Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
HotPatterns: WSJ Maharajah Jacket (WSJ Maharajah Jacket) thumbsup - Type:Coat/Jacket    printable version
Viewed 1806 times 4 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 9 people   
Reviewed by:Seaspur
photo
Friend of PR
About Seaspurstarstar
BC CANADA
Member since: 2/24/04
Reviews written: 77
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 24 people
patterns reviewed: 76
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:12/30/05 1:09 PM
Last Updated:12/30/05 1:09 PM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
24 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Debbie Lancaster said...
Ooh, that's lovely! I think it looks way nicer made up than on the pattern envelope, which I found uninspiring.
12/30/05 1:19 PM
Kristen said...
Cute!!!
12/30/05 1:19 PM
SewingSkater said...
That is such a cute jacket! How come every hotpatterns review makes me want more of them?
12/30/05 1:24 PM
Sew Little Thyme said...
Great job! I am not sure that I would have thought to use tweed. Even though this is you muslin I think that it is very cute. I think that I am having some of the same fitting issues as you. So I hope that by reading your review again I can work through mine as well. Thanks!
12/30/05 1:30 PM
Georgene said...
The sleeves dont *look* too small on your arms with your mini underarm seams, but the back body has just about zero ease. If you can add in at the cross back you might get a better fit in your entire armhole/ sleeve area. Great jacket though, and deserving of some more time futzing around with it. I'd love to see a longer version as well. It would make a great tunic in dupioni, but I would leave off the novelty pocket entrance.
12/30/05 1:41 PM
Elemenopeo said...
It looks really stylish. Great fabric choice, even if just a muslin.
12/30/05 1:49 PM
jemgirlca said...
I love it! I've been holding off ordering this one, but I'm going to get it in my next order. I'm looking forward to any advice you get on the arm issues, I have similiar problems. So cute!
12/30/05 1:51 PM
Gigi Louis said...
Oh my gosh, this is sooooo cute! Another must-have.
12/30/05 2:13 PM
SewTabby said...
I just ordered this pattern yesterday and will definitely take your experience to heart when I make my muslin. Yours really does look fantastic, and I hope it can be a great wearable muslin for you.
12/30/05 2:16 PM
Tailypo said...
I like your version much more than the pattern envelope. Very cute!
12/30/05 2:30 PM
kismet007 said...
I agree with Georgene, you've got no ease in the upper back but otherwise the fit looks ok. I'm interested to see how these patterns will sew up for me as I have a broad back and very thin arms. I thought the pattern photo looked like the sleeves were slightly 'belled' at the bottom . I could see this as a light weight linen blouse with a camisole under it. I really like it.
12/30/05 2:33 PM
drsue said...
No bad, really. I think I agree with Georgene regarding the back. I found that my sleeves felt tight on the P&S tee due to a small back but when the back was fixed the sleeves were actually a bit loose.
12/30/05 2:38 PM
CarolynGM said...
Very attractive and stylish jacket. I hope you'll be able to fix the back width and sleeves so you can make more of these.
12/30/05 4:15 PM
Melody said...
I love your jacket and I agree with Sewing Skater, every review makes me want more patterns. Thanks for the great review.
12/30/05 5:39 PM
Debbie Cook said...
Wonderful "muslin." In addition to Georgene's comments, I'm noticing that the shoulder lengths appear a bit too long, and if so, that would make the sleeves feel too tight too. Just my 2 cents, that you didn't even ask for. :)
12/30/05 6:18 PM
Motorposus said...
That is super cute! If you've got a problem with tightness across the back, you may want to hold off on scooping out the back armhole. It looks fine (to me anyway). Kathleen Fasanella says that the back armhole needs more fabric to allow you to extend your arm, whereas the front needs to be more scooped to receive the forward movement.
12/30/05 6:37 PM
Tiner W said...
I love your jacket--such a pretty style!
12/30/05 9:22 PM
moushka said...
Thanks for a very informative review. Despite the fit issues, the jacket looks terrific on you. Great job! Can't wait to see the next version :-)
12/31/05 8:37 AM
Danvillegirl said...
Cute jacket.
12/31/05 9:11 AM
Babs said...
So glad to see this made up. It's a wonderful design and I love it in the fabric you chose.
12/31/05 1:58 PM
AnneM said...
I love the buttons around the curve in the front.
12/31/05 2:19 PM
milwaukee_kelly said...
Great jacket! Looks like the overcoming the fitting issues will be worth every minute.
12/31/05 7:35 PM
cboots said...
Thanks for posting your review! It looks really good in that fabric. I appreciate your tips and will keep them in mind as I make mine.
1/1/06 9:39 PM
missmarilyn said...
I just finished working on the muslin for this pattern over the weekend. I also had problems with the shoulder seam width not matching and the band sidth not being consistant from front to back. I also had to redreaft the armscye for my narrow shoulders. But evern with the new armscye the sleeve seems to fit fairly well with just a little added width at the underarm. I am gonig the make the keyhole pocket right on the jacket front and pull the facing to the inside of the jacket an put a back on the facing to form the pocket bag. I may do this in a contrasting color to show through. I didn't like the way the pocket looks as a patch pocket; it adds a lot of front bulk. I think this other way will be more slimming. I also like the design well enough to do the fit work, but this is definately not for the faint hearted.
11/19/07 12:01 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fee: $39.99
(Regular $39.99)
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

Online Sewing Classes
The Contemporary Couture Jacket
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Simplicity 4412 jacket
photo
Review by snowflake ... on 5/16/07
Read Review

Vogue 8909 Pattern ( Size LRG-XLG-XXL )
Vogue 8909 Pattern ( Size LRG-XLG-XXL )

Details
Price: $22.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

New Look 6872 Pattern
New Look 6872 Pattern

Details
Price: $4.49
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue Patterns 1275 Misses Top
photo
Review by NancyZL on 10/23/11
Read Review

Peek-A Boo Newsie Cap Digital Pattern ( Size newborn - child )
Peek-A Boo Newsie Cap Digital Pattern ( Size newborn - child )

Details
Price: $4.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Cake Patterns Hummingbird Skirt Digital Pattern
Cake Patterns Hummingbird Skirt Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $9.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Paradiso Designs Tiny Handbag Pattern
Paradiso Designs Tiny Handbag Pattern

Details
Price: $11.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sewing Workshop Liberty Shirt Pattern
Sewing Workshop Liberty Shirt Pattern

Details
Price: $22.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us