Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Butterick: 3836 (Making History) - Type:Coat/Jacket    printable version
Viewed 949 times 2 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 6 people   
Reviewed by:Gilraen Surion
photo
About Gilraen Surion
NETHERLANDS
Member since: 6/6/04
Reviews written: 7
Sewing skills:Intermediate
patterns reviewed: 3
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:1/5/06 10:34 PM
Last Updated:1/5/06 10:40 PM
Pattern Size:Regular Petite 


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
17 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
KiwiWendy said...
I'd have been steaming about the sleeves too. Then again, you'd never know the cuff was a rescue mission.
1/6/06 1:25 AM
Mel.J said...
Gorgeous!
1/6/06 5:12 AM
Nickle said...
Great looking jacket- the cuff looks like it belongs- I bet the teacher felt bad too.
1/6/06 5:17 AM
PixieCat said...
Gorgeous jacket! Love all those buttons and the fit is great!
1/6/06 5:20 AM
Danvillegirl said...
Very flattering fit. Good job!
1/6/06 5:39 AM
melgosews said...
This style is so pretty. I swore forever against poofy sleeves in the 80's when they were in. I so like this western/prairie style. Can't believe your $ for the fabric! I love the waist and those buttons, too. Great job!
1/6/06 7:01 AM
Ceri590 said...
Wow! Excellent job!
1/6/06 7:13 AM
Lisa Laree said...
Adding the cuff was a great idea! I agree, if you hadn't told me, I'd've thought it was supposed to be that way. Um, what was the teacher's comment when she saw that her advice had left you with ridiculously short sleeves?
1/6/06 7:26 AM
Sew Little Thyme said...
Great job! I have this pattern but haven't made it yet. We do Victorian Era shooting & I had gotten it to make for that but now I am thinking that I need one for "real" life! I agree if you hadn't said about the cuff change I probably wouldn't have noticed either. Kuddos for you!
1/6/06 9:25 AM
beangirl said...
Beautiful! If you never have, you might like to check out Sense and Sensibility patterns (NAYY), she has lovely period pieces.
1/6/06 9:29 AM
AnneM said...
What a nice jacket. Even with twirling draglines, it looks great on you!
1/6/06 11:02 AM
SarahL said...
This a beautiful jacket! Feminine, classic, pretty, but not frou-frou. You did a great job choosing a style that flatters you. I like the cuffs.
1/6/06 11:14 AM
Mufffet said...
This is lovely! And how fashionable! You did a fine job. This pattern and your sewing are inspirational.
1/6/06 11:43 AM
AndSewOn said...
Great jacket! I especially like the back with those buttons and the flaps. How interesting. And you did a fantastic job on it. Wish it hung in my closet.
1/6/06 11:50 AM
Gilraen Surion said...
Thank you all for your kind words My teacher, when she saw the sleeves, was looking kind of sheepish. Never really apologised, but did discuss cuffs with me. Needless to say I made the cuffs I wanted not her idea :-)
1/6/06 1:00 PM
HawkeMorningStar7 said...
I love the look. Your jacket is beautiful. Love the buttons and detailing.
1/6/06 2:28 PM
minieme said...
I love those little flaps at the back. Very flattering style, those sleeve cuffs are clever.
1/6/06 3:37 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

Online Sewing Classes
Leather 101
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Leather 101

Vogue Patterns 1087 MISSES' DRESS
photo
Review by Mazzygirl on 6/6/10
Read Review

Burda 7086 Pattern
Burda 7086 Pattern

Details
Price: $14.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Burda 9448 Pattern
Burda 9448 Pattern

Details
Price: $9.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Other no. 12
photo
Review by Tini on 6/4/04
Read Review

You Sew Girl Pyramid Purse Digital Pattern
You Sew Girl Pyramid Purse Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $6.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

You Sew Girl Flat Cap Digital Pattern
You Sew Girl Flat Cap Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $11.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Petite Plus 605 Pattern
Petite Plus 605 Pattern

Details
Price: $21.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

SewBaby "I Can Do It" Cloth Activity Book Pattern
SewBaby

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us