SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Butterick> 3836 (Making History)

2 more reviews
Viewed 950 times 
Reviewed by:Gilraen Surion
photo

 
 
About Gilraen Surion
NETHERLANDS
Member since: 6/6/04
Reviews written: 7
Sewing skills:Intermediate
patterns reviewed: 3
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:1/5/06 10:34 PM
Last Updated:1/5/06 10:40 PM
Pattern Size:Regular Petite 


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 6 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
17 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
KiwiWendy said...
I'd have been steaming about the sleeves too. Then again, you'd never know the cuff was a rescue mission.
1/6/06 1:25 AM
Mel.J said...
Gorgeous!
1/6/06 5:12 AM
Nickle said...
Great looking jacket- the cuff looks like it belongs- I bet the teacher felt bad too.
1/6/06 5:17 AM
PixieCat said...
Gorgeous jacket! Love all those buttons and the fit is great!
1/6/06 5:20 AM
Danvillegirl said...
Very flattering fit. Good job!
1/6/06 5:39 AM
melgosews said...
This style is so pretty. I swore forever against poofy sleeves in the 80's when they were in. I so like this western/prairie style. Can't believe your $ for the fabric! I love the waist and those buttons, too. Great job!
1/6/06 7:01 AM
Ceri590 said...
Wow! Excellent job!
1/6/06 7:13 AM
Lisa Laree said...
Adding the cuff was a great idea! I agree, if you hadn't told me, I'd've thought it was supposed to be that way. Um, what was the teacher's comment when she saw that her advice had left you with ridiculously short sleeves?
1/6/06 7:26 AM
Sew Little Thyme said...
Great job! I have this pattern but haven't made it yet. We do Victorian Era shooting & I had gotten it to make for that but now I am thinking that I need one for "real" life! I agree if you hadn't said about the cuff change I probably wouldn't have noticed either. Kuddos for you!
1/6/06 9:25 AM
beangirl said...
Beautiful! If you never have, you might like to check out Sense and Sensibility patterns (NAYY), she has lovely period pieces.
1/6/06 9:29 AM
AnneM said...
What a nice jacket. Even with twirling draglines, it looks great on you!
1/6/06 11:02 AM
SarahL said...
This a beautiful jacket! Feminine, classic, pretty, but not frou-frou. You did a great job choosing a style that flatters you. I like the cuffs.
1/6/06 11:14 AM
Mufffet said...
This is lovely! And how fashionable! You did a fine job. This pattern and your sewing are inspirational.
1/6/06 11:43 AM
AndSewOn said...
Great jacket! I especially like the back with those buttons and the flaps. How interesting. And you did a fantastic job on it. Wish it hung in my closet.
1/6/06 11:50 AM
Gilraen Surion said...
Thank you all for your kind words My teacher, when she saw the sleeves, was looking kind of sheepish. Never really apologised, but did discuss cuffs with me. Needless to say I made the cuffs I wanted not her idea :-)
1/6/06 1:00 PM
HawkeMorningStar7 said...
I love the look. Your jacket is beautiful. Love the buttons and detailing.
1/6/06 2:28 PM
minieme said...
I love those little flaps at the back. Very flattering style, those sleeve cuffs are clever.
1/6/06 3:37 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Fun with Fitting - PANTS
Fun with Fitting - PANTS

Register

Clone Your Favorite Garment
Clone Your Favorite Garment

Register

McCall's 5319

photo
by: canyonlady...

Review
McCall's 6391

photo
by: Cherry Bub...

Review
Paradiso Designs Perfect Pillows Pattern

Paradiso Designs Perfect Pillows Pattern

Buy Now
Bluegingerdoll The Peggy Skirt Pattern

Bluegingerdoll The Peggy Skirt Pattern

Buy Now