Online Sewing Class: The Contemporary Couture Jacket
SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Simplicity 2258
In this video, you learn how to:
  • Use some of the basic tools
  • Choose fabric
  • Use patterns
  • Measure yourself for patterns
  • Trace and cut out the pattern
  • Lay out and cut out the pattern from fabric
  • Stitch together and press your skirt
You'll also learn about sewing machine features and pattern language and symbols.

Let Deepika demystify the process of sewing for you! Take this class!

Complete List of Videos

  1. Introduction and Tools
  2. Fabric Types
  3. What the Information on the Pattern Envelope Means
  4. Types of Patterns and What the Markings Mean
  5. Taking Body Measurements
  6. Tracing the Patterns and Understanding Markings
  7. Preparing the Fabric, Laying Out the Pattern Pieces, and Cutting Out the Fabric
  8. Getting to Know your Sewing Machine
  9. Sewing the Skirt
">Sewing Basics Online Sewing Class

Pattern Reviews> Simplicity> 8523 (Misses Tops)

31 more reviews
Viewed 2106 times 
Reviewed by:zeoplum
photo

 
 
About zeoplumstar
AL USA
Member since: 7/1/05
Reviews: 11 (patterns: 9)
Skill level:Beginner
Favored by: 7 people
more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:12/31/05 4:05 PM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized 


Review Rating: Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 9 people   
See other patterns in this category: Tops    
Available for sale on PR: $10.95 Pattern Details
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $10.95 Pattern Details
<< Previous      Next >>
10 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Kathy M said... (5/28/06 8:06 PM) Reply
This top looks very cute, and I also like how zeoplum adjusted for a pear shape body (like mine, ). I haven't sewed clothing for quite a few years, so I'm needing all the tips that I can get.
inkyannie said... (1/20/06 10:43 PM) Reply
I think I have sewn this but mine did not look as good as yours. I will need to try more prints and less solids in my wardrobe. Thanks for this review
PixieCat said... (1/1/06 9:12 AM) Reply
Your top looks great! I love your fabric choice.
AnneM said... (1/1/06 8:31 AM) Reply
For some reason, I never think of making myself Christmas shirts. Yours is great; I love that fabric print.
Mary Stiefer said... (12/31/05 10:39 PM) Reply
Very cute. I also use the book FFRP quite a bit to help me with alterations.
jlg said... (12/31/05 6:13 PM) Reply
Very nice. I love square necklines but don't think that they flatter me either.
Nickle said... (12/31/05 5:36 PM) Reply
Cute top, I have the pattern but haven't used it yet,
CatherineN said... (12/31/05 5:15 PM) Reply
This is a cute shirt on you. Wear it in the summer too! Cotton is lovely to wear in the summer, esp.
Mini said... (12/31/05 4:39 PM) Reply
Thanks for the review. It helps to see this on a figure similar to mine. I think cotton was a good choice for this, and it is usually the easiest of all fabrics to wrok to with.
drsue said... (12/31/05 4:13 PM) Reply
Congratulations on making your first top! It came out very nice. Simplicity pattersn have been wonderful in the past few years.
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Class Details

Online Class
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Class Details

Kwik Sew 2981

photo
by: mudcat

Review
No Pattern Used Cosmetic Bag

photo
by: Dei

Review
Summer Tote Paper Pattern

Summer Tote Paper Pattern

Pattern Details
Victoria Jones Collection Happi Coat & Hanten (230)

Victoria Jones Collection Happi Coat & Hanten (230)

Pattern Details