Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
HotPatterns: Free Download - Cadeau T (Cadeau T shirt) thumbsup - Type:Tops    printable version
Viewed 1984 times 8 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 15 people   
Reviewed by:Stacy Sews
photo
Friend of PR
About Stacy Sewsstarstarstarstar
KS USA
Member since: 1/13/04
Reviews written: 167
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 119 people
patterns reviewed: 162
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:1/3/06 10:39 PM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
30 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
drsue said...
Lovely - - looks just like the pattern illustration!
1/3/06 11:04 PM
Barbara R said...
Very nice! Great use of stripes! (I generally like working with stripes, but I've never seen fabric where they run diagonally!) Even the muslin looks good (on my computer screen, anyway). How do you keep your bra on with such a wide collar? (if you don't mind my asking!)
1/3/06 11:11 PM
Ann Smith said...
Very cool looking top. Looks great on you.
1/3/06 11:21 PM
Stacy Sews said...
I made sure that the straps were really sung and then moved them further down on my shoulder - seriously! In one of the threads, it was mentioned to make bra strap holders to keep your bra straps attached to the collar. I like that idea and will keep in mind for furture reference. I was also thinking about buying clear bra straps to wear with this.
1/3/06 11:21 PM
HawkeMorningStar7 said...
Very stylish, you look so great in this. well done on the stripe saga, sleeves look perfect. Love the way the stripes make this top.
1/3/06 11:46 PM
Seaspur said...
That looks absolutely fabulous on you!
1/4/06 0:00 AM
PVA said...
Thanks for this review -- you've done a beautiful job both with the top & the review! It's lovely on you!
1/4/06 0:06 AM
jr said...
The top looks great! You did a good job of dealing with the stripes, but I have a feeling that you could wear a grocery sack and look great!...I'm not jealous..I'm not..really, I'm not!!!
1/4/06 0:35 AM
Nickle said...
Your top looks fantastic on you. Love the stripes and what you did with them.
1/4/06 3:56 AM
MaryBeth said...
Good job! I think you deserve to buy some really wonderful fabric and make this up yet again!
1/4/06 5:20 AM
CarolynGM said...
Adorable top. Great job with the stripes.
1/4/06 5:24 AM
ryan's mom said...
Your top looks great. And I was thinking when looking at the picture what a great job you did with the stripes! The sleeves stripes match beautifully on both sides.
1/4/06 6:12 AM
Debbie Cook said...
Great top. I like your use of the stripes. I like the muslin version too, but maybe cuz I'm a child of the 60s/70s??
1/4/06 6:27 AM
Peggy L said...
Great looking top and excellent review. How do you think the size 6 you made compares to RTW sizing??
1/4/06 6:58 AM
GorgeousFabrics said...
What a pretty top! Yours looks great on you. -Ann
1/4/06 7:56 AM
Sewing Geek said...
Very, very cute top!!!
1/4/06 7:57 AM
Barbara at Cat Fur Studio said...
The stripes are perfect. The diagonal stripes on the sleeves ensure the 'ref' look is avoided, as does the black trim. A winner, for sure.
1/4/06 7:59 AM
PhyllisC said...
Good review! I'm glad you mentioned that the ties are so long - I forgot about that and cut off almost as much as you did. I also agree with Debbie that the glitter version is pretty nice. Brown stretch velvet for the collar and ties would tone down the glitz quite a bit.
1/4/06 8:33 AM
milwaukee_kelly said...
It's really nice! You should be really proud to show it off!
1/4/06 8:39 AM
Gigi Louis said...
Wow, that's very stunning!
1/4/06 9:05 AM
fiberfanatic said...
Your top looks terrific! It's a great style on you.
1/4/06 9:11 AM
jemgirlca said...
Your top is really pretty!
1/4/06 9:19 AM
Lori Sews said...
This looks beautiful on you!
1/4/06 9:27 AM
Muria said...
When you chose a size smaller, was that based on body measurements, or finished garment measurements? This looks great on you!
1/4/06 1:07 PM
Stacy Sews said...
According to the HP site (under the size chart section of their site), my body measurements put me at an 8. However, everyone was saying that they were going down a size so that's how I arrived at the size 6 - I'm glad I did too I didn't need to take in the sleeves or sides at all!
1/4/06 2:31 PM
Danvillegirl said...
I like the look of this top so far from everyone's reviews. Like the stripes and the contrasting band. Good job.
1/4/06 7:24 PM
Motorposus said...
I love what you did with those bold stripes. You look smashing!
1/4/06 7:31 PM
Lori V said...
Fantastic looking top
1/4/06 7:48 PM
Harriet Rogers said...
Wonderful looking top, and congrats on the stripe matching: you did a great job.
1/15/06 10:27 AM
inkyannie said...
Your top looks very nice. All the reviews have been so favorable, I have now downloaded the pattern and have every intention of making it (someday!). Thanks for this review.
1/20/06 10:24 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Clone Your Favorite Garment
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $49.00)
Clone Your Favorite Garment

Online Sewing Classes
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Simplicity 2951
photo
Review by amiaow on 2/26/10
Read Review

Kwik Sew 3979 Pattern
Kwik Sew 3979 Pattern

Details
Price: $11.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

New Look 6214 Pattern ( Size 4-6-8-10-12-14-16 )
New Look 6214 Pattern ( Size 4-6-8-10-12-14-16 )

Details
Price: $3.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Jalie 2921
photo
Review by dorothyn on 2/1/11
Read Review

Oliver + S Nature Walk Pullover & Knit Pants Pattern ( Size 5-12 )
Oliver + S Nature Walk Pullover & Knit Pants Pattern ( Size 5-12 )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver S Fairy Tale Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 6m-4 )
Oliver   S Fairy Tale Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 6m-4 )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Petite Plus 201 Pattern
Petite Plus 201 Pattern

Details
Price: $21.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

You Sew Girl Baguette Pattern
You Sew Girl Baguette Pattern

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us