Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Burda: 8246 - Type:Coat/Jacket    printable version
Viewed 1007 times
Review rated Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 1 people   
Reviewed by:Cathy Loves Fabric
photo
Friend of PR
About Cathy Loves Fabricstar
USA
Member since: 4/16/04
Reviews written: 22
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 17 people
patterns reviewed: 21
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:12/30/05 11:36 PM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized 
See other patterns in this category: Coat/Jacket    Plus    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Sewn Square One
Patterns for Your Style.
Web site
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
5 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
kwpanthermom said...
I'm sorry you had such a bad time with this pattern. The line drawings don't show gathered sleeve caps, so that would have annoyed me too if they ended up being gathered! As for the little dart coming out of the princess line, I haven't seen that in a long while. The little dart is sometimes used if the princess line doesn't come right over the bustpoint; the princess seam is offset to the outside and the dart accomodates the fullness needed to the bust point. Chin up and better luck with your next project!
12/31/05 0:53 AM
Barbara R said...
What a shame to be so disappointed after all that work! If the fabric hasn't already made it to the dumpster, maybe you can salvage it and use the pieces to make a pieced vest or something!
12/31/05 0:58 AM
Vonnevo said...
Cathy I'm sad to hear of your disappointment. As Barbara mentioned, after a few days, you may be able to salvage it into a vest. I came across a very similar problem with stretch corduroy when making the jacket in my review of Burda 8390. The sleeve gathers might have happenned because the corduroy is much bulkier than a regular woven fabric, as mentioned on the pattern. The bulk doesnt allow for the sleeves to ease in as easily and Burda often have a generous amount of easing in the sleeve cap. I also had an oblique dart on a princess seam and it didnt seem to lie as flat as normal because of the pile. I must have put those sleeves in three times and eventually I moved the stitching line in a tad so there was less to gather.
12/31/05 2:54 AM
Cathy Loves Fabric said...
Thank all you lovely ladies for your sympathy. I briefly felt very sorry for myself. I think all of you are correct and and the pile and slight stretch of the corduroy caused problems. Also the extra information about the dart and a fix for the sleeve cap is VERY helpful. Vonnevo, I'm going to look up your review. Thank you! Vonnevo, I looked at your jacket and the sleeve caps are beautiful. Mine are not as good as yours yet, but I didn't have this problem with Burda 8530.
12/31/05 3:20 AM
AnneM said...
Bummer. Good information, between your reviews and the helpful comments people added. Hope you have better luck next time around!
1/1/06 8:22 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fee: $39.99
(Regular $39.99)
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

Online Sewing Classes
Create a Jacket Muslin
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Create a Jacket Muslin

Vogue Patterns 7607
photo
Review by yummymummy... on 7/23/13
Read Review

SewBaby Snappy Wrap Pattern
SewBaby Snappy Wrap Pattern

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Pants Sewing DVD
Pants Sewing DVD

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Sporty Girl Skort Digital Pattern ( Size 12 mo -12 years )
Peek-A Boo Sporty Girl Skort Digital Pattern ( Size 12 mo -12 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Salme Yoke Blouse Digital Pattern
Salme Yoke Blouse Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $7.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Other Melly & Me
photo
Review by Stacy Sews on 4/10/09
Read Review

Butterick 5868 Pattern ( Size 3-4-5-6 )
Butterick 5868 Pattern ( Size 3-4-5-6 )

Details
Price: $2.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue 1356 Pattern ( Size )
Vogue 1356 Pattern ( Size  )

Details
Price: $27.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us