SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> Self Drafted Pattern> 31237-1000 (Swimsuit top)

Viewed 972 times 
Reviewed by:Kelly D.
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Kelly D.star
CA USA
Member since: 4/24/05
Reviews written: 21
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 3 people
patterns reviewed: 19
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:1/5/06 1:58 PM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
6 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
guillorypr said...
I think it looks great! I got a bunch of my swimwear fabric from the Frabics and Notions Yahoo group, and also from Sew Sassy.
1/5/06 3:12 PM
Elemenopeo said...
Needlenook Fabrics is great for swimwear. Your version looks really nice!
1/5/06 5:25 PM
Stacy Sews said...
Great job on the top! Very interesting fabric too - where did you get it? I have to agree with Stefanie - needlenook is great - but I'm somewhat bias - I live in Wichita and have looked through all their materials! They are also great about giving out advice. Fabric Depot also has quite a few fabrics to choose from (haven't ordered from there, however).
1/5/06 6:17 PM
2muchfabric said...
www.spandexhouse.com is a good resource for swimsuit fabric. A zig-zag stitch can also be used to provide built in give. I've actually seen it as topstitching on some of my daughter's RTW bikinis! You've done a great job on your draft--looking forward to seeing the final edition!
1/6/06 6:41 AM
Kelly D. said...
Thanks for the nice comments and all the hints about where to find fabric. The fabric I used for the prototype is some that I picked up at a Hancock's a few years back. They seem to have the best knit selection in all categories for my area, but nice prints for swimwear seem to be really hard to find. I'll have to visit all the sites you recommend.
1/6/06 3:28 PM
Mandolin82 said...
I like the top. I'm about to embark on sewing one for my daugher. Any updates?
5/7/06 2:16 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

Register

Sewing Basics
Sewing Basics

Register

Simplicity 2862

photo
by: Renren

Review
Sew Chic Knapsack Pattern (ln100)

Sew Chic Knapsack Pattern (ln100)

Buy Now
You Sew Girl 90mm Barrel Purse Pattern

You Sew Girl 90mm Barrel Purse Pattern

Buy Now