SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Kwik Sew> 3096 (3096 Misses Jacket)

11 more reviews
Viewed 1906 times 
Reviewed by:julesberry
photo

 
 
About julesberrystarstar
Member since: 12/6/05
Reviews written: 60
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 20 people
patterns reviewed: 56
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:12/31/05 1:50 AM
Last Updated:12/31/05 5:23 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 4 people    Very Helpful by 2 people   
See other patterns in this category: Tops    Suits / Separates    Pants    Skirts    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
20 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Vonnevo said...
This sounds lovely. Access is denied to the photo though. Re the inappropriate words on Japanese clothing: My hubby found it amusing on our last visit and started taking photos of Tshirt backs.
12/31/05 3:00 AM
Cathy Loves Fabric said...
Your coat turned out really cute! What a brave beginner project. I know what you mean about your husband being 6'6" in Japan; my stepson is 6'3" in Kenya. It's difficult to ship clothes that fit that far away. Have fun sewing!
12/31/05 3:08 AM
Patzee said...
Love your coat and the fabric is a riot. It is sooo Japanese. Your comments reminded me of one of my visits to Japan when I spent two days in a fabric and warehouse district searhing for a TS with anything written in Japanese. I finally found one with a Japanese candy bar on the front. The women at the hotel were confounded when I showed my prize find--they simply could not understand why anyone would want a TS with Japanese writing! Anyway, your coat looks terrific for a beginner. Congratulations.
12/31/05 3:49 AM
carolynD43 said...
Couldn't use the link, but I went to your blog and saw the picture -- very cool! I love the fabric you used.
12/31/05 4:58 AM
Tonia Van Dyk said...
What a great jacket - excellent work on the blanket stitch. I've been meaning to pick up this pattern, and your review has reinforced that I *must* have this pattern!
12/31/05 6:12 AM
Vonnevo said...
The fabric is very "Japanese" I really like the blanket stitch, it adds to the overall design. When I am in Japan, I seem to spend a lot of time looking at what people are wearing..the fabrics and fashion are wonderful.
12/31/05 6:27 AM
Linda E. said...
Very nice looking coat love the your fabic choice for this coat.
12/31/05 6:38 AM
CarolynGM said...
You jacket turned out great. The hand blanket stitch looks much better than a serger stitch would have looked. Well done!
12/31/05 6:47 AM
Lori Sews said...
I love your jacket, the fabric is great!
12/31/05 8:18 AM
Frogstitcher said...
Great jacket and good review. The blanket stitching makes it look very professional.
12/31/05 9:50 AM
Patti B said...
I love the fabric and your coat turned out super. Nice job and good review.
12/31/05 9:58 AM
StephW said...
Great job! The fabric resembles very much something that Gwen Stefani would use in her L.A.M.B. line. Excellent choice!
12/31/05 10:35 AM
Debbie Cook said...
Great jacket!! I'm glad I came back for a second look after the link wasn't working the first time. Funny review too! Sounds like you'll be getting one of "those serger machines" in the future.
12/31/05 10:56 AM
Mini said...
Great fabric choice for a really unique coat! If it is any consolation, I don't think a serger would work well with that kind of fabric. Probably a stretch binding would be the easiest edge finsh, if you ever do this again.
12/31/05 11:06 AM
mamacita said...
I think Mini is right about the serger. It would probably choke up and die on that fabric. You chose wisely to hand blanket stitch and it looks really good! With this as a starter pattern, you have a brilliant future ahead of you as a sewist!Happy New Year...and Happy Sewing!
12/31/05 11:18 AM
MarilynB said...
Wonderful jacket. You are on your way to developing great skills. Whenever you are stuck or have a problem, try asking for help on the message board.
12/31/05 2:17 PM
Elona said...
What a nice-looking top! It came out very well. Re the Japanese writing: One of my friends made a casual shirt jacket from one of those Hoffman fabrics with Japanese characters on it. She wore it to one of her knitting classes, and noticed that her Japanese student was sneaking funny glances at the shirt. "So," she asked the student, "Does it say something improper?" "No," came the answer, "but it's upside-down."
12/31/05 3:33 PM
AnneM said...
It looks really good! And your button isn't wrong if you like it; that's the great thing about sewing your own clothing.
1/1/06 8:28 AM
Sewmetoo said...
What a great jacket- you did a beautiful job.
1/3/06 6:21 AM
Mbarkle said...
Jules, I love the coat. I hadn't seen your review until I just posted an update to mine. I love the blanket stitch, gorgeous.
1/18/06 1:33 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Clone Your Favorite Garment
Clone Your Favorite Garment

Register

Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

Register

Vogue Patterns 2671

photo
by: lauramae

Review
Christine Jonson Inset Jacket

Christine Jonson Inset Jacket

Buy Now
Summer Tote

Summer Tote

Buy Now