the muslin for this pattern over the weekend. I also had problems with the shoulder seam width not matching and the band sidth not being consistant from front to back. I also had to redreaft the armscye for my narrow shoulders. But evern with the new armscye the sleeve seems to fit fairly well with just a little added width at the underarm. I am gonig the make the keyhole pocket right on the jacket front and pull the facing to the inside of the jacket an put a back on the facing to form the pocket bag. I may do this in a contrasting color to show through. I didn't like the way the pocket looks as a patch pocket; it adds a lot of front bulk. I think this other way will be more slimming. I also like the design well enough to do the fit work, but this is definately not for the faint hearted.
11/19/07 12:01 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket

Register

Sewing Basics
Sewing Basics

Register

Simplicity 3786

photo
by: cocosloft

Review
Lolita Patterns Sugar Plum Pattern

Lolita Patterns Sugar Plum Pattern

Buy Now
Sewing Workshop Now & Zen Shirts Pattern

Sewing Workshop Now & Zen Shirts Pattern

Buy Now
Oliver + S Mittens

photo
by: Jenny Jo

Review