Online Sewing Class: Altering Pants
SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Loes Hinse Designs> 5113 (Tuxedo Jacket)

5 more reviews
Viewed 2060 times 
Reviewed by:Danvillegirl
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Danvillegirlstarstarstarstar
VA United States
Member since: 7/6/03
Reviews: 216 (patterns: 203)
Body Type:
Skill level:Intermediate
Favored by: 64 people
more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:1/5/06 6:20 AM
Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 11 people   
See other patterns in this category: Coat/Jacket    
Available for sale on PR: $16.00 Pattern Details
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $16.00 Pattern Details

Merchants on PR

Patterns from the Past


vintage sewing patterns
Deals!

Nature's Fabrics


Natural & Organic Fabrics
Deals!

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
16 Comments      Login to Add a Comment    
AnneM said... (9/9/07 5:57 PM) Reply
Unfortunately your picture links are no longer valid. None-the-less, it is helpful to have your review, since I am considering making this pattern now.
EleanorMcCarthy said... (2/6/07 2:00 AM) Reply
Your jacket looks great. I would never have known that it was too stiff, from the photos. I know exactly which fabric you used, from the Vogue Fabrics swatches. It is very pretty. I will go back and check the body of the fabric, to see what it felt like. I am going to try this jacket with another old Voge Fabrics silk, that I got last year (summer?). A peach, coral and pink silk loose weave.
mcgintie said... (3/7/06 6:20 AM) Reply
I made this from purple fleece and made the collar one layer only. I used my rotary cutter to cut a wavy edge on the cuffs, collar and jacket hem so I didn't need to do any hems. It looks good and fits well on the shoulders. I did a full bust alteration - this is best done in the main side panel rather than where the collar is stitched onto it.
marjenann said... (3/5/06 7:10 PM) Reply
Great review!! Right on the mark for my needs!! Thanks so much!!
Danvillegirl said... (1/7/06 5:59 AM) Reply
Thank you all for such positive feedback.
Harriet Rogers said... (1/6/06 2:44 PM) Reply
Terrific looking jacket, and thanks for great detailed review. I'm going to try the tie interfacing for sleeves on next jacket, which I've just cut out.
Shannon Gifford said... (1/6/06 9:14 AM) Reply
Great job! I'll bet the jacket looks great on you, too! And I'm glad to see SNF put to good use:)
sweetviolets said... (1/6/06 4:57 AM) Reply
You have inspired me to make this jacket. Yours is lovely!
Elemenopeo said... (1/5/06 12:37 PM) Reply
Looks beautiful.
Sherril Miller said... (1/5/06 11:20 AM) Reply
I like this pattern and your jacket is lovely. I think your fabric works well and would love to see a pic of you wearing it.
Lori V said... (1/5/06 10:46 AM) Reply
Very pretty jacket.
HawkeMorningStar7 said... (1/5/06 10:15 AM) Reply
Beautiful fabric and jacket Linda, your review was very helpful.
Frogstitcher said... (1/5/06 9:55 AM) Reply
Very cute jacket. I may have to get this pattern myself.
Mary Stiefer said... (1/5/06 8:57 AM) Reply
What a great looking jacket.
PegL said... (1/5/06 8:38 AM) Reply
Very pretty jacket! Great review -- very helpful!
Peggy L said... (1/5/06 7:45 AM) Reply
Linda - your jacket looks really nice. Good review! I made this with SNF and it's a great technique with this pattern. Enjoy your new jacket!
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Class Details

Online Class
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Class Details

Sewing Workshop Eureka Top & Skirt

Sewing Workshop Eureka Top & Skirt

Pattern Details
SewBaby Easy Pieces Pants Pattern

SewBaby Easy Pieces Pants Pattern

Pattern Details
Green Pepper F757

photo
by: Pattycraft...

Review