SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> Self Drafted Pattern> 31237-1000 (Swimsuit top)

Viewed 972 times 
Reviewed by:Kelly D.
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Kelly D.star
CA USA
Member since: 4/24/05
Reviews written: 21
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 3 people
patterns reviewed: 19
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:1/5/06 1:58 PM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Patterns from the Past


vintage sewing patterns
Deals!

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
6 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
guillorypr said...
I think it looks great! I got a bunch of my swimwear fabric from the Frabics and Notions Yahoo group, and also from Sew Sassy.
1/5/06 3:12 PM
Elemenopeo said...
Needlenook Fabrics is great for swimwear. Your version looks really nice!
1/5/06 5:25 PM
Stacy Sews said...
Great job on the top! Very interesting fabric too - where did you get it? I have to agree with Stefanie - needlenook is great - but I'm somewhat bias - I live in Wichita and have looked through all their materials! They are also great about giving out advice. Fabric Depot also has quite a few fabrics to choose from (haven't ordered from there, however).
1/5/06 6:17 PM
2muchfabric said...
www.spandexhouse.com is a good resource for swimsuit fabric. A zig-zag stitch can also be used to provide built in give. I've actually seen it as topstitching on some of my daughter's RTW bikinis! You've done a great job on your draft--looking forward to seeing the final edition!
1/6/06 6:41 AM
Kelly D. said...
Thanks for the nice comments and all the hints about where to find fabric. The fabric I used for the prototype is some that I picked up at a Hancock's a few years back. They seem to have the best knit selection in all categories for my area, but nice prints for swimwear seem to be really hard to find. I'll have to visit all the sites you recommend.
1/6/06 3:28 PM
Mandolin82 said...
I like the top. I'm about to embark on sewing one for my daugher. Any updates?
5/7/06 2:16 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Register

Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Register

Butterick 5415

photo
by: GoodbyeVal...

Review

Pattern

Favorite Things Hope Skirts Pattern

Favorite Things Hope Skirts Pattern

Buy Now
Shapes Three Fold Vest Pattern

Shapes Three Fold Vest Pattern

Buy Now